296 Comments

FrontRowTickets.Com Game Preview: Bears Open Season Against Their Oldest Rival

| September 11th, 2015

dabearsblog banner

Welcome to our first game preview of the season, sponsored by FrontRowTickets.com. The online ticket marketplace will join us as sponsors for game previews and game threads throughout this Bears campaign and we’re happy to have them on board. Click the image above to visit their site and buy/sell Bears tickets.

A NOT-SO-QUICK THOUGHT

When I was a kid in New Jersey, I couldn’t watch Bears football. Until I was about 12 years old, outside of the occasional national television appearance, my experience of Bears football was:

  • ESPN’s Primetime highlights – still the most important sports program of my lifetime.
  • Scoreboard ticker at the bottom of Giants and Jets games. I used to run in from other rooms when the little jingle would play announcing a scoreboard update and pray the Bears had done SOMETHING. (They rarely did.)
  • Actual league scoreboard at Giants Stadium, where my family had Jets season tickets. I used to have the entirety of section 324 cheering the Bears updates often more loudly than the Jets game in front of them.

This didn’t change until I was 12 and a bar called Jersey Sports Cafe (now closed) opened in East Rutherford. They had a satellite (one of the big ones) bringing in the Chicago feed and now I could sit on a bar stool (illegally) and watch the Bears PLAY FOOTBALL. I didn’t go every week but I went enough.

This is why I cherish the sixteen games we’re guaranteed each season. Because I didn’t have them until I went to college. This is why the night before Bears football begins has always felt like Christmas Eve. I’m wandering down the carpeted staircase in my feety pajamas and there’s a big old box under the tree. What’s in there? What am I going to get to play with for the next few months?

It won’t be the same this season. At least not this Sunday. The 2015 Chicago Bears have to earn back the excitement of people like me. They have to display on the field they are worthy of the passion many have displayed in good times and bad over their lifetimes. They can do that this week, against the Packers, at Soldier Field? How?

Be in the game. With five minutes left, be in it. That’s all I ask. If the Bears achieve that, a week from now I’m in.

PRESSURE UP FRONT

The Packers will miss Jordy Nelson. They just may not miss him this week. If the Bears front seven, and yes all seven will need to be involved, don’t harass Aaron Rodgers he will rip their secondary apart and throw for upwards of 400 yards. Many have reported defensive coordinator Vic Fangio’s success against the Packers quarterback but that success came when Fangio was armed with one of the most talented defensive rosters in the league in San Francisco. He doesn’t have that here.

Here’s my stat. Anything less than four sacks and the Bears lose by two touchdowns.

WATCH OUT FOR EDDIE LACY

Bears are starting a young defensive line and two middle linebackers making their first starts at the position. Mike McCarthy is going to test them with the power run game and test them often.

THE GAME POEM

Oh, Shea!

To the middle of the muddle you go, desperate for a slice of that diner pie called “home”

Sing your song, oh Shea!

For opportunity is a dangerous woman in the dark corner of a roadside bar.

 THREE BEARS OF INTRIGUE

  • If Jermon Bushrod does not provide protection for Jay Cutler’s blindside the quarterback is going to be under duress the entire game. Coordinators can cover one edge of the offensive line but it’s nearly impossible to cover both edges and move the ball with any efficiency. (And nobody knows what we’ll get from Kyle Long on the other side.)
  • Fans and media were enamored with Pernell McPhee this summer but all of that will be forgotten should the big money signing no-show against the organization’s most bitter of rivals. McPhee has to be this defense’s engine. They will need the engine at full steam Sunday.
  • Antrel Rolle. There is a good chance Rolle has very little left in the tank. If that’s the case it should be exposed no later than Sunday. Rodgers is brilliant at isolating a weakness in the secondary and exploiting it. It shouldn’t surprise anyone if Rolle gets picked on at Soldier Field.

IRISH VIDEO OF THE WEEK

 

(This will not be recurring)

A RITUAL RETURNS

On Sunday I will leave my apartment in Woodside, Queens and venture to the basement bar known as Josie Woods for the fifteenth year. It’s amazing to do anything consistently for fifteen years let alone gather at a bar with the same group of people. Some have gone home to Chicago. Some have chased dreams to Los Angeles. Some have stayed while venturing back and forth to Africa more than Dian Fossey and competitively lifting weights. But the flag will still hang. The Waddle jersey will still be pinned to the wooden shelf. And the light beer will flow. It’s football season. This is what we do.

(This just made me laugh)

How Will the Bears Win with Andrew Dannehy

Administrative Note: As many of you know, Andrew will be writing a Wednesday column throughout the season. He’ll put the finishing touches on the game just played and begin previewing the one to come. This week there is nothing to look back upon so we’re moving his preview into the larger preview.

jay-cutler-si-cover

According to the analysts you might be asking, “Why should the Bears even play the game?” Because sometimes, just sometimes, it isn’t all about talent. In  2007 the Packers went 13-3 with two of their losses coming to the 7-9 Bears, including a 35-7 loss in Week 16. Every once in a while it happens. The Bears aren’t better than the Packers, but they can beat them.

The Packers lost five games last season, in four of those five games they were punched in the mouth. The Bears now have a coach who has proven he can build teams that do just that. It will be a process, but you know damn well Fox has the Bears fuming about Mike McCarthy saying they’re going to kick their ass. Expect a physical and aggressive Bears team and as tough as McCarthy might talk the Packers haven’t had a tough team since 2010.

Regardless of where they line up, as long as the Bears have Kyle Long, Matt Slauson and Will Montgomery, they’re going to have an offensive line with attitude opening holes for Matt Forte and Jacquizz Rodgers. They need to use them to control the clock.

Defensively, if they hit Rodgers, he will be shaken. The best way to do that is by rushing Pernell McPhee over David Bakhtiari (assuming he plays), using a power rusher against a finesse blocker. On the opposite side, they need to attack Bryan Bulaga with speed. If they can do that and generate some push up the middle, they will make Rodgers’ life Hell. It won’t stop them, but it just might be enough to hold them under 30 points and that’s what they need to do.

The Bears will win this game if they run for 200 yards and sack Aaron Rodgers five times.

McCarthy & the Ass Kick

GAME PREDICTION

Chicago Bears 9, Green Bay Packers 8

___________________________

Buy Chicago Bears Tickets

Tagged: ,

  • beninnorcal

    With all due respect, Jeff, the Bears should win just about any game in which they get 5 sacks and rush for 200 yards.

    • Scharfinator

      Sounds like a solid strategy to me.

    • Irish Sweetness

      16-0 it is then. We literally can’t run out of OLBs or RBs.

    • Big Mike

      That’s thew point. Jeff doesn’t think they can win. It will take everything going right. Which is fine. Because maybe it will 🙂

  • beninnorcal

    Nice to be talking about a real game again though. As you noted, this offseason was longer than most. That Miami game last year spelled the end for Trestman and those ’14 Bears.

  • beninnorcal

    Also, nice preview, Jeff. Good read. I also grew up a Bear fan in Jersey around the same time as you.

    • Irish Sweetness

      Who is Jersey’s most famous son? I will open the betting at Cmdr. Buzz Aldrin, 85.

      • MB30SD

        the boss yo

        • Irish Sweetness

          (thinks for a split second)

          Nope.

          (has a scary thought)

          Would more people know who Springsteen is, than Buzz Aldrin? I hope not. Then again maybe Snookie is more famous … or Mike ‘The Situation’ Sorrentino. I didn’t make up that name BTW.

