370 Comments

FrontRowTickets.com Game Preview: Favored Bears With Perfect Opportunity to Reach .500

| December 4th, 2015

dabearsblog banner

Chicago Bears Schedule

THE GAME POEM

He dusts a trophy from his highest shelf each night

Reading a name no longer known

His hand moves slowly, left to right

Like brushing leaves off a tombstone of his own

THREE THOUGHTS ON THE 49ERS

  • Vance McDonald is developing into a solid tight end and has more catches the last two weeks with Blaine Gabbert under center (10) than in the rest of the season combined (9). The Bears have struggled, especially early, patrolling the middle of the field. They’ll need to be aware of McDonald all afternoon.
  • San Francisco is an atrocious road team. They have been outscored 176-71.
  • This team is just so damn boring to watch play offense on tape. They’re a worse version of the Chiefs, with everything being thrown underneath and no faith in their pass protections. They have the players to make a few big gains (Boldin, Smith, McDonald) but there’s no consistency from them…ever. This offense is taylor made for the Bears defensive strengths.

PICTURE IF YOU WILL…

…the 2015 Chicago Bears without Adam Gase and Vic Fangio. Well, Matt Maiocco of CSN Bay Area wrote a wonderful column detailing how close the 49ers were to having a Gase/Fangio combination leading their organization. An excerpt:

On Jan. 13, the eve of the 49ers hiring the man who would become Harbaugh’s successor, most of the signs pointed toward Gase getting the job.

Baalke, who was in charge of hiring the 49ers’ next coach, spent 8 ½ hours with Gase in the Denver area for a follow-up interview. Then, Baalke had an hours-long dinner with Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning, who gave Gase a resounding recommendation, according to sources.

Gase’s plan was to handle the offense and turn over the defense to Fangio, whom he felt he could convince to remain on the 49ers’ staff. Multiple sources later said that Fangio, indeed, would have remained with the 49ers on Gase’s staff.

Baalke floated the idea of Tomsula taking over as defensive coordinator, a source said. While Gase wanted to retain Tomsula as defensive line coach with a title promotion, a source said, he did not want to turn the defense over to a coach who had no experience working in the secondary. Sources said Baalke never stressed to Gase during the interview process that if Tomsula was not defensive coordinator it would be a deal-breaker.

Read the entire piece by clicking the link above. It’s well worth a few minutes.

MEMORIES OF KAEPERNICK

It was only a few years ago that Colin Kaepernick made his debut against the Chicago Bears and ripped a then pretty good defense to shreds. And I remember sitting in a restaurant in East Hampton, in a haze of booze from a day of drinking, watching Kaepernick deliver one of the greatest rushing performances in NFL postseason history against the Green Bay Packers. (I later fell down walking to the bathroom.) Amazing this career has careened into the toilet.

WATCH OUT FOR IAN WILLIAMS

From Kevin Lynch in the San Francisco Chronicle:

Nose guard Ian Williams was outstanding and dominated Cardinals center Lyle Sendein. During one drive in the second quarter, Williams shed a block from Mike Iupati and tackled Andre Ellington for a 3-yard gain. On the next play, third-and-short, Williams threw Sendein aside, which allowed Michael Wilhoite to run free and hit Ellington for a loss. Williams also had an interesting moment with Carson Palmer. He hit him in the head after a completion and the officials didn’t see it. Williams then said something to Palmer, probably saying he didn’t mean it, and Palmer respectfully patted him on the helmet.

Will be interesting to see how Hroniss Grasu handles a surging player.

THIS SEEMS A PERTINENT STAT

The Niners offense is…poor. Worst in yardage. Worst in points.

Screen Shot 2015-12-02 at 10.28.50 AM

THREE BEARS OF INTRIGUE

  • This doesn’t feel like a game the Bears will need a lot of points to win but one thing Jay Cutler can’t do is turn the ball over. Turnovers might be the only way for the Niners to keep this game close for four quarters. Cutler can lead the Bears to victory with a mundane 210 yards, 2 TDs, no INTs.
  • Under pressure, Gabbert will dump the ball off every chance he gets. Pernell McPhee has dropped into the background a bit due to injury while Lamarr Houston and Willie Young have picked up the slack. Against mismatches, this feels like as opportunity for McPhee to pile up some numbers.
  • Charles Leno Jr. usurping Jermon Bushrod in the starting lineup and playing well has been one of the quietly positive storylines of the 2015 season. These final five games are pivotal for Leno’s future.

GAME PREDICTION

The Niners have scored 13 points in each of their last two games. And neither the Seahawks nor Cardinals defense is currently playing as well as Vic Fangio’s unit. (The previous statement is mind-blowing to me.) If the Bears are good, if they are a legitimately good team, this game is a snoozer in the fourth quarter.

Chicago Bears 30, San Francisco 49ers 13

Tagged: , , ,

  • chitownproud85

    Mmmm. That “if” though… Get the job done, boys. Eyes open, mouths closed, heads down.

  • Big Mike

    Went to bed thinking we gained on the Packers. I mean up 20-0 with 10 minutes left in the 3rd quarter? So you mean to tell me, that on an untimed down, because of a very questionable but not even close to a really bad call face mask, and a hail mary where the Lions played everyone behind the receivers in the ends zone, this game went from the Lions and the Under to the Packers and the over? This is why I don’t bet on football. Could be why the Bears don’t make the playoffs. But the way GB is playing, they could very well go 1-3 to finish out. Dallas, @Oakland, @St. Louis, Vikings

    • That Guy

      Most likely run would be beating Dallas and then losing out. The Packers are struggling, but I have a hard time seeing them lose 3 in a row.

      Still, this is the NFL. Anything can happen and often does.

      • Big Mike

        I don’t see it. Vikings might have already clinched the #2 seed. Nothing to play for.

        • https://twitter.com/LouHemp Lou Hemp

          In 3 weeks the Bears could pass the Vikings. Thats what i’m going with. Or tie them I should say.

          • Big Mike

            Catching and passing the Seahawks is a more viable option to the playoffs. That makes VIkings/Seahawks this week a pretty big game. If the Vikings win, we need to catch and pass seattle. If the seahawks win, we still could catch and pass the seahawks, but the vikings would also present a target. Our terrible conference record, makes it mandatory to pass both of these guys. I dont think we can win any tie breakers.

          • https://twitter.com/LouHemp Lou Hemp

            I just see Seattle going 4-1 or 5-0 and the Vikings going 1-4. That’s my thinking. Man, things change on a week to week basis.

          • Big Mike

            I hear you. Packers could easily go 1-3. If we win out, we’re in. Packers schedule is tough and how many more horeshoes, can rodgers have up his ass?

          • Huge Bear’s Penis

            i hear he likes having things up his ass. i surprised he is willing to pull anything out just for a win.

    • Cormonster

      Part of an old SNL skit on great moments in gambling history:

      Narrator: “Super Bowl X. Miami. With the Pittsburgh Steelers leading the Dallas Cowboys, 21 to 10, Dallas Quarterback
      Roger Staubach fires a 34-yard touchdown pass to Percy Howard in the
      waning moments of the fourth quarter, making the final score: Pittsburgh
      21, Dallas 17. The Cowboys, 6-point underdogs, have beaten the spread.”

  • Big Mike

    Packers remind me of some of Lovie’s teams that have great records, but aren’t very good. That they are 8-4 right now is astounding.

  • Big Mike
    • Bender McLugh

      yeah no question on the facemask……very very dumb of the defender to stretch out his arms to try and tackle Rodgers head……..at the end of the game…….so dumb

      • Big Mike

        Loins. So FN dumb. I asked this above, can you recall the bears losing on a hail mary? I can’t. Could be selective memory. What about losing after being up 20 in the 3rd at home?

        • TomC

          In 2011 the beloved gave up a TD to the Chefs on a Hail Mary at the end of the half, and it ended up costing them the game.

          • Big Mike

            How could I forget, I was at the Caleb Hanie game..http://imgur.com/cAI11If

          • TomC

            Ugh, that must have been horrible. Forte hurt his knee that game, too. (Almost identical play to the one he hurt it on this year.) The only silver lining was knocking Orton out of the game on his first snap.

          • Big Mike

            We had some good memories of the weekend. It was my son’s first Bears game he was 14 or so. Went with my brother some good friends from Chicago. I live in the DC area, so it was a road trip. Stayed at the Palmer House, ate good, drank good, tailgated well and sat in amazement watching Hanie not be able to do focus on more than 1/4 of the field, while guys were running wide open all over the place.

        • Joecashflow

          We had Cris Conte. No need for hail Marys.

          • Big Mike

            Oh man.. that’s right.

      • The GP

        He wasn’t even CLOSE to a facemask

        • Big Mike
          • MB30SD

            Nah, in full motion, it was a milisecond brush at worst. Vadgers rules applied. Bullshit.

          • Big Mike

            I don’t disagree. But combined with the downward motion of his head and body, it’s certainly not even in the top 20% of bad calls we’ve seen.

          • MB30SD

            Sure, just another vadgers jerkoff from the refs. Did it have any impact on the outcome of the play? I doubt cutty gets that call.

          • Big Mike

            Fn vadgers.. nah, that’s a brady/vadgers call.

