308 Comments

FrontRowTickets.com Game Preview: Bears Head to Downtrodden Detroit With .500 In Sight

| October 16th, 2015

dabearsblog banner

The Bears have a chance to enter their bye week at .500. That thought was unfathomable two weeks ago. Hell, it was unfathomable with six minutes remaining at Arrowhead Sunday. Nevertheless, here we are, daring to dream.

AN ACTUAL QUICK THOUGHT

Does anybody really know if the Bears are any good? Honestly, do you?

Sunday will tell us something. If the Bears are a better than average team they will go into Detroit and beat a Lions team on life support. They will embrace the opportunity to rescue what looked like a dying season by beating a team they are better than right now. Good teams beat the teams they should, unapologetically. This is one of those cases.

The Bears haven’t been in this situation. Point spread aside, many will expect them to win this week. How will they handle a bit of success? How will their quarterback handle the abundant praise (deserved) he’s received all week locally? It will be a fascinating game to watch.

THE GAME POEM

DETROIT.

Where once there was a factory

Now sits only stone

And a city once that changed the world

Sits quietly, alone

JIM CALDWELL’S CAREER TREND

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 1.47.52 PM

Chicago Bears Schedule

Brown Paper Bag Time

Someone named Chris Dobrowolski in a paper called the Traverse City Record-Eagle thinks it’s time for those in the greater Detroit area to diversify their portfolios:

If you’re looking at making a sound investment, it may be the perfect time to consider investing in large, brown paper bags.

Around the state of Michigan, specifically at Ford Field, you can bank on the demand to be sky high in the coming weeks.

After all, who among die-hard Detroit Lions fans will want to disclose their identity during a season that is effectively over before Halloween? Sunday’s 42-17 debacle against the Arizona Cardinals hammered home what the first four games of the year already proved — the Lions stink, and there should be no false hope for an epic, miraculous run toward a second straight playoff appearance after an inauspicious start to the year. It’s going to be hard to convince most who have seen this sad tale play out before that Detroit isn’t careening toward the No. 1 overall pick in next spring’s NFL draft

IRISH VIDEO OF THE WEEK

WATCH OUT FOR CALVIN JOHNSON

Sounds odd, doesn’t it, but Calvin Johnson is playing football like Calvin Johnson’s dad. Johnson’s long reception on the year is twenty-eight yards. Twenty-eight! This is one of the most dominant deep ball receivers in the history of the sport! Much of the issue is the play from the quarterback but a lot has been Johnson’s inability to get separation from even middle of the road cornerbacks.

Still, it doesn’t feel right. It still feels like Johnson is capable of a 13-catch, 228 yard, 2 touchdown performance. It doesn’t look that way but it feels this way.

THREE BEARS OF INTRIGUE

  • To this point, Tracy Porter has been lining up more than 75% of snaps with the opposing number one receiver. (The previous stat is completely made up.) The shocking part is how good he’s been. With the struggles along the Lions offensive line, Porter should not be tested deep too often but he will need to hold up on the intermediate routes and, perhaps most importantly, get Calvin Johnson to the ground after the catch.
  • Jay Cutler. When a team is on the ropes, knock em out. Adam Gase and Jay Cutler don’t want to slow play this defense. The Bears need to put up a quick score on the Lions and let the fans in Detroit turn on this organization. Cutler can’t wait until the second half of the fourth quarter to turn it on. He needs to be good from the opening whistle.
  • Call me crazy but I think Lamarr Houston is about to have a breakout game as a pass rusher. With the Lions all-but abandoning the run (see below) Houston should thrive being able to set his sights on Matthew Stafford. Bears know what they’ll get from Pernell McPhee. Can Houston match his intensity/production?

UNBELIEVABLE STATISTIC OF THE WEEK

The Lions are the worst rushing team in the league. And it’s by a borderline insane margin in a host of categories. (To see the table of statistic, CLICK HERE.) For instance:

  • The Lions average 2.8 yards per carry. The next-to-last team is Denver at 3.3 yards per carry. Half a yard. For context, half a yard is the gap between 6th in the league and 24th.
  • The Lions average 48.8 yards rushing per game. Miami is next at 69.3. The lowest per game rushing average in 2014 was 77.5. 2013? 77.9. 2012? 75.3. This is history being made.