          • MB30SD

            are you serious yo? This is ‘Murica. Fuck yes, most people won’t even know who Buck Alden *is* man.

          • DaBearsBlog

            I don’t think Buzz Aldrin cracks the top 5.

            Jack Nicholson, Meryl Streep definitely known more than Buzz.

            Frank Sinatra is probably one.

          • NewBearInTown

            Bruce Springsteen is known for being from NJ though. Sinatra sings about New York, not Jersey. And Nicholson, Streep, etc. are all Hollywood types. You don’t see Nicholson court side at Nets games.

          • Trac

            Buzz Aldrin is a money grubbing hack who sold his memorabilia at ridiculous over priced amounts.

            Gus Grism was the only honorable astronaut from that era.

            #moonlandinghoax

          • MB30SD

            oh god

          • Trac

            Keepin it real. Hahaha

          • SC Dave

            Absolutely no question – at least 100 people know Springsteen for each person that knows Aldrin. In fact, it may be as bad as 500:1

          • AlbertInTucson

            The first moon landing is ancient history to most. Hats off to Buzz and Neil Armstrong. They flew there with less than the equivalent of a Commodore 64 for a flight computer and had to dodge a boulder field when they attempted their landing .”The Eagle” was closer to CRASHING on the moon than NASA would admit for decades.

            Springsteen is much less ancient. Not a huge “Boss” fan but I do like GLORY DAYS. Just wish I didn’t identify with it so much these days.

          • Huge Bear’s Penis

            think about it. it is estimated 600 million people watched the moon landing live, approximately 1/6 the worlds population at the time. ever since that day think about how many people on the planet has seen at least pictures of the event. unfortunately many probably will not remember the names but at least seen the event. Music on the other hand is generational and for the most part limited to the people that understand the language it is in. Springsteen does not transcend cultures and language barriers like a truly historic event. so i am guessing more people on the planet know the name Aldrin than Springsteen.

      • Sactowns#1

        Sinatra by a LOOOOOOOONG ways. Did you see his 100th bday celebration?! And the mans dead!

  • Trac

    Jeff, ALL women are dangerous. How do you not know this?

  • Trac

    So you finally admit that you’ve gone off the grid Jeff. No problem, after we kick Green Bays ass, all will be well again in the universe. He he.

    • DaBearsBlog

      I’ve had a very hard time getting excited for this season.

      • but certainly you’ve been getting excited for alex and kim and bud light and the occasional cayenne cookie

        • DaBearsBlog

          Well…of course

          • MB30SD

            I don’t even know you anymore

      • Irish Sweetness

        After about one quarter of Green Bay’s train derailing and a storm of Bears’ sacks, it will get a whole lot rosier … until we get beaten the week after. I don’t care. 1-5 is acceptable if the 1 is Green Bay.

      • AlbertInTucson

        I hear THAT.

  • Trac

    Yonny, I’m coming for you. Hee hee.

    • Waffle

      Haha, bring it Trac. With Carr and bortles how can I be stopped?

      • Trac

        With Kap and Fitz. Hahaha.

      • Offer still stands.
        I started Brady. He went off for 30.
        I have pretty good QBs.

        Carry on.

  • The GP

    Dear Jared Allen –

    Remember when SI would do profiles of you, sitting up in a tree for hours on end – combing your mullet with your bow and arrow, waiting for a deer to go by? Halcyon days, eh?

    Those days are gone. You haven’t been spoken about by the national football press in a long time, and even the Chicago press hasn’t even bothered to interview you. When David Haugh walks past your locker like you aren’t there, does it sting? Does it bother you that you vastly underplay your contract?

    You have all the excuses you need this year: new scheme, 3-4, something you’ve never done before. For some unfathomable reason, Fangio is going to start you. I think that may be a front office thing. Because if you don’t show up, your legacy as a speed turf 4-3 rusher goes into the dustbin of history with also-ran edge rushers that had a couple of good years and that’s it. You can go stand over in the corner at the NFL alumni partner with Simeon Rice and at least he has a Super Bowl ring.

    Don’t like this outcome? DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. Here’s your chance.

    Signed,
    Bear fandom

    • MB30SD

      Nicely written. Boom!

    • Irish Sweetness

      Dude, he’ll get benched in a second if Fox sniffs underachievement. OLBs we have. In goes Sam Acho / Willie Young … and we get younger to boot. Everyone rushes the passer in this D.

    • BearDown100393

      His time and effort might be better spent building homes now. We’ll see.

    • SC Dave

      Awesome, and 202 blog points for halcyon.

    • Like Samson, his powers vanished once he snipped his Mullet.

      Allen needs to grow it back.

  • Irish Sweetness

    Ah,Toll Trolls. Thanks for the find, Jefe !

    Northern Ireland is without doubt the best place in the world to hear a pronunciation of the word ‘situation’.

    Whataboutchkiddo? Story? Awk .. that’s kyat.

    • Scharfinator

      In relation to troll tolls and boy’s souls….

  • MB30SD

    bet you pit picks up nick novak, the surprisingly cut ringer kicker of the chargers…. if they (or someone else) hasn’t already.

    • willbest

      yeah headsets didn’t lose them that game. Not hitting a pair of relatively easy FGs is what cost them.

  • MB30SD

    I would recommend that the pats stop cheating now or that shit is going to get even bigger: http://espn.go.com/video/clip?id=espn:13628324

    • Irish Sweetness

      Tomlin : Big Ben this is tranquility base … do you copy?
      (static)
      Big Ben this Mike … do you copy … over …
      (hears Belichik in his headset)
      Belichik : Yeah, i can’t believe we got away with that shit … this is fun …
      Tomlin : Hello ?
      Brady : Yeah, can’t wait to see the Justice down at the Lodge … I owe him a beer …. so, what .. Edelman again ?
      Belichik : Yeah fukkit, send him on the fade this time …
      Brady : Kewl
      Tomlin : What ?

    • SC Dave

      It has been proven beyond a doubt that the Cheatriots will be allowed to cheat without restriction or consequence.

      • Scharfinator

        “For years, opposing teams have complained of headset problems in Gillette Stadium.”

    • BearDown100393

      Tomlin should have went full Bat*21 mode.

      • willbest

        Tomlin? You mean the guy that “accidentally” stands on the field saving his D from giving up a big play TD?

        • BearDown100393

          Landmine trip wire

    • The GP

      Best part last night:

      Massholes chanting:
      “Where is Roger? Where is Roger?” As the game was winding down

    • Huge Bear’s Penis

      I understand their can be glitches in a system, but this is 2015 we have been using radio communication devices for like 100 years. You would think that would have it figured out. From the sound of it the NFL is dealing with a total of 6 different frequencies for the teams. 2 for coach to coach transmissions and 4 to coach to player(2 offense and 2 defense). Doesn’t NASCAR utilize 30+ frequencies during their races and never hear of issues about it. (not a NASCAR fan but i know plenty so if their were issues they would bitch, since they seem to bitch about everything). Next there has to be an FCC issue if broadcasts are bleeding over into other frequencies.

      So WTF!!! the NFL has been using this type of communication for years, and they can’t get it right. I think if a specific stadium has issues they should be severely FINED unless they can prove it is outside their control, then they need to get the FCC involved.. none of this $25K shit i am talking Millions. Get the shit straight or pay out the ass. i would bet my right testicle that shit would be corrected pretty quickly if the fines were big enough.