          • CanadaBear

            Don’t forget Peyton.

          • Bender McLugh

            I do have to agree that if it was Cutty there’s a strong possibility the flag stays int he pocket.

          • Bender McLugh

            agreed.

        • BillW

          I would say it was more than close. His hand certainly hit the facemask enough for the helmet to move. That qualifies as close. Too close when the only thing that keeps the game going is a defensive foul.

          • willbest

            If that is a facemask so is every stiff arm.

          • MB30SD

            incidental brush by a finger. Same as slauson’s trip.

            ‘dude, they’re fucking attached to my body?!!’

          • Bender McLugh

            nah, different than that phantom trip man.

        • Bender McLugh

          okay hang on…….dudes hand went to Erins face and a finger caught the face mask, jerked his head SLIGHTLY no doubt. But STILL, you are a grown ass man being paid ALOT of money to not make that type of penalty. It gets called every time if it’s the QB, and you all know this. Just a dumb play, no need to stretch your arms out there…….

          This is so easy to see from my couch while drinking my 5th beer……this morning.

  • Big Mike

    I may have blocked it out, but have the Bears ever lost a game like that? Specifically on a hail mary? What about being up 20 in the 3rd Quarter and losing?

    • BillW

      I know in Jauron’s miracle year we won a game like that. Actually we pushed it to OT (against Cleveland – go figure) and then Mike Brown got (another) pick six (having done it against SF earlier in the year.

      And didn’t we lose a game where Urlacher tried to knock a pass down but it wound up in the hands of the receiver?

      • Big Mike

        I was at that game. http://espn.go.com/nfl/recap?gameId=211104003
        I don’t remember the Urlacher incident you referred to.

        • BillW

          I was at the Cleveland game with my younger son. Still remember our hug at the end of the game.

          My older son was at the SF game with a friend.

    • willbest

      The time when we let Seattle drive the fucking field twice once in the 4th and once in OT was pretty horrible. D couldn’t come up with 1 stop in nearly 15 minutes of play.

      • MB30SD

        Mel. Tucker.

      • Big Mike

        🙁 🙁 Like a lot of people, that’s when I knew the Bears defense was done. They looked old, slow and tired. Urlacher looked like he had a piano on his back. Offense getting a first down would have helped, if I remember. But defense SMH.. that was sad

    • TBC

      The Bears lost a game on a 48-yard TD on 4th and 8.

      It was not as improbable. But it was 5 times as gut-wrenching.

      • TBC

        Also, the defense on that play from the Bears was much worse than last night.

  • TBC

    ‘sup players? It got pretty salty ’round here last night, amirite???

    • Big Mike

      The Packers look like an 8-8 team that just doesn’t know it.

    • BillW

      Hey Cheesy. Let me say one thing in fairness – the old saying “you make your own luck” holds very true. The Packers kept the last timed play alive long enough for the Lions to screw up (yes – it was a facemask. Had that happened to Cutler I’d want it called.) And then on the untimed play, same thing. Again the Lions screwed up by not calling a timeout to emphasize above all else Rodgers needed to be contained. But Rodgers still had to get outside and make the throw.

      It doesn’t make them any better of a team – but it shows they ain’t going down without a fight either. Had to have been really exciting to see from your point of view.

      • http://www.dabearsbeat.com/ Johnathan Wood

        I don’t remember who, but somebody tweeted out a gem last night that was so true.

        Basically, it said the Packers have been playing like shit for a month, but the Lions have years of experience playing like shit, and that experience showed down the stretch.

    • Trac

      Can you take away anything positive from that game that increases your hope for a championship? Honestly?

      • TBC

        Yes: A win.

    • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

      Haha, cheesey. McCarthy almost died of a bitchy fit last night. What a pussy bitch. Hell of a throw though.

      • TBC

        McCarthy sure is showing his ass lately. I like him. I’m still not sure he’s not kind of a dumbass though.

        On a slightly related note, I affectionately refer to him as Fatty McButterpants on a regular basis. I’m not sure if you came up with that one but I attribute it to you at least.

    • Scharfinator

      A nice win to revel in. A come from behind victory from a dominating…err fierce… err aimless opponent. To snatch victory from the jaws of defeat from a team who will probably fire their head coach at the end of the season! HUZZAH VICTORY

  • Big Mike

    Realizing that the Bears season could come down to Vikings/Packers at Lambeau, with the VIkings having already clinched the 2 seed, with no shot at the 1 seed.

    • BillW

      And did you ever think that we’d be figuring things like that before the twelfth game? I thought at best we’d be figuring out our chances to finish 500.

      • Big Mike

        Yeah, but when you get a sniff, you start wanting it don’t you. Fucking lions.

    • willbest

      Vikings won’t have the 2 seed clinched, and they would only have the division clinched if the Packers lose again and they don’t. They can’t lose to the packers on a tied record because the packers would own the h2h tiebreaker. Vikings can win the division by tying the packers in h2h though because then they would have the better division record.

      • Big Mike

        ouch.. someone worked this out. Still could come down to it. What a kick in the nuts that would be. Thanks for that.

  • BillW

    Jeff – with all respect your poems are getting pretty depressing.

    Plus you forgot the second verse – the one that says the name on the trophy is “Participant”.

    • DaBearsBlog

      Two weeks ago I wrote a poem about hot dogs! (But this one is pretty dreary)

      • MB30SD

        Mmmmmmm… hooootdoooogs

      • Scharfinator

        MY FAVORITE

        • MB30SD

          You’re my favorite scharf… you’re. … my favorite.

          • Scharfinator

            awww <3

          • MB30SD

            ♡♡♡♡

      • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

        I ate portillos that day

        • MB30SD

          Mmmmm… portiiiiillos

      • BillW

        Wait – I didn’t realize you write these poems.

        My bad – I thought you were getting them somewhere. I feel a little foolish because in all seriousness they are very moving.

        • BillW

          Hmmm – are hot dogs “moving”? In one sense…

  • MB30SD

    Great poem jeff! Really soulful. This one’s real.

    The name on the trophy……. “McMahon”

  • MB30SD

    That, was not….a facemask.

    That… was bullshit refereeing.

  • BillW

    JWood said in the other thread the Lions DC was a HC candidate last year.

    Seriously, I would strongly question his ability to be a HC. I don’t recall if the Lions had any time outs but I’m pretty sure they had one and maybe two. Both the last timed play and the untimed play screamed for a time out.

    First – make sure the defenders realize that with 6 seconds left the only way they could possible lose the game is on a defensive foul. Don’t do anything to give the refs a reason to throw a flag on you.

    Second – so many things wrong with the last play. Rushing 3 being the main one. Again, the only way he can possibly reach the endzone is by getting his feet set and really winding up to throw. Impossible to do from the pocket. By rushing three, you are saying we will let you throw and bet you can’t reach the endzone. Dumb. Or if they think he CAN reach the endzone, you’re betting the jump ball won’t work. DUMBER! The more defenders, the larger chance for a PI.

    HC candidates in part get judged on handling decisions and stressful situations. That guy failed not once but twice in a row.

    That said – it sure makes Fangio a more attractive candidate for teams looking for a defensive minded HC. Thanks a lot, Detroit!

  • BillW

    Would any of us be surprised to see a picture showing holding by the Packers on the last play? Not saying I sw it – but it wouldn’t surprise me.

  • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

    Part of me wants to win out just to see 10-6 not be good enough for playoffs. That would be 2yrs of 10-6 without playoffs . My arch enemy always throws the cutler playoff shit at me so it would be fun to see him try to continue the narrative.
    lets fucking win out. Because fuck the haters.

    • MB30SD

      And the packers

      • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

        I predict first round exit again

        • willbest

          Sadly not. They are going to be the #5 seed at this rate which means getting the Giants or Redskins.

          • MB30SD

            ‘the formula’

        • MB30SD

          of course. it’s ‘the formula’

          tons of pre and regular season fellating all around, then a quiet yet not quiet surprise implosion in their first post-season game against a lesser opponent. Entered into the common lexicon as, ‘taking a packer’

          • SC Dave

            Personally, i wouldn’t write tht shit given our last playoff game

          • TBC

            Yeah….it would seem no one else really understands that though.

          • MB30SD

            meh, let’s see what happens this year and next now that we have real coaches.

            Oh, and you know me… I don’t give a fuck about what I write.

    • Big Mike

      10-6 no playoffs got Lovie fired. Meanwhile the winner of the NFL Least will very likely be 7-9 or hopefully worse (don’t know if it is mathematically possible, but sending a 6-10 team as your Division winner would create great conversations.

      Where would they draft? Don’t all playoff teams automatically draft after non playoff teams? So you could have 10-6 teams drafting ahead of a 6-10 team. That would be righteous.

  • Cormonster

    While waiting out a frost this morning, I realized I reached a milestone. I quit drinking one year ago today. Drinking is a lot of fun. Turning into an alcoholic was terrible. Having a clear head again is fantastic.

    • MB30SD

      Nice! Huge congrats corm. Well done my maings. Lot to be proud of

    • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

      Congrats Cor

    • BillW

      That’s a great anniversary! I wish you many many more!