      • SC Dave

        Nothing “went wrong” – it went exactly the way the Cheatriots planned.

      • SC Dave

        Let the FCC set the fines and I imagine they’d be plenty high enough.

  • MB30SD

    my dad sent me this. You should check it out, the speaker is interesting and obviously very intelligent and spiritual: http://www.ted.com/talks/bj_miller_what_really_matters_at_the_end_of_life?utm_source=newsletter_daily&utm_campaign=daily&utm_medium=email&utm_content=image__2015-09-10#

    • Irish Sweetness

      Oh dear, I’ll have to watch this later on when no one’s looking. Never got to see my old man in care. Mixed feelings about that. Getting to say goodbye in person, versus not having the memories of seeing your icon of strength in such a way. Thx for posting that.

      • MB30SD

        welcome maing.

        I was in africa last month for my mom’s passing. Got to sit and hold her hand and tell her everything I wanted for almost 5 days. on the last day, I’d been sitting with her holding her hand for 4 hours… we knew it was close, I got up to pee and take a quick break for literally 3 minutes and she chose that sliver of time to go. She didn’t want me to be there I guess, but that’s the way she was, taking care of her sons even with her last act.

        Knowing she could feel me there and hopefully hear everything I had to say made seeing her like that worth it… I think. I choose to believe that she could hear and feel everything in those last days. I hope you’re at peace with what happened with your dad.

        • beninnorcal

          Sorry for your loss, MB. Glad you got to be there with her one last time though.

          • MB30SD

            thanks ben. Appreciate it my brother.

          • CanadaBear

            Great stuff MB. Of course, I’m sorry about your mom passing but what a great way to part.

          • MB30SD

            Thanks canada

        • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

          Love ya, brother.

          • MB30SD

            me too maings

        • Trac

          Powerful my friend. Yes, family is irreplaceable but the memories we get to keep forever.

        • MikeBrownhadaPosse

          sorry to hear about your mom, MB – but glad you got to be there. We will catch up this year over some grub and beer, just don’t know when.

        • Irish Sweetness

          Oh wow, sorry to hear that. Moms are harder to lose methinks. No one will ever love you like your mother or mean so much. I was happy for dad when he passed, he’d been in pain for a long time, and chemo and radio just make you feel sick and tired all the time.

          “The seed in your heart shall blossom…”

          • SC Dave

            My mom is still around. My children’s mom isn’t. Something not right about that.

        • SC Dave

          Awesome, MB. I’m so glad you got to do that.

          I stayed in bed with Laurie for three days to the end. Not sure how much of the talking and singing she heard, but I want to believe all of it. Or at least to the point it started to piss her off. 🙂

          I am sorry about the pain and loss part, brother. But you did right by mama, and you both will always know it.

          • MB30SD

            Thanks dave, appreciate it my brother. Glad you got that as well. You’re a good man.

        • RenoBear

          Sorry to hear that maing. Know that she did, in fact, hear everything you told her. I remember talking to my dad while he was in ICU drifting in and out of consciousness fighting for his life after a car accident which claimed his firstborn daughter and my oldest sisters life. Shockingly, he does remember my presence, through the drugs and pain. So I know your mom probably did even more than that, like you said, protecting her son to the end. Peace be with her now

          • MB30SD

            Thank you reno.

      • Big Mike

        Personally, I wish I had never seen my dad in the shape he was in before he died. I did it for him. It took me years to push the images of him in his prime up to the front of my brain. If it provided him some comfort that I was there, than it was worth it. For me it was heavy..

  • wreckinball

    The original ESPN Primetime was great!
    Watched it every week

  • Harold Bryant

    Love the finl score. That is from days of old.

  • I think the Bears stuff the shit out of Lacy and limit him to a hard earned 75 yards on the ground. Either Shea or Eddie will be concussed, and A-Rodge will throw for possibly 5 TDs.

    • MB30SD

      Optimistic outlook!

    • Irish Sweetness

      No way A-Rod gets the time to rip us apart. No more Lovie Cover-2 show-blitz-but-never-blitz packages.

      Rodgers is going down. This is a new team, and we do pass-rushing and running the football.

      • if GB’s OL is fully healthy, Chicago D is really going to struggle getting to Rodgers IMO

  • MB30SD

    this is a good read. Well written by an intelligent guy: http://www.si.com/cauldron/2015/09/10/jameel-mcclain-cut-nfl

  • MB30SD
  • MB30SD

    Blackhawks cross sell of the day: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzCZBXDzfiE

  • MB30SD
  • Big Mike

    Jeff, you should write less in the off season. Not because what you write is awful, but because the stuff you right during the season is so much better. Your story of how every game was like Christmas, and how the Bears need to earn back our passion is spot on. It’s not that they lost 11 games last year, it’s that they were shameful. Here’s an excerpt from a site, with a quote from Gase as he was interviewing for the Bears job.

    “Ryan Pace peered down from afar and noticed something entirely disconcerting. From a press box
    at Soldier Field, Pace scanned the home sideline and quickly diagnosed a Bears team that had come totally unraveled. He detected it in their body language, sensed it in the way coaches and players were interacting.

    Pick the adjective. Listless. Disconnected. Uninspired.

    Pace filed it away and knew he never wanted to oversee a team that came across as so obviously defeated. McCaskey requested an honest assessment of the Bears roster, a diagnosis of their biggest problems. And when Pace, in his humble yet assertive tone, recounted the dysfunction he had identified, it struck a chord with McCaskey. On defense, Pace told McCaskey, the Bears had become too passive. Emotionally, they seemed totally frayed. The checklist of problems continued, causing McCaskey to swallow hard. As it turned out, 5-11 looked as bad from the outside as it felt on the inside.”

    • BearDown100393

      But Pace should have seen’em at practice…..

    • TheBigCheesy

      Sounds like a pretty solid heart-to-heart between Pace and McCaskey. I wonder if that site also revisited the conversation both men had when they agreed to dress Ray McDonald in their colors.

      • MB30SD

        my god man… will you just come over to the light side already!? sheeezuz.

      • Big Mike

        The Ray McDonald signing is a non-issue. He was innocent, but looking sketchy at the time they signed him. He was given a contract with a “boy scout” clause. As in be real good or your gone. He was bad, he was gone. Case closed. Showed good judgement in my book. Took a shot, set the rules, followed the rules.

        • MB30SD

          packers have a clean slate with dirty players and/or criminals though Mike, so there’s that.

          • Big Mike

            All teams have problems. How Gase handled it, should not be in question.
            http://nfl-arrests.pointafter.com/d/a/Green-Bay-Packers

          • Scharfinator

            Don’t be bringing those facts around here!

          • MikeBrownhadaPosse

            Haha, I didn’t see you referenced the same site that I went to.
            What a smug asshat is Cheesy.

          • Big Mike

            Dear Football Jesus, let us whoop the Packers, just once this year and let it be this home opener. They have grown smug in their ways, while we have been humbled.
            Thank you Big Mike

          • TheBigCheesy

            damn that cheesy!

        • TheBigCheesy

          December 2014: 49ers cut Ray McDonald following a sexual assault investigation, the tipping point after a string of domestic abuse incidents.

          March 2015: McCaskey publicly endorses the Bears signing of McDonald after getting a vote of confidence from the player’s parents (!!!). The Bears are convinced of two things: #1. McDonald is actually innocent of previous charges (or at least more so than the reports would have you believe) #2. McDonald will be able to avoid these situations in the future.