    • Scharfinator

      Congrats. Quitting a vice isn’t easy!

    • CanadaBear

      I knew you when … Congrats Cor! Not an easy thing to do. Proud to call you a friend!

    • RenoBear

      Perfect lines… ‘Drinking is a lot of fun. Turning into an alcoholic was terrible. Having a clear head again is fantastic’ these statements are the 100% undeniable truth. Congrats man. I can count on one hand the number of times ive been drunk in the last 6 years. I like that a helluva lot better then the ‘every single day for 10-12 years before that’. It’s a beautiful thing to have a clear clean head my friend

      • RenoBear

        Full disclosure … The packers favre game last week was one of those drunk nights … Just bein honest haha

    • Big Mike

      Congrats brother.

    • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

      Nicely done, mang!

    • Irish Sweetness

      Good for you brah. Your liver, family and friends thank you. Seven years and three months here.

  • BillW

    Caldwell is toast too. Admitted he set the defense for a lateral play, not a Hail Mary.

    Calvin Johnson always practices with the defense for such a situation. Was not in there.

    They had two guys guarding the sidelines. On an untimed play!! My God how stupid is that? “We have to make sure he doesn’t get out of bounds because… because… uh.”

    And then one of their best rushers – Ziggy whoever, was also on the bench.

    It just gets worse.

    All this from ProFootball talk. They also point out – as someone did here – that the facemask rule as written was not violated. But genius Blandino said facemask would be called every time on that.

    Wait – so even though it doesn’t violated the rule, it would be called anyway????? And you don’t see that as a problem?

    This is the same idiot who said correctable officiating errors are at the same rate as last year. As if not improving CORRECTABLE errors is a good thing??

    The NFL has a huge problem.

    • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

      The worst part about the play was Rodgers acting like the finger on the facemask made his helmet shift downward when in fact it was when his head crashed on the ground. He purposely walked around with his chinstrap and helmet all fucked uo.while he playacted. What a fucking faking pussy. That’s a penalty in the NHL

      • The GP

        Bring a pussy is a penalty in the NHL?

        • MB30SD

          should be… those dude have no teeth!

        • BillW

          Essentially yes. Penalty for flopping.

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            Its not even flopping, its for acting like something was worse than it actually was. Very amusing penalty.

            pretty much a penalty for being a gigantic vagina

          • http://www.dabearsbeat.com/ Johnathan Wood

            my favorite is when they call matching penalties. One on the player who committed the penalty, and then embellishment on the player who had the penalty committed against him.

            It’s basically “yep, we know he did something illegal, but you acted like a pussy in response, so we’re removing the advantage your team would have gained by his illegal action. Congrats, bitch.”

          • BearDown100393

            Keeps the sport from turning into soccer. Diving is ridiculous.

          • http://www.dabearsbeat.com/ Johnathan Wood

            It’s gotten so bad in the NBA. All the Euros who grew up playing soccer and then came to the NBA started it, and then all the Americans followed suit.

          • BillW

            All that is true, but I’d have to see it again to see if Aaron actually “flopped”. His helmet did not come loose from the grazing of the facemask, but it did come loose which added to the “truthiness” of the call. But if he looked at the ref for a flag then I change my opinion.

          • http://www.dabearsbeat.com/ Johnathan Wood

            The more I watch it, the more I’m not sure. But I think he sold it by moving his head more than necessary, which is what refs look for (the head movement) for that flag.

          • burntorangenavyblue

            This is why the late 80s through 90s greatest will always be the best generation of NBA: Defenses were allowed to smack the ball and the hands of the ball dribbler as well as make body contact on jumping up in the air to defend the basket. The greatest offensive players played through that and more, and defenders gladly accepted the challenge without resorting to cheap flopping and such. God I miss those days.

          • BillW

            Pro soccer actually had a brief run of real success in the 80s. I watched because the Sting were very good, but with Pele NY drew huge crowds – football sized nearly. I think Minnesota for some reason had frequent 30-40K crowds too.

            But as much as anything, I think the offciating turned off people who were giving it a try. Once the Sting declined I stopped for good. It just all seemed so arbitrary.

            NBA- the same. I like basketball a a sport but not enough to sit through different rules for different players unless the Bulls are getting those calls. Jordan carried trhe ball. Shaq committed 2-3 offensive fouls every time he backed in for a shot. Rodman held players going for rebounds. Sure – it was fun if went your way but that’s not sustainable.

            I have an idea (that like many of mine I know would never happen.) I’m going post it later – it’s not real long – just something I think would benefit the fans, the league, the officials, and help eliminate the growing feeling that NFL officiating is arbitrary if not incompetent.

          • Irish Sweetness

            Traditionally, the US league is where European players have gone to retire.
            Top players would never dream of playing in the USA in their prime. If the game isn’t popular it’s because they’re getting the ‘Golden Girls’ version of soccer, not the real thing. o you get the Beckhams, and Gerrards, players that wouldn’t get a game back home in the lower divisions now.

          • Irish Sweetness

            Dude, that’s what ‘flopping’ is … if you’re referring to ‘diving’ which is what the rest of the world calls it.

        • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

          “embellishment”

      • BillW

        In one PFT article he’s quoted as saying he doesn’t flop. The PFT article essentially called BS.

        Seriously, if you’re going “sell” a penalty, don’t claim you aren’t trying to sell a penalty. Just take the gift and move on.

      • SC Dave

        Oh gawd you guys are full of shit. Acting gave the only chance to WIN THE GAME!!

        What the fuck would you want OUR QB t do?

        • Irish Sweetness

          Play fair.

      • Irish Sweetness

        Exactly. He feigned a face mask injury and pulled his own chin down. That’s gamesmanship. That’s cheating FWIW.

    • Scharfinator

      Does it have a huge problem? Are people going to stop watching?

      They don’t give a shit and the public eats it up anyway. If anything, this shit causes them to be brought up more.

      • BillW

        I know I don’t sit and watch games start to finish anymore that don’t involve the Bears. I turned on last night right before halftime. And then only after checking the score and saw the Lions up 17. If it was close I would have kept playing music.

        So yes, I’ve cut back on my watching quite a bit over the last several years. This with my kids all grown and out of the house and more time on my hands than in a long time.

        I don’t know what it will take but I have to believe the tipping point could be coming.

        If the Super Bowl is decided on a blatantly bad call – and if Roger and Blandino lamely defend the refs even though it would be BS – that would be the tipping point.

        It’s not likely as you say – but that possibility is out there. Fans like us hang around because we want to believe it will be addressed and corrected.

        • Joecashflow

          Fantasy keeps me more involved, so I watch more games. Many games, but the 35 minute condensed ones. Except for the Beloved, which I watch full broadcast. Something about this year, I stopped switching to Bears audio, when they were calling the St. Louis Rams, the Cardinals. I travel alot in football season, but plan travel so I can watch Bears games. Easy enough to do.

      • SC Dave

        Not so long as they play fantasy. The games themselves can degenerate into total garbage, but the fantasy fans won’t give a shit and the league won’t have to fix anything.

        • Scharfinator

          Even without fantasy, doesn’t all this talk about the bad refs just generate more press? Isn’t bad press good press for the NFL?

    • SC Dave

      Fan Duel Rulez!!

  • MB30SD
  • MB30SD

    you guys see this shit: http://www.cnn.com/2015/12/04/entertainment/scott-weiland-stone-temple-pilots-death/index.html

    Not surprising, but sad nonetheless. Core was one of the albums that made up the soundtrack to my most memorable college years. Not quite in the realm of mr. nowell or mr. cobain, but equally as tragic. RIP Scott.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uA4hSZ1Xy1g

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjJL9DGU7Gg

    • The GP

      Clone Temple Pilots took a lot of shit for lack of originality and just aping Pearl Jam. And I knew the lead was a junkie to the core. It’s sad, but he probably pushed it as far as it was gonna go.

      • MB30SD

        Totally agree, but loved them back in the dizzy maing. Glory dayz.

        Btw… let’s get on cod. Download load it tonight. Jetpacks.

        • The GP

          Do you still have Ghosts? Ghosts is not bad.

          • MB30SD

            of course, it’s just hard to go back and forth. Trying to get good at this one so shady doesn’t ass rape me so hard when we play… and he’s soooo whiny about being backwards compatible. sigh.

            I’ll light it up with you on either, but I think you’d like the new one. you’re more into the sci fi shit than me.

      • BearDown100393

        Core was a label pressured clone album. After that, the band turned more toward art rock, something never attempted by PJ.

    • Irish Sweetness

      Plush. A classic.

      But tragic? When somebody decides/chooses to use for that long, shit’s gonna happen. Pathetic, more than sad.

      And it is a choice, an addict chooses to use. Every day.

  • http://www.dabearsbeat.com/ Johnathan Wood

    The more I read about SF, the more I think Trent Baalke is a dumbass. All the stories from last offseason about trying to force outside coaches coming in to promote your DL coach to DC is eerily reminiscent of Emery in 2013.

    • Big Mike

      trying to be too smart.

    • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

      Or when LDL replaced Rivera with Babich.

      • MB30SD

        I thought we were never bringing this up again

  • The GP

    Erin would be awesome in Premier league. They flop and act up a storm when they get hit.

  • TBC

    Wow… Looks like we’re still pretty salty! I love it!

    After the late night he had, I can’t believe #12 got up in time to piss in everybody’s Cheerios this morning.

    • MB30SD

      Guy’s *such* an immense douche

      • TBC

        I’m pretty shocked he isn’t reviled more throughout the league. It seems like it’s mostly Bears and Vikings fans that hate him. I would definitely hate him even if he played in the AFC.

        • MB30SD

          has nothing to do with his on-field play

    • BillW

      Cheesy – not that you care, but seriously I now take back all the decent things I’ve said about you. I thought you were a good sport etc and said so.

      Won’t be the last time I’m wrong. You’re a real pathetic jerk. Please go away for good.

      • TBC

        Say it ain’t so, BillW!!!

        Sorry to disappoint you, though. No refunds on those complements. I already framed them : )

        • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

          get a fucking real account cheesy wtf.

          • BillW

            He’s too stupid to even begin to know how to do that.

      • CanadaBear

        Trolls be trolling. Best to ignore.

        • BillW

          I never wanted to think of him as a troll. I had a misplaced respect for him. Trust me, I learned.

          • Bender McLugh

            don’t be fooled just cause he smells like cheese curds

          • TBC

            You’ll warm up again, BillW. You always do.

            Kisses,
            Cheesy

          • Joecashflow

            Based upon which Cheery comment (s) ? I see nothing today but opinion shared by many around the league. Something wrong with opinion here?

    • http://www.upitpuppet.com/ evantonio

      #realtalk

      Do you think that facemask was really a facemask, or do you think you guys got away with one?

      • TBC

        I thought it looked like a facemask live. I thought on Replay it looked like it wasn’t enough to be a facemask.

        • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

          how did you feel about Rodgers acting like the guy had raped his facehole walking around with his chinstrap on his mouth and his helmet askew then immediately snapping straight the moment he saw that he got the call he wanted?

          • Huge Bear’s Penis

            he would be one to know what its like to have his facehole raped.

          • TBC

            Burn!!!!

          • MB30SD

            dude, what do you look like? I’m seriously curious, not trying to fuck with you.

            I have to be honest and say I wish you’d just come over to the light like you really want to, because you’re a pretty fucking funny dude.

            I hate and love that we went to the same school. Were we there at the same time, I can’t remember. what year did you graduate?

          • TBC

            I felt nothing, really. I wasn’t surprised by anything about that play nor it’s aftermath. Except for the tight end throwing it back to the Quarterback. That was fucking stupid. Although, I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised… they’ve been doing stupid shit for months.

            It looked like a facemask. It probably wasn’t a facemask. I probably would have been more surprised if the ref didn’t throw the flag, even though I think it shouldn’t have been called. I can’t really fault Rodgers for his reaction either. He was violently yanked and his facemask was slightly tugged. He didn’t embellish the fall, he just asked for the call. He always asks for the call. I want him to ask for the call.

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            Asking for the call when there shouldn’t be a call is fucking cowardly. I lost a little respect for him. This is the league we have though so he’ll get that call every single time.

    • Johnnywad

      Wow. Your inner douche has been exposed. One week after the Bears beat the Packers in Green Bay, on Favre Night, on Thanksgiving, you’re on Da blog touting the Packers’ squeaker over the Lions? That’s your victory lap? I’m not sure the Packers will win another game this year. The Lions fucking suck Cheesy.

      As I said a month ago, the Bears are closer to their next Super Bowl than the Packers are to theirs.

      • TBC

        I’m not touting anything. I’m enjoying how pissed off everyone is about it. I love it! I’d like to think it’s because you guys hate the Packers so much, which I obviously respect, but part of me thinks that some of you actually are upset because you feel like that damaged the Bears playoff hopes (which while technically true, that is very, very amusing).

        • Johnnywad

          I’d say it’s both. And why is that amusing? We shouldn’t be disappointed the Bears outside chance at the playoffs was diminished? Or that we assume the Falcons and Seahawks may stumble just enough to relinquish their hold on the sixth seed? Or that we assume it’s possible for a beat up team to win six in a row to squeak into the playoffs just to have a shot?

          Amusing my ass. You should get used to that look you saw on Rodgers’ face last night.

          • TBC

            It’s amusing because you poor bastards get sucked in every time. And not that it’s not natural to do so. It’s just….amusing.

          • Johnnywad

            You clearly aren’t paying attention. Nobody’s sucked into anything. I’ve probably been the biggest meatball here. An outside shot at a wild card and meaningful December football is as far as I’ve gone. I don’t know what you think the consensus here is.

          • WP34

            Amusing… What’s amusing is that your Kind thinks you are immortal because you had 4 and now 12. Well sweetheart I hate to be the one to tell you 12 is on the decline. GB recent rein are over, the Tide has changed again in the NFC North.

            Just because people talked about 12 being one of the best, that doesn’t nearly equate to GOAT. The GOAT actually wins…see Brady, Montana. A GOAT is a winner.

            And though 12 might be the most talented – He will never be GOAT because he is Not a winner.

          • TBC

            It’s also amusing that Jay Cutler is a rising Phoenix and Aaron Rodgers is on the decline, when Jay Cutler is the elder of the two, and has more career starts.

          • WP4Life

            Muse on, my friend.

          • Joecashflow

            What’s amusing to me is the last real QB we had was McMahon and since then, what 30 years….we have been to 2 SBs. Meanwhile the Packers have had 2 HOF QB’s, been to 2 SB in last 30 years and 1 more SB win. That’s amusing.

          • BillW

            Until this year I consider Rodgers the greatest QB ever. I’m not convinced he isn’t yet but I had no doubt until this year. It’s pretty tough to make that call – and being in the conversation is enough praise I think.

            What stops me from saying it is the realization he absolutely is dismal in bringing a team back. Now officially he get s credit for one last night and of course it qualifies.

            But did he drive his team down in the clutch? No – obviously not. They had a Benny Hill play that the Lions messed up on; and then a literal prayer that succeeded only because Caldwell is an idiot and played two guys on the sidelines on an UNTIMED down.

            (I still cannot get over the absolute stupidity of that.)

            Rodgers is maybe the best at reading defenses and certainly the best at avoiding mistakes.

            But normally when the chips are down he can’t handle it. In all seriousness, there is no doubt at all that Cutler performs better in the clutch than Rodgers does.

            And now that I type that, that alone takes away the GOAT title.

          • Jokey

            C’mon Bill, best ever? Not even close. It’s the rings, man, the rings!

          • BillW

            An easier way to measure for sure and in the end that is exactly how he will be measured.

            And maybe it’s because I see him a lot more and he beats us nearly every time.

            But to your point. look at Favre. Maybe it’s just me but I already sense most football fans have moved on from him. He’ll go into the Hall first ballot like other great QBs do, but I really don’t sense the admiration for anything other than his toughness and longevity

            Geez – Joe Namath is in the hall essentially for his defense winning the SB.

            Best QBs ever seem to be between Montana and Brady. For the reason you say..

          • Irish Sweetness

            For generational purposes, Otto has to go into the convo. Ten year career. Ten Chamiponship games. Seven Championships. He must have been doing something right in an era when QBs were not a protected species.

          • SC Dave

            This. So this. Otto Graham is GOAT at QB, and its not even close.

          • Irish Sweetness

            I don’t know how he gets called the GOAT with one Lombardi. Joe Cool and Brady are in the convo but until he wins AT LEAST one more ….

          • Irish Sweetness

            If there’s a team that’s stumbling, it’s the Falcons. Somehow.

        • Joecashflow

          This year, for me the reality is I was hoping for the Packers to flop, and drop out of the playoffs. I always hope for a Bear win, but the playoffs are not a goal until we at least get to 500. I think we have had like 5 opportunities over the last 2-3 years to get to 500 and blown every one of them. To make it, would be a turning point to me.

    • Irish Sweetness

      It was great stuff to watch. Just glad I didn’t back the Lions, that would be a hard loss to take.

  • burntorangenavyblue

    Packers fans can come here and brag all they want, but the writing is on the wall : Their team is on the decline and it took two plays that essentially had time expired and a bogus penalty to beat a crappy team to win (same team they lost at home too).

    SOMEONE from the Packers organization would have been canned if they lost last night, but this win only continues to allow them to pretend that they aren’t swimming with sharks. This will only encourage opponents to try even harder to knock around Green Bay just because we know it is possible. Be afraid. Be very very afraid!

    • BillW

      GB has a way of getting their shit together. I do believe they will do what I figured they should – turn into more of a ball control team (at least this year with Jordy out). They do not have the receivers execute the offense they are used to – nor do they have the OL to do that.

      They dodged a bullet last night. Any other team would have beaten them (well, maybe not Cleveland.)

      They probably realize now they can’t play the way they want. They have been outplayed 5 out of 6 but managed to win last night despite being behind at 0:00.

      I expect they will split the last 4, making them 10-6 and playing at home the first game in the playoffs. Could well win that one, then almost certainly lose the next week on the road.