          May 2015: McDonald charged with domestic abuse and child endangerment. Bears cut him before he even sees the field. Bears lose bet on #2.

          August 2015: The December investigation produces a rape charge. Bears lose bet on #1.

          It wasn’t the end of the world. But it wasn’t a “non-issue”. The Bears were embarrassed (McCaskey all but admitted that). And they definitely didn’t show “good judgement”

          • RenoBear

            Good lord, you packer fans are so smug and self absorbed like your team is full of saints and is everything that is ‘right’ about football… What a colossal bunch of self righteous douchebags, by and large

          • TheBigCheesy

            Obviously all NFL teams, including the Packers, have players with a criminal history, and they accept that. That’s not my point. I was making fun of the article for romanticizing the conversation between Pace and McCaskey. I thought it was interesting because in March, George McCaskey romanticized the Ray McDonald signing process when he talked about his conversations with pace, ray, and Ray’s parents. and then it spectacularly blew up in his face.

            A further point…… if you can’t see the difference between the Ray McDonald saga, and these other players with their drug suspensions, then you haven’t appropriately taken the temperature of the current climate.

          • CanadaBear

            The Fudgies had a WR that raped his aunt. They also had a TE that had a thing for underage girls or was it just babysitters? Get off your moral high horse. Every team has some turds in their past.

          • SC Dave

            Charles Martin. ’nuff said.

          • MikeBrownhadaPosse

            Andrew Quarless
            Jarrett Bush
            Letroy Guion
            Datone Jones
            And that’s just this year.

          • TheBigCheesy

            “And that’s just this year”.

            True. But you could also say: “That’s over the last 4 years”

            But again….not my point.

          • Big Mike

            Yes in fact it was good football judgement. He had still not been found guilty and 2 so what if they thought he could stay out of trouble. If he did, they win. If they didn’t they cut him. Not bad judgement at all. I’d take that deal 10 out of 10 times.

          • TheBigCheesy

            You’re ignoring the public relations consequences. NFL teams are extremely sensitive about domestic abuse incidents now more than ever, unsurprisingly. The guy was currently under investigation for sexual assault. They signed him. It turned into a rape charge. Rape. They either got some terrible intel, or they just flat out didn’t do their homework. McCaskey elected to talk to McDonald’s parents instead of McDonald’s accuser. And he even admitted he did that because he was concerned about bias from the accuser. If you bet on McDonald in that situation, and you say what he said in March, you better be fucking sure of your self.

          • Big Mike

            I don’t care about that one bit. So what? Still not bad judgement. If they had bad intel, or if they didn’t care, so what. They had an out. Mess up, you’re gone. My point is, it is not a bad reflection on Gase at all.

          • TheBigCheesy

            Except it’s not just that he squandered his second chance (actually, it was more like his 4th chance).

            It’s that they signed him AFTER he raped someone. They didn’t know it was rape, but they knew there was a sexual assault investigation. You HAVE to be confident nothing serious is going to come out from that if you sign the guy.

            It was actually better for the Bears that McDonald fucked up in May so they could cut him. If he was still on the team when the rape charge came out, they would have been stuck eating a giant shit sandwich.

    • DaBearsBlog

      Mike, I think you’re onto something….(I’m trying to phase myself out of the off-season. Not as easy as you’d think.)

      • Big Mike

        I’d argue you could do the same number of posts. Stay active until a week after the Super Bowl. Increase the number of articles surrounding free agency. Maybe one a day starting a week before and going a few days after the big signings. Then about two weeks before the draft. Stick around for another week. Do a few articles around the schedule coming out. Then shut it down, until training camp. Not even OTAs or the voluntary workouts and definitely not the dead space in time after OTAs before camp. That’s when all the nonsense breaks out. Take a look at your articles from that dead period. (blah) Nothing to write about. Lots of people writing about what other people are writing about, trying to wring a headline out of nothing.

        Just my thoughts.

        • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

          Have to disagree Mike. New content even if not Pulitzer worthy, is better than no content. Keeps da blog fresh. Plus one can hardly appreciate the good content without the occasional blah content.

          • Big Mike

            No that’s not true. There’s a reason it’s called the OFF season. Not even talking about being Pulitzer worthy, the articles are usually off topic and border on the Kardashianesque. Publishing to publish is what is ruining sports journalism. Having to say something everyday about anything, dilutes content.

            Think about it this way, (I’m not a musician, but I love music) I’ve heard oone of the difference between good and great musicians are the great musicians ability to “play the silence”.

          • Trac

            I think what doc is saying is that if the music stopped for 6 months, he’d prefer to listen to Yoko Ono’s greatest hits instead of not listening to any music at all. Hee hee.

          • Big Mike

            I’ll take silence.

          • Trac

            Hahaha. Yes, right with you on that one.

          • Scharfinator

            A very Brave New World take on sports journalism.

            It’s really our culture as a whole – sports is dragged along for the ride.

          • Big Mike

            And I’d like it to not be.

          • Scharfinator

            No kidding.

      • Trac

        Would you still feel that way if the Bears turn into a contender?

  • “Rodgers is brilliant at isolating a weakness in the secondary and exploiting it.”

    He has a lot more than 1 to pick from in Chicago. I count 5 in a nickel look.

    1) The aging veteran who might not be able to get it done anymore (Rolle).

    2) The rookie making his first NFL appearance (Amos).

    3) The 2nd year player who was abused the last half of his rookie season and looked awful in the preseason (Fuller).

    4) The special teams veteran making his first appearance as a starting nickelback in the NFL (McManis).

    5) The journeyman veteran who’s a borderline starter at best and has been hurt all preseason (Ball).

    • willbest

      Yeah but Shea is still wearing a Bears uniform

      • MB30SD

        not for long.

        • SC Dave

          We shall see.

          • MB30SD

            Indeeeeed we shall dave

  • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

    The Christmas morning analogy is right on, Blogfather. Which is how I usually feel this week. But now, I feel like the kid who’s dad just got fired and knows that Christmas morning will be a shadow of it’s usual self. A good poor kid will embrace the family/cameraderie aspect of Christmas, and that’s just what I intend to do. But it feels like a somber Christmas eve.

    • MB30SD

    • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

      Da Coach’s Mustache just gave me a thumbs up. Why not post Mustache? Seems all the old regs are coming back to da blog. Now,

      Where is Crown?!?!?!

      • Scharfinator

        It’s a max endodus? (Like a reverse of exodus)

      • Irish Sweetness

        Getting a BJ probably.

    • DaBearsBlog

      “But now, I feel like the kid who’s dad just got fired and knows that Christmas morning will be a shadow of it’s usual self.”

      I wish I’d written that sentence.

      • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

        A writer taking lessons from a mathematician about writing. And, I find out today that my debt situation has dramatically improved! Plus, nobody I know got killed in South Central L.A.. I have to say….today was a good day.

        • Ososfan

          This guy right here! Hahaha Doc you’re e a legend!

      • Irish Sweetness

        Would you have corrected the grammatical error though, to wit, the incorrect spelling of the possessive pronoun “its” ?

        [IRISH! NO!}

        I’M AN ENGLISH TEACHER !!!!

      • beninnorcal

        Trestman was your dad? Couldn’t resist that one.

    • Waffle

      then get ready because Uncle Waffle is coming over with Egg Nog spiked with shitty Christian Brothers Brandy and is going to get all inappropriate touchy. That should brighten up the night!

  • Waffle

    You boys need this right now. Watch the whole thing and reflect on your pussiness. (in true American capitalist fashion you’ll need to watch a brief advertisement)

    • RenoBear

      Damn I love that movie… And still miss john Belushi

  • Waffle

    I’ve done a thorough analysis of this upcoming game and feel confident that it’s going to be a dogfight. Will Sutton was on the radio the other day and was talking about the swagger that McPhee has brought to the defensive unit. Like they don’t want to let him down. Allen has that same pride so he may be old as balls but I feel like he’s going to go down swinging. Lamar Houston has looked fast and strong as hell so even though he’s clown for what he did I think he is going to bring the pain this year.
    I’m not going to sit here and believe that the Packers are going to fucking roll our team. the don’t have Nelson like we don’t have Alshon and Randall Cobb is a fucking dead man. That motherfucker won’t make it out of the game in one piece. Fuller is going to fuck with that guy all day long.
    Cobb is a deadman
    Lacy Dead
    Rodgers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Deadddddddddddd!!!!!
    Fucking dead. No matter what happens there will be blood and concussive hits.

    • TheBigCheesy

      Ladies and Gentlemen,

      Johnny Waffle Chicago.

      • Waffle

        JANNNNNNIIIIIIIISSSSSSS!!!!!
        also dead…

    • Big Mike

      Waffle what’s with all the references to “balls”. “old as balls”, “sucked balls” LMAO

      • Waffle

        haha, It’s one of my favorite sayings

  • TheBigCheesy

    RE: Ray McDonald

    “Glad Chicago didn’t get Aldon Smith. Not in position to be taking risks like that right now. Need to establish locker room culture first.”

    – The one and only Johnathan Wood

    My sentiments exactly. No need to be taking THOSE risks at THIS time.

    • Big Mike

      Don’t care. Still not a bad reflection on Gase. He took a risk, he limited his downside. Cut the guy as promised. Never wore a Bears jersey for even a day. He looked at Aldon Smith I’m sure and had a different take on that guy. Good judgement. Case by case.

      • TheBigCheesy

        “Case by Case”

        Gase = Pace?

        Agree to disagree.

        _(ツ)_/¯

      • the only way Chicago looked bad in that is when they bragged about doing their homework (which they hadn’t, because he was later charged with something that had happened before they signed him) and victim shamed the poor woman McDonald had abused/raped.

        That was bad. They handled it wrong with their public comments.

        • Big Mike

          I think the Bears handled it as well as you could. They took a risk. People aren’t all bad, or all good. Fangio saw the good in McDonald. He vouched for him and McDonald let everyone down. True character of that man is very bad. But to lay it out as some systemic flaw in judgement is bullshit.

          • it’s not THAT they signed him, it’s the comments that McCaskey made at the time of the signing that rankled me (and many others).

          • Big Mike

            Not an indictment of the GM. which is what the original comment from cheesy was blabbering on about.

  • Irish Sweetness

    No depth chart up on the site. Fox playing it close at right tackle?

    Who got the nod?

    I vote Tayo.

    • Big Mike

      All accounts point to Long playing right tackle. Cutler more or less confirmed it, saying “he’ll be alright over there”

      • Irish Sweetness

        Ducasse at RG ? Tayo at RG?

        • Big Mike

          Nobody is saying.

        • TheBigCheesy

          LT – Chris Williams
          LG – Chilo Rachal
          C – Gabe Carimi’s kneecap
          RG – Frank Omiyale
          RT – JaaaaaaaaaaaaaMarcus!

          • SC Dave

            Now those were the days!

        • Most likely Ducasse.
          If Fox has any balls, he’d plug in Tayo right away (or maybe even Grassu). Might as well begin the new era of Oline.

    • Tayo might not be on the PS, but he won’t be on the active roster.

      • Irish Sweetness

        He’s on the roster – #73. Can’t miss him out there.

        • they only dress 46 out of the 53 on game day. Typically only 7 of the 9 OL on the roster, since the backups there don’t help on ST.

          Dollars to doughnuts Tayo will be one of the 2 who doesn’t dress.

          • Irish Sweetness

            It appears that he won’t be, damn.

  • The GP
  • AlbertInTucson

    I fear the Bears new defense will look as confused as the Steelers’ did last night.

    • Big Mike

      Very possible. But only giving up 28 wouldn’t be the worst outcome you could think of for the Bears.

      • Scharfinator

        Especially when we score 35!

    • Irish Sweetness

      Why? PIT have no corners. We have corners, we have a pass-rush, we don’t have 37 year old LBs … we’re going to kick ass on defense Sunday, and if Jay doesn’t fuck up, we’ll kick ass on offense.

      I hope we go up two or three TDS early and we can just sit back and enjoy seeing the divisional power shift as it’s happening. Rodgers stats against the Bears are irrelevant now – this is a different organization

      1-0.

      Then, onto the Cardinals ….

      (having said all that, if we lose to the Packers, we could go 0-6, which is not a bad thing when it comes to the draft)

      • Waffle

        my buddy threw down 2,000 on the Packers to win straight up. That’s putting your money where your mouth is. He had just talked a good game until that point. That bet confirmed for me that he is an insane degenerate gambler, and one of the biggest packer fans in Chicago.

        I will be giddy when he loses it.

  • Trac

    It’s time for my prediction boys and girls.

    Bears 5
    Cheese 4.

    • NewBearInTown

      Ironic because the offensive line is one of the strengths of the team right now and you’re predicting two safeties.

      • AlbertInTucson

        I’ll believe that O-Line is a strength when I SEE it.

        Right now it’s just all talk.

        Talk like “Who’s playin’ right tackle” and “How hurt is Bushrod.”

        • TheBigCheesy

          You didn’t see it last year?

          • Last year we had Ole Man Garza by the Sea at OC, and Slauson inj.

            Not to mention the shit-bag on fire that was Trestman/Kromer.

            This yr is much different.

      • Trac

        What are you talking about? Rogers will hit a bases loaded double in the first and a lead off HR in the bottom of the 9th. He he.

      • how is it a strength? They have 0 NFL OT on the roster right now (maybe 1 if Long pans out there).

        • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

          And he’s listed at guard on the depth chart.

        • TheBigCheesy

          Bushrod is an NFL OT….he might be banged up but he’s on the roster, and he’s healthy enough to play. Kyle Long is the 2nd best player on the team perhaps. Slauson is pretty good, too. Really they just don’t have a right tackle.

          I’d consider O-line a modest relative strength. There are greater concerns at QB, WR, CB, S, LB.

          The secondary is pretty stinky. They don’t have very many NFL DBs.

          • Irish Sweetness

            We have a right tackle that can play, and he’s 350lbs. They just haven’t realised yet.

          • OL is absolutely a bigger concern than QB. They have an adequate QB, and have yet to show the same with OL.

        • Irish Sweetness

          It’s a strength because we were the second/third best rushing team in the NFL over 4 weeks of pre-season.

          Now if somebody says that’s “meaningless” ….

          • their 1st string O couldn’t run the ball at all. Their 2nd/3rd string ran it well against other 2nd/3rd strings.

            Has zero bearing on the regular season.

    • AlbertInTucson

      And that 2nd Packer Safety is just to run out the clock?