      • Jokey

        We’re seeing proof to the opinion that the Packers are an ordinary team with an ordinary Erin. Last night the Packers D played well the last 3 quarters, and the Peppers strip was a game-changer. They’re going to need more of that, plus a real ground game to go deeper than the first round. And I agree, I don’t see it happening for them. They’ll watch the rest of the playoffs from the couch while realizing that 2014 was their year, but they fucked it away in epic fashion – 2 pt conversion, onside kick, etc etc there were 5 more bungles I can’t remember.

        • CanadaBear

          The Loins have a good DL and they beat up Erin pretty good last night. I think he’s in for a rough few weeks.

    • Irish Sweetness

      All said and done, the Packers probably deserved to win that game. The Lions are just not very good, and we saw Rodgers doing what he does, and he lifted that game out of the fire, like or loathe it. They’re an 8-4 team and they finished like that against the Lions.

      • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

        no, lions dominated that game. The strip sack fumble on Stafford and that hail mary stole it away.

  • BillW

    Not that it matters, but I want to say I was wrong about the facemask call. Last night and maybe even today I said it was correct. After reading the rule a couple times (as one or more of you posted here too) it’s obvious it was not.

    Amazingly many commentators on PFT talk about “hitting the QB in the head” forgetting Aaron was a runner at that point – receiving the third or fourth lateral.

    Blandino is infuriating. Saying it would be called that way “every time” (ignoring the many times it isn’t – like Teddy being thrown down by the facemask in the Mn-GB game.)

    And then saying if it was reviewable it wouldn’t be overturned.

    The fact it, it LOOKED like it was facemask from the officials view behind the play. So I get – in the name of player safety – it’s going to be called. But it’s not called every time. And on review the call should be overturned.

    • Bender McLugh

      shit….he was a runner at that point…….this is very true and something I didn’t realize as well.

      Still don’t like the Lions defender stretching like he did, just contain his ass and the game is over.

      • Big Mike

        SMH I forgot he was a runner as well

    • WP4Life

      Bill, I think what Blandino was trying to say is that the officials are instructed to throw a flag every time Erin the Drama Queen is potentially contacted.

  • MB30SD

    expecting the fucking lions to help our playoff picture, is like expecting the french to help you in your world wars.

    (too soon?)

    • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

      haha, did you see Stafford flip his hat off in pissed off, incredulous disbelief?

      • MB30SD

        yeah, not sure why. I thought it’d be more of a sad, resigned, expectant sob. hahaha

      • Big Mike

        Cutler would have been persecuted for that. Headlne..”Cutler wants defensive coordinator fired” “Cutler and Bears’ defensive at odds”

    • Big Mike

      too soon…

    • willbest

      My favorite too soon joke..
      Daniel Day Lewis did a great job getting inside Lincolns head. You know… the actor that got inside his head the best was John Wilkes Booth.
      Wow… 160 years and still too soon.

      • MB30SD

        ouch

        esq jokes. smh. ; )

      • Huge Bear’s Penis

        “Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter” is easily the worst thing to happen to President Lincoln in a theatre.

        • Bender McLugh

          the book was waaayyyy better

        • Irish Sweetness

          Hmmm. Maybe Kickstarter would like my new anime realite : Baberaham Stinkum – an aging alcoholic pornstar with a bodily hygiene problem. Every week he gets removed from a diner, or department store after falling asleep and soiling himself, or behaving inappropriately. It’s a winner.

  • BillW

    By the way, Detroit fans are saying there was holding and a very blatant block in the back on the free play. Haven’t read or seen anything to substantiate that as more than just griping. But I’m sure PFT is on it and may post something if there is anything to back it up.

    • willbest

      Holding, like a catch, is an aspect of the game that I don’t even know what it means anymore.

  • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

    GP, I just filled in the other half of my gameday roster. Be afraid sir. Be afraid like a line cook at Eggsperience that got Biggsy’s order wrong.

    • MB30SD

      Eggsperience! That is soooo HILARIOUS!!!

      People are so creative… O!M!G!!!!

      : /

      • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

        it’s the fucking dumbest name ever but the food is amazing and they are on a prime corner spot in the middle of River North in Chicago.

        • MB30SD

          next time I come to town, you’re taking me there so that I can make fun of their fucking inane name to their face… after I stuff my face with their glorious baked goods and savory selections.

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            i can arrange that

    • MB30SD

      btw, how is operation Pearl In Zee River progressing?

      • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

        haha, I don’t know if you’re referring to my wife’s plan for me to impregnate her AGAIN or my plan to acquire PS4 using illicit cash assets completely off the grid.

        • MB30SD

          Guess.

          Jesus chris, let’s discuss and agree on your plan to come visit me for a weekend to ‘eat tacos and surf’

          (Shhhhhh, I mean get your secret vasectomy)

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            lol

    • The GP

      Bring it whore

      • MB30SD

        deeeeeeeum…. shit juss got fo reaaals yo

      • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

        it’s already been brought. Prepare to get pounded with Blake Bortles and Kirk Cousins who looks like an actor straight out of an 80’s highschool football movie.

  • MB30SD

    btw, jokey’s post below reminded me of something I wanted to post last night.

    Not sure if it’s posted, cause I tend to skip some of the… longer posts, but Crockett seems like the real deal. Fast, explosive, elusive… I hope they keep pounding with fatass, cause that kid looked VERY dangerous last night.

    • willbest

      All running backs are dangerous against the Bears, our ILBs don’t attack the line

      • MB30SD

        he wasn’t playing the bears last night my maings.

        but point WELL taken, eh Dave?

  • MB30SD

    I just realized something Trac….

    GP may very well be…. Krumpus!

    http://www.mandatory.com/2015/12/04/who-is-krampus-origins-of-the-christmas-devil/

  • MB30SD

    Hey Johnny… my buddy and I had a debate about eye color last night. He said this guy in his office has eyes that change color. Some say they look blue, some say they look green.

    What do you think: http://o.aolcdn.com/hss/storage/midas/c8a9ba44265464f3b317661008e4d544/203078354/blue-eyes-or-nah.jpeg

    • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

      I’m not opening that. I like my job.

      • MB30SD

        hahahahahahahahaha… it was a trap for JOHNNYwad, not YONNY.

        gotta spread my loves around

        • Johnnywad

          Let’s just go with green……

  • willbest

    And now the FBI is officially investigating it as an act of terrorism.

    Except …. 9 days ago….

    Ahead of the busy Thanksgiving holiday, the U.S. government is “taking every possible step” to keep the country safe, President Barack Obama said Wednesday, seeking to reassure travelers and adding there is no known “specific and credible threat” to the U.S.

    “We are taking every possible step to keep our homeland safe,” Obama said following a meeting with his national security advisers.

    Obama said he and his team “know of no specific and credible intelligence indicating a plot on the homeland and that is based on the latest information I just received in the Situation Room.”

    http://www.cnn.com/2015/11/25/politics/obamas-national-security-message/index.html
    I suppose its good to know that big brother didn’t watch me it that bowl of ice cream last night.

    • burntorangenavyblue

      Not all threats can be stopped, or the only way that is possible is to have Minority Report-esque technology.

      Besides the main purpose of the way terrorists conduct their attacks are by mosty purposely throwing false leads or by just simply staying quiet and secretive. There’s no way around that unless the government take away more of our freedoms or people just simply try to know their own neighbors better.

      • willbest

        Know your neighbors. The guy’s own parents (at least as they claim) didn’t feel his changes were of any reportable significance. How are the coworkers and neighbors supposed to? Then again I suppose you can’t blame them. They immigrated from a country where the despot tends to summary execute people for bad think. That paranoia probably takes a couple generations to wear off.
        Well one of his neighbors thought something was up but didn’t say anything because racism.

        • burntorangenavyblue

          My point was that there’s really no way of knowing and/or stopping every threat, even if you do know your neighbor. I would say that’s the best solution? How many people actually try to get to know their neighbors anymore?

          Unfortunately the bystander effect is a serious detriment in a majority of people to actually take action in helping or just simply being alert and proactive to their surroundings.

    • BearDown100393

      Whatever rhetoric is uttered by the government, it is always misleading to the public.

      • willbest

        Well obviously the official story is never the correct. I just enjoy such concrete examples of either outright deceit or total incompetence.

    • Captain Obvious

      So, there was no specific/credible threat to the U.S.

      The woman posted a pro-ISIS comment on Facebook hours before the shooting. That’s the one and only link anyone has found thus far between them and ISIS.

      Doesn’t sound like these two were on anyone’s radar. Even ISIS’s.

      • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

        it’s definitely not ISIS directly but it’s definitely heeding the call that Al Qaeda and ISIS leaders sent out that all good muslims should find their owns ways to take up arms against the infidels. It’s exactly the type of actions their leadership wanted and encouraged.

        The bomb they made was right out of INSPIRE magazine officials said.

        • http://t.co/MsJnMxjrmd 4ever85! (AKA, ButchDeadLift)

          I agree but how can the US stop that? It’s like those right wing wackos who get inspred by Nazis websites or Turner Diaries.
          Short of 1984 surveillance and total ban on guns, ain’t happening (and even then it’ll still likely happen)

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            you can’t stop it completely unfortunately.

  • BillW

    I think I mentioned this idea on the blog already but after last night I thought of it again.

    I would love to see a show where the league takes a game and play by play evaluates all the calls and non-calls.

    For the fans – on TV. Live – not taped or rehearsed.

    It would most likely have to be a preseason game so no one gets too upset if several calls went against one team vs less for the other.

    It appears the league does this for grading the refs. I’d like to see this for several reasons.

    Educate the fans; let the officials know the public is being educated; less likely that fans will cry “bad call” every time something controversial happens; more likely the league will see the need for clearer rules (and maybe even less of them.

    What I expect out of it:
    Confirm or refute the old adage “you can call holding on every play.” I certainly hope that is not true, so let’s see.

    Debate over particularly difficult calls – again live. So the league realizes just how frustrating this must be for fans if they can’t decide among themselves.

    What is and isn’t PI

    What is and isn’t a catch

    What doe the league consider a correctable mistake by the official

    Once all this is out in the public, the decisions made in that particular game becomes the standard. At that point, the head of officiating (and I hope it’s someone other than Blandino) will have to reconcile controversial calls based on that.

    If this could be an annual event – we will in a a couple of years probably get a pretty complete sample of situations.

    All fans really want is consistency and transparency. The fans pay for the product. The league should give back.

    (This will never happen – I know. But think of the ratings and the advertising revenue it would draw.)

    • TBC

      This will solve everything, because football fans will never find another way to feel aggrieved by the injustices imposed on their favorite team.

    • Jokey

      There’s a soccer show in Europe like this, where they debate calls and whether the refs got the “advantage” calls right. It was in Italian but still fascinating. It made me want to be a fan, it was cerebral. Maybe that says something about soccer somehow being superior to football, and on an intellectual level I have to agree it’s a better game, but I just can’t get into it, I’ve tried.

      • TBC

        Interesting comment, but european football is actually so, so far behind major American sports in this respect. There is no replay/review whatsoever, except for goalline technology which was only implemented a couple of years ago, and very rarely gets called upon.

        Futbol is superior to Football is many ways, but that is not one of them. (unless you prefer the fact everything is left up to the snap judgment of a head official and 2 linesmen, in which case yes this is one of those ways.)

        • Jokey

          Stopping play to determine advantage defeats the point. Futbol lends itself to interpretation that way, but in football, we all know that Calvin Johnson’s catch was a TD. And if you exclude Packer fans, Dez Bryant’s too.

          • BillW

            I know it’s the fact that I have a logical tilt but anytime I see blatant inconsistency in calls I go nuts.

            I don’t care what is or isn’t a facemask penalty. Just call it the same every time. Same with a catch. Same with PI.

            And judgement is OK too, as long as judgement is based on a specific rule. You can judge that the defender made no attempt to go for the ball and be wrong – if in real time it looks likely that was the case.

            That’s why I had no problem with the facemask call

            – until I read the rule and heard Blandino clainm it would have held up in a replay review.

            NO! NOT as the rule is written! And if so, then you have to call face mask on a lot of other runners being tackled when the hand accidentally grazes the facemask.

            See – I’m not upset over the call at all. I’m upset at the fool that is running the officiating. It gives me no reason to feel the officials are being held to any sort of consistent standard.

          • Jokey

            I feel you

          • Irish Sweetness

            PI should be reviewable. Those facemasks should be. You can’t have some things reviewable and not other things. Maybe the team gets a certain number of challenges. 2 is too little. There could be a couple of game-changing events that need to be correctly called.

          • MB30SD

            Agree

          • TBC

            How easy would it be to allow certain offside plays to continue, and then use replay to determine whether or not they were correct? Or to review each goal for offside? I’m not saying i’d want that, but it’s very feasible.

          • Jokey

            Nah, I don’t think it could be done. I’m not a good judge though.

          • Irish Sweetness

            Fans don’t want it to turn into american football, which is why they don’t watch american football. Stop-start is not cool in Europe, or anywhere else.

        • Irish Sweetness

          The amount of power the ref has in determining the outcome of a match is unsurpassed in world sports.

      • Irish Sweetness

        Soccer, cerebral? I’ve always seen it as the least cerebral game. It’s just about flow, filling space. American Football is human chess with very specific tactics and plays, and a lot more rules. Kids can just drop jerseys for goalposts and start playing football anywhere. Nothing needs to be explained. And you won’t find many smart soccer players. They’re guys who have literally done nothing else but play football since they were kids. If you’re smart, you eventually end up world class.

        • Scharfinator

          Disagree. Football is rote memorization – with those being able to improvise being lauded as the “best”.

          Soccer has very few reset situations compared to football. Football players don’t need a sense of timing, so much as a “I need to cut after 5 steps”. Soccer forces the players to think a lot more on the run so to speak. The ability to improvise is important in every player.

          I imagine good QB’s have the same type of thought processes of solid midfielders or wingers.

  • SC Dave

    Hey Doc… before I start on this thread, I just wanted your friend to know that I was thinking him today, and I hope a new day has eased a bit of the bite.

    • http://www.dabearsbeat.com/ Johnathan Wood

      Seconded. We’re all sending well wishes your friend’s way, Doc.

  • Bender McLugh

    Anyone heard of the app Tunify?

    Just was shown this by a friend at the bar. You point the camera at the tv and it auto tunes an audio simulcast of whatever is on. Seriously surprised how synced it was too. At first glance it seems to support alot of sports channels too

    • Bender McLugh

      TUNITY. My bad. And it’s a free app on Android.

      • The GP
        • Bender McLugh

          I don’t get it and I love it

        • Irish Sweetness

          If that fucker gets elected then it’s a road sign planted on the road to Idiocracy … and if she gets elected then it’s a Satanic vadge.

          From JFK … to that. Eeesh.

    • Irish Sweetness

      GTFO, really? Sounds like an April Fools thing ….

  • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

    This weekend’s pick to click:
    Martellus Bennett.
    He is so crazy that he’ll play well simply out of spite for those that feel he can’t play well. I predict 8 catches for 70 yards and a TD.

    • willbest

      I legit don’t care why he plays well at this point. He isn’t going to be on the team, we can add another 4 million to the cap (6 if we manage to trade him)

    • Irish Sweetness

      How many drops?

      • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

        oh, at least 1. I think he will bring it this game….and if not, he is 100% dead to me.

  • BillW

    OK – time to let the Detroit game go. They are a embarrassing organization. Ernie will probably recommend a great GM candidate and they will give Matt Millen another chance because he apologized.

    Anyway – looked at the last play several times. I saw no holding. At least nothing obvious. And the “block in the back” is arguably on the side of the defender.

    Simply a royal screw up by the Lions and an amazing throw by Aaron. Not for it’s accuracy but for his strength to get it up that high and deep.

    • Bender McLugh

      Penalties should be challengable. And I should know that really wasn’t a facemask.

    • willbest

      I wish one of those defensive players was smart enough to have called a timeout in that situation just to ask for clarification.

  • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

    http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2015/12/04/jay-cutler-added-to-injury-report-expected-to-play/
    Wilson and Royal both out for Sunday. Alshon, Bennett and Miller Time along with Mariani, Bellamy and probably Cam Merideth will be suiting up.
    Cutty also on the injury report with an “illness”.

    • Bender McLugh

      I think the last time Cutty had an “illness” his wife got preggers

      • willbest

        Usually they tell you no sex for 6 weeks. Maybe she is a fast healer too.

        • Irish Sweetness

          6 weeks. Try 6 fucking years.

          • CanadaBear

            If I could I’d give you a few hundred more likes for that one!

      • Irish Sweetness

        Golden sperm.

    • willbest

      Yeah that happens when you have 3 under 5. I think I had 2 colds between 19 and 29. Now I am sick 4-5 times a years.

      • MB30SD

        Try it with a 1st grader and a little guy in t/k for the first time. Been sick for a fucking month straigh. Uuuhhggg

      • Irish Sweetness

        Man, kindergartens are like small hospitals.

      • BearDown100393

        …and no flu shots.

      • MB30SD

        Wait… did you say THREE UNDER 5!?!?

        Holy shit, I totally missed that. You’re WAY worse off than me.

        …and either Mormon or just fucking insane! Haha

        • willbest

          Cutler has 3 under 5. Although I did have a 0, 3 and 5 at one point. Not Mormon, and probably done. Though we might consider a 4th. After all, government isn’t going to take care of us in our old age. That SS money is gone, those of us under 45 aren’t going to see that money back.

          • MB30SD

            Ah, I’m obviously not paying attention in class will.

            Considered a 4th, yep I was right, you crayzie.

            Meh, fuck it… I hope to go out in a zombie fighting blaze of glory before I need it my maings. Shotguns, Gold AKs, chainsaws, and samurai swords ablazzzing!

  • Sactowns#1

    Just saw Marquees is out. Wtf?! How can we not get a single game with all our WR’s?

    • Irish Sweetness

      Maybe that’s a good thing, Sac. Meredith, Bellamy … better hands. No drops = lights out.

      AJ, Matty, Langford, Miller, Bellamy. Meredith – looking good, I’d say.

      Omameh might be the weak link in the OL. Does anyone have stats for rushing behind him. Tayo’s got 40lbs on the guy, maybe we need some beef in there.