  • AlbertInTucson

    “DaBearsBlog @dabearsblog
    These people in FanDuel commercials act like none of us have ever heard of gambling before. Like they’ve discovered a new portal to sports.”

    But Blogfather, it’s Fantasy Football, not “GAMBLING”!

    That’s why IT is legal and on line sports betting isn’t.

    Or so I’m TOLD.

    • except online sports betting IS legal. The possibly illegal part is the site themselves-depends on where they’re registered-but it’s legal for users.

      At least that’s how I understand it.

      • AlbertInTucson

        I don’t THINK so, JW.

        IF on line sports betting were legal, we’d be INUNDATED with TV/Radio/Internet Ads for betting sites the same way we are bombarded with ads for Draft Kings and Fan Duel.

        I don’t see the betting sites ads.

    • Irish Sweetness

      I’ve always found it amusing that you’re not allowed to bet your own money in the “land of the free”.

      • Trac

        We are, it’s called the stock market. Ah but that’s a lesson for the off season.

        • Irish Sweetness

          Ah, Ronald Reagan, he opened the gates to Hades …

  • NewBearInTown

    Things I’d like to see on Sunday:

    1. Bears win. Until the game is over, I always see this as a possibility – especially week 1.
    2. Defense scores a touchdown. Turnover TDs were the single most exhilarating play to see when I became a Bears fan (during the Lovie era). I’d love to see Fangio bring back the tradition.
    3. Somebody gets me excited. I want at least one player on the team to play way beyond expectations and get me excited to see him lead the team for the next 15. Win or lose, seeing individual players succeed is still great.
    4. Nobody quits. Win or lose, the team should show up hungry and play for all 60 minutes. That’s why we fired Trestman, that’s why we hired Fox.

    • SC Dave

      3. Mariani! The most exciting player since Gale Sayers was Devin Hester. And in some ways, Hester was better because you actually EXPECTED him to run any kick back for a TD. The craziest thing I’ve ever seen in football.

  • AlbertInTucson

    “Johnathan Wood @Johnathan_Wood1
    Glad Chicago didn’t get Aldon Smith. Not in position to be taking risks like that right now. Need to establish locker room culture first.”

    After McDonald, Smith was off-limits to the Bears. They’d have been BARBEQUED for going anywheres NEAR him.

  • IFFFF Long does excel at RT, and IFFFF Bushrod is not as inj and plays his usual competent self, then that will make me VERY optimistic about the future.

    For one, it’ll make me feel much better about the Long pick. True, getting a PB anything in the 1st is usually a good return, but OGs are much easier to get.

    The Lion’s got Warford like in the 4rth, and that is not atypical.

    Long, unlike Fluker who many loved at RT, is more athletic an with better feet. Fluker is now a pure OG, while Long is moving out. Many scouts even projected Long to eventually move to LT, which would be GREAT value and an Emery home-run.

    If Montgemary is here to stay at C, then both Tayo and Grassu can eventually start at OG (both totally diff game).

    I’d personally prefer Tayo as a more power-run team, while Grassu claims that OG-OC swing role.

    And who knows, maybe Leno learns under new coaching and becomes a reliable swing OT.

    This would mean we can use the draft, esp the 1st round, to address much needed playmakers on the defensive side of the ball, or maybe even use it to land a franchise QB.

    Bear down, biatches!

    • Bushrod is on the wrong side of 30, and lingering back problems for 300+ pound dudes is typically not a good sign.

      Even if Long pans out at OT, they’ll likely need another one next year.

      • Yes, back problems never truly go away, but drafting future LT as of late has been a very perilous venture. We need to look no further than up north and Kalil may or may not be a bust after this year. He was almost a consesus “lock”. Same goes for that guy the Chiefs and Falcons drafted.

        Seems like there’s a huge bust rate for those LTs in the draft.

        If anything, I’d feel much more comfortable paying in FA for one like we did with Bushrod.

        A serviceable LT who fits Gase’s scheme.

        The dream of course is Long or even Leno panning out, but that’s only a dream.

        • AlbertInTucson

          Look around the league. The Bears are not the only team whiffing when drafting offensive linemen.

        • Irish Sweetness

          Tayo might pan out (he will based on what we’ve already seen), but can you polish a turd like Leno?

    • Trac

      Moving Long to LT at any time will be a huge risk imo. Much rather trade for, draft a LT.

    • willbest

      I would be less surprised that Shea is on the roster next year than Bushrod. I say that because it wouldn’t have cost them much to get rid of Shea this year and he did win a starting job. But also because unless he lights it up, he can be had for a league min deal and we have far more pressing issues than ILB. Like QB, LT, RG or RT, FS, SS, CB, TE, and probably DE, and of course you are always on the lookout for an OLB and WR

      • The problem is that franchise LTs are almost as rare as franchise QBs. To parahprase Glithcy, there’s no LT tree.

        Though true, if Bushrod bombs this season, that will be a high priority, but it’ll be difficult to land one. Heck, we can’t even land a RT, much less LT.

        And as I wrote above/below, the LTs coming out of the draft have been disappointments.

        We better all hope Bushrod can deal with his health.

        • Big Mike

          Not as concerned about this year, but ideally Long grows into the RT spot and gets near pro bowl form at RT. Than he puts in a full offseason at LT. For a physically gifted guy like Long, it is much harder to move from RT to LT than it is to from RG to RT. The hard switch from Guard to Tackle is when the guy isn’t athletic enough. If you’ve got that covered, switching all your footwork, hand placement and even adjusting your eyes and brain to the other side is difficult.

          Like trying to golf lefthanded for a righty, but x 10

          • T’Challa

            Long is left handed, so I think the possible transition LT should be easier than most. Long also played LG in college, albeit a short period of time, which should have him accustomed to lining up with his left hand in the dirt.

        • T’Challa

          In the system that Bushrod played where he made it to Pro Bowls placed an emphasis on strong OG play and not OT play. Their OGs in New Orleans (Nicks and Evans) were a lot better than their OT. That system was brought to Chicago with Kromer where Long, being our best OL, was a OG. Now that there is a different system in place, I don’t expect a lot out of Bushrod. He does not have great athleticism. At this point in his career Bushrod might be better as a RT.

    • DaBearsBlog

      Long was a great pick. He could be a 10 year starter at guard. Question now is does he have more.

      • Trac

        We need 2 picks like him a year.

        • Big Mike

          Maybe only 1, if you count White as a first rounder next year, which is effectively what he has become.

      • T’Challa

        I have always thought Long would be better at OT. Although it would be hard for Long to be a Pro Bowl OT year one, which he did at OG, he seems to have the perfect skill set to be a very good to great OT. I can foresee him being the Bears LT in a year or two. Business wise, it would be cheaper to resign Long as a OG as oppose to a OT. That could be a factor.

    • Johnnywad

      I don’t play fantasy football. But if I did my team name would be “My Bushrod Hurts”.

    • Big Mike

      Montgomery is on the tail end of his career. 3 yrs before he goes all Garza. The Grassu kid is going to be a beast. He needs to get NFL strong and he seems to have the attitude and approach to put in the work. Moving any of the “failed” tackles to guard will rejuvenate those guys (see Lance Louis).

  • The GP

    A Stanford grad wrote an app that is little more than a scoreboard for all Fantasy sites, so if you have teams at CBSSports, ESPN, Yahoo, NFL.com – then you can watch all the team’s scores in real time from the app on your pad or phone.

    He got bought out for $11M.