      • CanadaBear

        Q played one of his best games last week.

      • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

        haha, in no way shape or form is having our #2 WR hurt a good thing especially when our slot guy is hurt as well and our #1 is playing hobbled.

        • http://t.co/MsJnMxjrmd 4ever85! (AKA, ButchDeadLift)

          Mariani all day!

  • The GP

    I think Yonny should be MB’s Shabbos Goy

    https://youtu.be/s9BQkepL7Fo?t=794

    • MB30SD

      Yonny…. will you? Will you reaaally?

      Btw, I’ve never watched that show, but holy shit, looks like I need to.

  • Bender McLugh
    • MB30SD

      Still fucking hate zombies

      • Bender McLugh

        Ha didn’t mean to post it twice

  • Bender McLugh
    • MB30SD

      fucking hate zombies

      • AlbertInTucson

        Never understood the fascination.

        • The GP

          I’ve come to understand zombies as a manifestation of the subconscious fear that the planet is over populated and food will run out and people will turn on each other. This apocalyptic angst is a serious undercurrent in our society – thankfully I think it’s ending with a renewed sense of using science to figure shit out and possibly get the whole space future imagined by 2001 going.

          • MB30SD

            Meh, the science thing is nice, but I plan on using guns, chainsaws, and samurai swords instead.

            #jetpacks

          • The GP
          • MB30SD

            Exactly, just a tad less….. pretty.

          • CanadaBear

            Well at least it’s not far fetched. Every now and then I need a reminder why I absolutely never see any of these movies.

          • MB30SD

            oh come on… are you and Irish going to the cannes film fest together so that you can snuggle and hold hands watching the artistic, sub-titled, abstract, fellini-like trendy indie creepers?!

            Hahahaha… I keed I keeeeed. It’s all about CGI fun these days Canada!

          • CanadaBear

            I know I’m the odd one but I hate that shit. Couldn’t possibly bore me more. Not to mention those movies are always so insanely loud. Really not my thing.

          • MB30SD

            got it

          • Irish Sweetness

            The use-it-up society might get there first. The doubling period of the population is under 40 years at the moment. I hope we can figure out the food-air-water-oil-waste deal … but …our over-lords cherish profit, not change.

            Viva La Revolucion.

          • willbest

            That isn’t a problem for the Americas though. Its the Eastern hemisphere that is going to have that issue. The population projections for this side of the planet are very modest, with a plateau in the next 50 years or so.

          • MB30SD
          • willbest

            Hmm… and here I thought zombie was code for minority uprising. Which is why zombie uprising gains more and more traction as whites become a smaller share of the population.

          • http://t.co/MsJnMxjrmd 4ever85! (AKA, ButchDeadLift)

            Derrida wrote this whole spiel on zombies. Neither dead-alive, defies definition, quasi-human, dead-alive paradox, etc.

            http://www.inevitablezombieapocalypse.com/2009/04/jacques-derrida-on-zombies/

            (can always get a diff link, just lazy like a zombie)

            Some interpret zombies as symbols for commercialized society. Just watch your kids play their vids all day.

            I think zombies are just a way for hollywood to be gory.

            You can’t exactly make a whole movie about dudes going around bashing hordes of human skulls, so zombies are just inhuman enough for us to see it without feeling guilty about it.

            Plus, Hollywood loves gore.

  • MB30SD
    • The GP

      In Dubai, UAE, Bahrain – it’s all the rage to have serious sand ready vehicles. Check this ’71 F150 conversion

      https://youtu.be/LNgI-OrXtNA?t=589

      • MB30SD

        Muscle /super cars terrorism sand oil excess of everything.

        What a bizarre place

        • The GP

          Ever been to Dubai?

          They put a sprinkler system on the beach, so the sand was hot but not too hot.

          • MB30SD

            Uh uh… good jewish boy. I’m escared.

            I am fascinated with Arab antiquity though. Def want to see the pyramids, petra, jordan, iran.. just don’t want to get kidnapped and beheaded in the process.

            Israel is first anyway in that region.

          • Irish Sweetness

            I had a lost weekend at a hotel in Bahrain. The hotel nightclub was half US military, half hookers. The taxi drivers would pass for Sheikhs in America. That’s all I got.

          • MB30SD

            Yeah, never got that. Do those things really keep you cooler in that oppressive heat?

        • CanadaBear

          Did you see a bunch of the World Tour teams are skipping the Middle Eastern races in 2016? Apparently all the wind, heat and lack of podium girls (I added the last one) are too much. Eddy Merckx must be shitting a brick (he’s the front man for these races). Even Etixx-Quickstep isn’t going and they’ve won most of these races. Certainly not any place I’m ever going to visit.

          • MB30SD

            I’d like to see it just for the novelty… and I loved the movie “The Kingdom”. haha

          • willbest

            If anything the problem with Qatar is excessive kink, not too little. In public it is all Muslim modesty, but these vipers fly hot girls in from all around the world on. Private jets, give them designer clothes and accessories and then get them hopped up on drugs, gangbang and then defecate on them.

          • MB30SD

            sounds fun!

            Will, wtf with the last part of that paragraph?!

          • willbest

            Just reporting what I read.

          • MB30SD

            yikes!

            Think I saw that in a documentary about eastern europeans abducting western girls on vacation and selling them in a high-stakes billionaire marketplace on a boat.

            chilling stuff will.

          • Johnnywad
          • MB30SD

            oh, uhhhh, noooo! nothing like that… really. ahem

          • Johnnywad

            Bad. Ass. I’d totally do the same thing he did.

        • BearDown100393

          And slaves.

          • MB30SD

            yeah, that too

  • MB30SD

    http://www.cnn.com/2015/12/04/opinions/bergen-san-bernardino-terror-attack-explain/index.html

    hate to say it, but might be time to start profiling a bit harder. not the best thing and won’t catch everything, but damn, when a muslim person buys 4,500 rounds of ammo and parts to assemble pipe bombs, maybe someone should take a closer look even if there’s no other record of them at the time.

    Sucks, but gotta get real here fellas.

    • http://www.upitpuppet.com/ evantonio

      When ANYONE buys 4500 rounds and pipe bomb parts.

      • MB30SD

        hahaha… you know what I mean you ass!

        I doubt they bought all 4500 rounds at once.

      • willbest

        Maybe you got a really good sale

      • Johnnywad

        Perhaps a certificate to show the purchaser could use them both safely and effectively would suffice.

        Besides, how are all the rambunctious teens supposed to blow up mailboxes on Halloween if you take away their pipe bombs?

        • willbest

          We didn’t do mailboxes, but we would blow up garbage cans, blew one clean onto the roof of our school (2 stories tall). My friend and I also built a two seated lawnmower go-kart that would clock in at 23 mph and had zero safety restraints and used to drive it as fast as we could through the wooded area by my house. Kind of surprised I survived childhood sometimes.

          • Johnnywad

            Ahh the good old days. I had very similar experiences. I think we learned how to stay safe by actually being in harms way on occasion. Basically inoculating ourselves.

            Just out of curiosity, how old are you Will? Did you grow up in the late seventies/early eighties?

          • willbest

            38. And this was when we were 9-11 so around 89 is when I was engaged in these particular shenanigans.

          • Johnnywad

            Same generation then. I’m 42. Two seat go karts with no roll cage and no seat belts. You want to learn to drive? That’s where its at. Blow stuff up……of course. All in a days adventure. Hell we even waged war on each other with Daisy air rifle BB guns.

            God I miss the 80’s sometimes. Good times.

          • Huge Bear’s Penis

            in same age range. Loved my old go kart. never could figure out a decent braking system on it so made it even more fun and dangerous.

          • Johnnywad

            Our brakes sucked too. Generally slowed it down with a solid power slide……which 80’s chicks dig.

          • MB30SD

            you and I are exactly the same age. Hence the mind-meld I imagine.

            All that shit + 100. Had an older brother and only hung out with him and all his 2 years older friends. Things like throwing dirt clods down onto cars while in full camo.

            Was super fun until some dude climbed up the hill and chased after us. hahaha

          • Johnnywad

            Yep. Same here. Once popped up out of a ditch on Halloween and threw an apple at a car window. Turned out to be a cop. We ran like hell and split up. I jumped a fence, ran across a pitch black, back yard patio and fell into the shallow end of an empty pool. Hurt like all hell, but turned out to be a great place to duck the spotlight.

            We also used to gather walnuts and go karts. Three karts in the neighborhood hood so you had a driver and somebody else throwing walnuts at the guys on the other karts. God damn that was fun.

          • MB30SD

            Bb gun wars, army capture the flag in full camo… in the rain, don’t even get me started on Halloween.

          • http://t.co/MsJnMxjrmd 4ever85! (AKA, ButchDeadLift)

            haha, we used to stick dolls with m80s and BOOM!
            Biggest we got once was half a stick of dynamite. Someone’s dad or other worked with it, and we blew that up on the street.

            Holy crap, it was loud. I think all the alarms in a 5 block radius went off lol

          • MB30SD

            group of guys on the frosh fb team blew up a few mailboxes and the idiots went back to see the damage on their last, and biggest, one and got caught by the FBI. hahaha

        • http://www.upitpuppet.com/ evantonio

          We did it with m80s back in the day. But it was a different world then. Crystal Pepsi and all.