    Dammit. Time to get coding.

    • willbest

      I had the idea for Netflix back in 1999 when I was developing a video streaming program as part of a fellowship. I knew that on demand streaming video would kill Blockbuster’s business model if high speed internet were ever widely available, but at the time it didn’t exist for residential use outside some small scale markets. Never saw YouTube coming though. Would not have believed that so many people would have spent so much time generating content that some many other people would spend time watching.

  • Irish Sweetness

    Leno is the RT. FML. Just …. FUCK.

    http://www.chicagobears.com/team/depth-chart.html

    • Trac

      Zack Miller is listed as FB not TE.

    • Waffle

      Long RT, Ducasse at RG while Omamaheh learns the RG position in this offense.

      Bears shock world on Sunday. You and I shrug and collect our winnings.

  • Trac

    Justin Gilbert is as much of a disappointment behind the steering wheel as he is on the football field. I had this guy pegged as a bad prospect before the draft. So glad we didn’t take him a few years back.

    http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2015/09/11/report-justin-gilbert-involved-in-road-rage-incident/

    We might be able to pick him up on the cheap if he gets cut. Not sure if he’d be worth the effort though.

  • AlbertInTucson

    Blackhawks traded away Kris Versteeg. Always liked him.

    • Waffle

      was sad to see that but getting rid of Versteeg and Nordstrom allows them to keep Kruger who is one of the best penalty killers in the league. It’s huge that they were able to keep him.

  • Big Mike

    Ed O’Bradovich sums it up. No need to talk about it anymore.

    “If they lose two, three, four games in a row, I don’t think you’ll see
    the coaches running for the woods,” he said. “The coaching staff is
    going to make these kids stand up like men and if they have to take a
    beating, they’ll take a beating going down. They’ll be proud to be a
    Chicago Bear.”

    • The GP

      Go Ed.

    • Trac

      It’s amazing how much negative fallout from last year still lingers for so many people. Almost everyone to a person thinks the Bears have no shot this year.

      Its not that it’s totally unreasonable, it’s just so surprising to me that everyone’s thrown in the towel before the first game.

      • Big Mike

        Here’s my assessment of the Bears, as objectively as possible.
        Going into 2014 the national media, local media, analysts and quite a few people on this blog, had anointed the Bears as a SB dark horse contender. This was rationalized based on a two primary reasons 1) The defense only had to suck less and 2) the offense would get better. Neither of those happened. They went 5-11 and Trestman was exposed as being shit as a HC, his staff was exposed and the culture imploded. The fact that Football Players by and large need leadership. They need to be told what to do and when to do it. Some react by falling in line and being good soldiers, others react by playing me against the world. But never believe that both of those groups can excel without leadership. At no point were those Bears (going into the season) considered without talent.

        Going into 2015, the National Media has not done their homework. They discount the leadership issue almost entirely, and look at Fantasy Football stats and say the Bears ware without talent. What that really means is that the Bears have few “name brand” players. These are the guys whose reputations are often better than they are. I think the Bears have a handful of guys who are better than the name brand guys. Jenning is a perfect example. So was Tillman. Tillman makes a play, it’s national news and it goes on top of his exemplary career. Tillman misses a play, no bid deal. Now replace Tillman, with Fuller. That attitude snowballs and the sight you see is an empty bandwagon.

        Here is my opinion. This team will have heart and it has more talent than it is being given credit for. I also believe there is more depth than the Bears are given credit for.

        I also think the Bears will finish under 500, but collectively Bear nation (mouth breathers and SCORE dial in callers aside), will feel good about it. Because it will be a team that gets better as the year goes on and is competitive every week.

        So have I thrown in the towel? Absolutely not.

        Now putting objectivity away, I think we beat the Packers 24-14.

        • Trac

          I only start using logic after at least the 6th game. Hee hee.

          • Big Mike

            You’ll need it to be illogical for the first 6 games, because being 1-5 or 2-4 after 6 games is more likely than being 5-1 or 4-2. My prediction is 2-4, and being written off as a bad team. The team rebounds goes a strong 5-5 or even 6-4 to finish out the season and hope abounds.

          • willbest

            Of course if they are 5-1 after their first 6 people will be all “18-1 baby!”

          • Big Mike

            And they probably should be

          • Irish Sweetness

            I’m open to both possibilities. 1-5, or …. the defense hits high gear as does the offense … 4-2. It’ll take a few weeks for the texture of the teams to show. We won’t know how all these teams are going to play until they’ve played a few games.

            We showed the ability to be able to run he ball and to rush the passer. The arrow is pointed up right now and we’ll only get better next year.

      • Irish Sweetness

        Not me Trac. We destroy the Packers on Sunday. I mean Destroy.

  • The GP

    Even though the headsets ALWAYS affect the road team in New England, and even though the Steelers had it happen AGAIN – it was not deliberate.

    Just. Bad. Luck.

    http://espn.go.com/nfl/story/_/id/13633179/nfl-clears-new-england-patriots-headset-suspicion-game-vs-pittsburgh-steelers

    Steelers lost by a TD.

    #MarginofVictory

    • willbest

      Vegas approves.

  • The GP
  • The GP
  • a Message from Butch on the Precipice of a New Season

    Defeatism is unbecoming an American, and even more so for a Bears’ fan.

    Yes, you have plenty of reason for skepticism, or even measured pragmatism. And you would be right. It would be proper and safe to fall on the side of caution and impotent nubs.

    But this is not the time.

    This is a new beginning. A new chapter.. A reboot of a crappy, offensive, historically timid and clueless regime.

    A dawn is reborn.

    Is Pace foreals? Is Fox an albino Lovie? No one truly knows, but who cares!?

    It’s a new season.

    If the Japanese can resurrect themselves from the ashes of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, then we as Bear fans can like the phoenix, rise from the acrid ashes of the Trestman debacle.

    We’re not the Jags, or Bucs, or Lions.

    We’re the goddamn Bears. The Corleones of the NFL.

    We’ve been moping about like goddamn whiny bitches for the six months.

    Enough is enough.

    We don’t watch football to be skeptical or pragmatic, as if we’re filling out our taxes.

    We watch football to BELIEVE.

    We root for our team because it appeals to that martial, non-p.c., barbaric part in us all.

    Because for a few brief hours, we’re allowed to become men again before filing in line to cubicles, trafficked arteries, bullshit meetings.

    Hope is oblong. It doesn’t, nor should it, bounce the way it should.

    It’s unexpected, and sometimes bounces right into your hands.

    Seize it.

    And if you’re not ready for it, move aside for someone who is.

    So, this is a rallying cry for all the forlorn fans predicting losing records or pointing to shortcomings.

    Hey, that’s for the off-season. I’m guilty of that too.

    But the season is upon us. No time for that shit anymore. Time to crack open a tradewind, take a chug, and believe.

    Cuz nothing in this life ever worthwhile get’s done without irrational delusional belief.

    If we’re going down, at least go down cheering, not taking the lint out of your GAP cardigan.

    Join me in my collective delirium!

    Drink deep. Go Bears!

    #VadgerMuerto

    • Big Mike

      Kool aid consumed. Kyle Long jersey off the hook and laid out for battle.

      • Waffle

        Boys are about to do battle. Time to ante up like men. Win, lose, no matter. All that matters is pride.