      • DaMurph

        Now when there’s a good ammo sale, I’ll have to make two trips if I need plumbing parts.

      • Irish Sweetness

        Yeah, but in order to make it racist, you have to include a large group of people.

    • willbest

      Is there any particular reason we should be letting them to continue come into our country. The ones we have now aren’t doing a particularly great job of assimilating. Perhaps we let the present group mature over the next couple generations and revisit the issue in 50 years. Which is incidentally what the US did from 1910-1965

      • MB30SD

        let me put it this way will…

        I would be down with whatever aggressive measure we take if this sleeper cell shit continues in the US. Interview everyone of them that’s so much as bought a round of ammo or stepped outside the law once. I’m down.

      • DaMurph

        Right away you gotta hit the Irish!! Im deeply offended by this!

        • willbest

          I am 3/8th Irish. But the good kind that showed up in the 1700s not the filthy kind that showed up in the late 1800s onward

  • MB30SD

    so this chick I took on a date this week (pictures LIE boys! snakes in the grass) suggested something for immunity health that I’d never heard of before. She SWOOOORE by it and said if you take it, you won’t get sick anymore, and if you take it at first on-set of a cold, it will disappear in a day (the cold).

    I was at whole foods and I thought, fuck it, I’ll give it a shot. It’s called Bee Propolis… the stuff bees produce to ‘disinfect and protect the health of the hive.

    Holy crap… burned my fucking mouth when I put it in and tasted like absolute shit, so I imagine it will kill bacteria. give it a try. haha

    • willbest

      You sure its safe for human consumption? Burning is usually your body’s way of politely reminding you that perhaps you shouldn’t do that again.

      • MB30SD

        they sell it, so fuck it I’ll give it a roll. haha

        • Bender McLugh

          Bee pollen is bad ass, really healthy.

          • MB30SD

            This is diff, check it out

        • http://t.co/MsJnMxjrmd 4ever85! (AKA, ButchDeadLift)

          Lemme know how it turns out.

          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YHxRkXrBMKo

          • MB30SD

            If I can

    • http://t.co/MsJnMxjrmd 4ever85! (AKA, ButchDeadLift)

      side-effect. Shrinks your weenie.

      Well, more shrunk than it already is!

      Scwhing!

      • MB30SD

        Damn it! So down to like 3″???

    • The GP

      Propolis is more effective than a common drug for treating genital herpes according to a study published in Phytomedicine.[xi]

      For 10 days, 90 men and women with genital herpes applied either an ointment containing propolis flavonoids, or acyclovir (a drug used to treat herpes sores), or a placebo ointment. The patients applied the ointment four times a day.

      By the study’s end, 24 out of the 30 patients in the propolis group had healed. Only 14 of 30 in the drug group, and 12 of 30 in the placebo group were cured.

      So there’s that….

      • MB30SD

        holy shit!

        You’re supposed to put the stuff I have in a drink (via a dropper). I was a tough guy and just dropped it right into my mouth. Shit burned like crazy. Super powerful stuff.

        You wouldn’t catch me rubbing that shit into an open sore of any type for lot’s of money. Yow!!

    • DaMurph

      I hope she wasnt giving you a subtle heads up for a cure for genital herpes, tell me you didnt hit that!!!!

      • MB30SD

        you know me better than that. 7s and above only.

  • http://t.co/MsJnMxjrmd 4ever85! (AKA, ButchDeadLift)

    Dear Jeff,

    Stop studying Navarro Bowman’s contract in an attempt to get him on the Bears in 2016.

    Signed,

    Jeff

    Haha, I did the same! We would have to settle for Wilhoit according to their contracts.

    • Huge Bear’s Penis

      a lot of us did the same already too.

      • http://t.co/MsJnMxjrmd 4ever85! (AKA, ButchDeadLift)

        We have a few lawyers on the Blog. NB, Will? Make it so!

        • willbest

          You mean other than trade for him? Send Bennett and Fales for him.

          • MB30SD

            Deal!

            Gut us the paper.

          • Irish Sweetness

            Making our backup QB ….. ?

          • willbest

            No idea… I just know that 49ners were interested in Fales (which is why he ended up on the 53) and after trading away Davis they could probably use a solid TE. I haven’t seen Bowman play this year so I don’t know what the eyes tell me, but I doubt they would be interested in letting him go for that.

  • willbest

    I don’t think 5 conference should get automatic bids. The #2 and 3 in some of those conferences is better than the #1 in the others.

    • That Guy

      No perfect system, but the #2 and #3 in a given conference at least has a reason for not making it. Win and you’re in is a generally good system.

  • MB30SD

    This Iowa game is crazy

    • burntorangenavyblue

      Iowa shot themselves in the foot burning those timeouts. If you’re the winning team, you make the losing team burn their timeouts….

      • MB30SD

        Lot of bad at the end

  • Bender McLugh

    This is an old friend of mine……….we used to go to the Underground Wunderbar downtown while still in high school, he would sit in with the house band and kill it all night even at that early age. Good times.

    Have You Met Miss Jones – SoundCloud
    Listen to Have You Met Miss Jones by Eric Levy music #np on #SoundCloud
    https://soundcloud.com/ericlevymusic/have-you-met-miss-jones

    • Bender McLugh

      This is a really great recording, seriously good playing. Give it a listen

      • CanadaBear

        Not exactly what I usually listen to but I liked it. Cat is definitely talented.

  • willbest

    So seems pretty certain its going to be Bama, Clemson, Michigan St, and Oklahoma. Would have kind of liked to see Alabama or Clemson lose to throw a bit controversy into the whole thing and speed the process along to 8 teams.

  • Irish Sweetness

    Finally confirmation that this team doesn’t blitz – only the Pats blitz less than us.

    From Kevin Patra’s cheat sheet on NFL.COM: http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000594201/article/week-13-cheat-sheet

    San Francisco 49ers at Chicago Bears

    The 49ers own the NFL’s worst scoring differential this season (-119) and worst average margin of defeat this season (17.8 points).

    San Francisco’s offense ranks last in NFL in points per game (13.8), total YPG (295.5) and 10-plus yard plays (117). They also are ranked 31st in yards per play (5.0) and time of possession (26:47).

    49ers offense has been slightly better with Blaine Gabbert starting than with Kaepernick under center.

    Gabbert: 1-2 record, 15.0 PPG, 330.7 total YPG, 244.3 pass YPG, 86.3 rush YPG

    Kaepernick: 2-6 record, 13.6 PPG, 282.3 total YPG, 181.1 pass YPG, 101.1 rush YPG

    Gabbert: 65.3 completion percentage, 255.7 YPG, 4 TD, 3 INT, 91.0 passer rating — all four TD passes this season have gone to TEs.

    Shaun Draughn: 43 carries, 146 yards; 17 receptions, 113 yards.

    Anquan Boldin: 44 receptions, 558 yards, 2 TD. Leads team in catches and yards — 90-plus receiving yards in four of his last five games, 16 red-zone targets this season (T-5th in NFL).

    San Francisco’s defense has eight takeaways this season (31st in NFL). The Niners allow 6.1 receptions per game to opponents No. 1 wideouts this season (most in NFL) and allow a passer rating of 100.5 (29th) — last season, ranked fourth in opponent passer rating (79.5).

    Jay Cutler: 63.2 completion percentage, 251.0 YPG, 14 TD, 6 INT, 92.5 passer rating. Cutler is on pace for one of the best seasons of his career in passer rating, TD-INT ratio and INT percentage (1.8). Cutler does not have a game with more than one INT this season. Since becoming a full-time starter in 2007, Cutler has averaged at least four games with two-plus INTs in each season and has never made it through a full season without throwing multiple INTs in a game.

    Matt Forte: 151 carries, 592 yards, 2 TD; 26 receptions, 228 yards, TD — averaged fewer than 4.0 yards per carry in five of last six games. Scrimmage yards have declined in each of his last five games played. Week 4: 155, Week 5: 109, Week 6: 89, Week 8; 69, Week 12: 53.

    Jeremy Langford: 90 receptions, 298 yards, 6 TD; 16 receptions, 232 yards, TD — four straight games with rushing TD. The last Bears rookie with four straight games with at least one rushing TD was HOF RB Walter Payton in 1975 (Weeks 11-14).

    Alshon Jeffery: 43 receptions, 605 yards, 2 TD. Averaging 100.8 YPG in six games played this season – 75-plus yards in five of six games this season.

    The Bears defense has held opponents to fewer than 200 net pass yards in six of 11 games this season after holding opponents under 200 pass yards in three of 16 games last season. The Bears blitz on 17.5 percent of pass plays this season (second fewest in NFL). Only the Patriots at 16.6 percent blitz less on passing plays. Chicago allows 3.7 yards per play in red zone this season (31st in NFL).

    The Bears rank 29th against the run (128.5 yards per game) and second against the pass (214.5).

    • willbest

      I don’t know… what they are doing seems to be working. Sure they have been burned by a few big runs, but their goal is to make you take a min of 12 plays to get your points and that is hard to do with any regularity without getting stopped

© Da' Bears Blog