        • Big Mike

          Exactly. Fight to the end. Getting whooped or not

        • Big Mike

          I was proud of them today. Receivers banged up, guys in new positions on the o-line. Rodgers throwing a perfect game. Not a bad showing. I’m calling out Kyle Fuller and Jared Allen for poor play.

    • More man boners to pump you up

      Sons of Bears!

      Don’t be a bum!

      • The GP

      • Huge Bear’s Penis

        unfortunately to many of are fans are more like this

    • Trac

      I’ve never seen such a miserable bunch in 5 years on the blog.

      • Huge Bear’s Penis

        i wish BillW would come back to cheer us all up with his optimistic outlook on all things Bears.

      • That’s why I felt like I needed to write a week 1 manifesto.

        If the Bears win, suddenly the talk will be about the Bears winning the division.

    • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

      Alright (sniff) I’m excited. Thanks for that!

      • Waffle

        Doc!!!!!!!!!!! RODGERS FUCKING DEAD!!!!!!!!!!!!

        • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

          Whose Rodgers? Oh you mean that guy with less than 17 hours to live? I concur. Muerto.

    • Huge Bear’s Penis

    • Waffle

      AAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Ososfan

      “Is Fox an albino Lovie?” Lmao! Bear Down, fellas let’s go! Pack: Muertos!

    • Shady

      Thank you, I needed that.

    • T’Challa

      After that speech, I’m ready to play!

  • Trac

    GP should be feeling good about the Wolverinz. They seem to be putting together a respectable win.

    • The GP

      Wrong OSU

      • Trac

        Are the Beavers no good?

        • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

          As a Beaver fan (and a Beavers fan) I can say they are the definition of perpetually average.

        • Johnnywad

          I can honestly say I’ve never met a beaver that wasn’t good.

  • Looking at the depth chart, our Dline looks solid to me.

    http://www.chicagobears.com/team/depth-chart.html

    DE Ego – doesn’t get my panties wet, but very curious to see how he holds up.
    DE Cornilus – does get my panties wet. He looked impressive in the PS. Has MAJOR upside.
    DE Jenkins – also surprised me with how good he looked in PS. He seemed to play with aggression and attitude, we need both (wasn’t he the one who fought this PS?)
    DE Sutton – another nice surprise. I all but written him off because of system, but impressed.

    NT – Goldman. Again, held the point while occupying blockers. If he can push the pocket, watch out.
    NT – Rat. Suspended, but nice to know he’ll be back.

    McPhee, Houston and Allen will also put their hand in the dirt, so IMO, that’s a pretty solid rotation and gives me confidence. How they’ll all respond to coaching, scheme and stress has yet to be determined, but I’m optimistic about this unit more than the LBs and Secondary.

    • The GP

      Washington rings that John Thierry bell. I want to see the nasty from the guy.

    • Irish Sweetness

      Don’t forget Williams when he comes back up. Agree that CornWash looked reinvigorated during PS.

  • Trac

    Acho out! Barrow in! Who the heck is this Barrow dude?

    http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2015/09/12/bears-release-sam-acho/

    • willbest

      Wonder what his illness is that has him slated to miss so much time he was expendable.

      • Waffle

        had to have a guy playing specials. can’t have a wasted spot. Mono is going around chicago so maybe he has that.

        • willbest

          Wasted spot okay, but there is room between 45 and 53.

    • Irish Sweetness

      That sucks. He was lighs out PS. But why are they promoting Barrow over Anderson?

      • Waffle

        because they play 2 different positions?

  • willbest

    Bears aren’t going to be drafting high enough to get Connor Cook

    • RenoBear

      This is true. Sure would be nice though

  • Waffle

    Okay, i’m a ton of beers in to a block party that i have to get back to but i wanted to check in and leave you all with this note:

    If i don’t check back in before tomorrow please remain confident in the boys. I don’t want to hear the kind of pussiness that i’ve heard from Jeff and others as we look to play our first game.

    Football is a crazy game and you’d be surprised what a little leadership and momentum can do for a group of guys that are already physically capable of playing ball at the highest levels. The past doesn’t mean shit. 2014 doesn’t mean shit. All that matters is that guys go out there tomorrow and play like it’s the last game they’re going to suit up for. If they do that they may win or lose but they’ll gain the respect of the fans and coaches. I for one believe that we are going to shock the world and i’d be shocked if we didn’t put forth a solid effort. It’s a new day.

    Bear Down. Rodgers Dead.

    • Ososfan

      Waffle for President!!!!!

    • DaMurph

      BEARSSSS!

    • Shady

      Love the Flesh Cannon, but with great power comes great respronsatrilitrance.

    • RenoBear

      This is what I’m talking about out here in Reno. I wanna watch games w fans like you, señor Waffle. BEAR the FUCK DOWN!!

      • TheBigCheesy

        There are no fans like waffle, there is only one waffle

        • Waffle

          apparently there are at least 11 fans like waffle.

        • It’s easy to root for a team with franchise QBs.

          It takes character to root for the Bears, and we were rewarded for our loyalty in 85, and we shall be again.

          And that is the inferiority complex that the Pack shall always suffer with.

          No matter what, they will always be the lil brother.

          If not, then you wouldn’t be here.

          #BEARS

          • TheBigCheesy

            Bears fans are great

  • Robert L. Wendt

    John Fox is a no nonsense coach. He has also put together a no nonsense coaching staff.
    Do not expect Jay Cutler to change. He will be the jerk that he has always been. John
    Fox and offensive coordinator Adam Gase will bench Jay Cutler, and give David Fales
    a look. John Fox works fast, and he along with Adam Gase will not put up with Jay Cutler,
    when he starts to play bad, and will not submit to them.

    • EnderWiggin

      Well, you are definitely not George R. Wendt.
      This has been the longest day of my life, and I log in to read this shit?!

      • Read below/above, Ender.

        Also, Artoo. MUERTO lol

        • EnderWiggin

          Haha! we need to go to sleep man… 9 more hours..

          • I’m drinking wild turkey. I was expecting a chick to come over and break me off some, but fuck it, I’ll settle for a Bears win 😉

            edit: hombre, muerto

          • EnderWiggin

            Wow…. Someone drunker than me on a Saturday night?
            Thumbs High Harry!

    • Johnnywad

      Did you hit your head today?

  • RenoBear

    I’m not going all future style on you guys, I don’t care what people say about Cutler, he gives us the best chance to win for the next year or two no doubt. There’s no one else randomly floating around that’s going to be better. And I can name 12-14 QB’s who I sure as hell wouldn’t want to have starting for our team. All that being said, adding that Connor Cook from Michigan State sure would look good in a Bears uniform. Got that done…. now nothing but hyper-focus on this Bears team right here right now. BEAR DOWN kill the Fudge and Vadgers MUERTO

  • beninnorcal

    ‘Twas the night before Christmas..’

    • EnderWiggin

      I’m not sure I can sleep…. Today took forever, how am I supposed to make it 9 more hours?!

      • beninnorcal

        There’s still a nice little sleep block between us and breakfast/game time.

        • beninnorcal

          Almost 1:30 here on the west coast, not sure where you’re at, Ender.
          Have a good night, bro, football is finally back.

          • EnderWiggin

            Myrtle Beach. Night man!

          • beninnorcal

            Have a good night.

        • EnderWiggin

          I’ll try, but it won’t be easy.

          • beninnorcal

            Agreed.

      • T’Challa

        Football is finally here. Got up super early! Game day ready.

  • T’Challa

    Three hours until game time!!!

© Da' Bears Blog