GAME PREDICTION

Cutler delivers his first four-quarter knockout performance of the season.

Chicago Bears 30, Detroit Lions 20

Tagged: ,

  • Ronald Raes

    First!
    I’ve been enjoying these weekly poems. Your work I assume Jeff?

    • DaBearsBlog

      Yessir

      • SC Dave

        This week’s was particularly good, Jeff. Poignant.

  • Viva

    Well done on the over.

    • Scharfinator

      Yeah, I didn’t expect that result myself.

    • Sactowns#1

      On some last minute garbage time points. I swear these players gamble on the games or something.

  • Couldn’t agree more about jumping on them early. The only times Chicago won last year after week 5 (when they quit on the season) was when teams let them hang around.

    If you build a 2 score lead in the 1st half, the poorly coached team gives up, and the game is already won. Make it happen.

  • Bear Down in Tampa

    The Lions are even more imbalanced than we were last season and Jim Caldwell will only last 2 seasons like Trestman. You know it’s bad when you hire a coach and the opposing fanbase breathes a sigh of relief. Had they hired Whisenhunt, Jay Gruden, Mike Zimmer, hell even Lovie (the Cover 2 would have married well with the personnel they had for 2014) I think we would have been worried about their prospects. It’s amazing how hiring the right coach makes that much of a difference. Sometimes it’s painfully obvious (Arians in 2013) and GM’s still blow it. Caldwell was just riding Peyton’s coattails in IND and he somehow parlayed that into another HC gig after it was obvious that he was overmatched, if they lose this week they should just fire him (and Joe Lombardi) and let Teryl Austin stay on as Interim HC for the rest of the year.

  • Shady

    http://screengrabber.deadspin.com/that-is-utterly-incredible-stanford-razzle-dazzle-pl-1736876652

    “Shut it down, folks. You’re not going to see a more amazing college football play this season.

    Stanford quarterback Kevin Hogan found Francis Owusu after a reverse, which was neat enough. But Owusu’s catch—made in the end zone against the defender’s back—makes this something of the likes we’ve never seen before, and likely never will again.”

    • MB30SD

      Holy. fucking. shit.

      And my Bruins got absolutely fucking exposed. Sheesh, what happened to that train!?

    • wow. I heard Chandrick West makes those plays all the time in practice!

      • Scharfinator

        It’s important you practice well – so you can tell the media that once you lose.

        • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

          Ha!!!

      • Shady

        Bastardo.

    • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

      Wow

  • Irish Sweetness

    (14-6)

    Fkn Saints. Yet, onward Christian soldiers.

    Bears to win in 3 doubles : TEN, JAX, GB -10.

    As I have not made a bet this week that does not involve the Beloved winning, saving bets will be made and posted.

    None will involve the Detroit Lions winning.

    (Grudging nod to Rob Ryan btw. Dad’s playbook came out for that one.)

  • Trac

    Detroit!
    Where you don’t want to get a parking ticket
    Or have you car towed.

    Detroit!
    Where brick mansions still stand
    And the city owns that land.

    Detroit!
    Where the women hide their faces
    and most of the residents will soon come from other places.

    • MB30SD

      I like jeff’s more. Sorry boykie.

      I’m watching MY countrymen play a very staunch Wales team sat morning. I’m worried. The welch gents gave the wombats all they could handle. Still think we’ll pull it out thought. Amaaaaandla!!!

      …oh, and stafford dead.

      • DaBearsBlog

        Go Ireland!

        • MB30SD

          yeah, they should win. although argentia gave it to us in the WC run up.

          Gimme some love for my homieland Jeff.

          • Irish Sweetness

            Bastid!

        • The Ghost of Super Bowl XX

          Sorry Jeff, Argentina will beat Ireland. Goo Pumas!!!

          • MB30SD

            Ohhhhh, shit. there it is. Forgot you were from South America GSB

          • Irish Sweetness

            Money where your mouth is son ! They’re 13/8 if you fancy them.

        • Trac

          Does Ireland have a rugby team?

      • Trac

        I suggest watching Lion King with the chillins at least twice. That should make you feel a whole lot better.

        Hahsha

        • MB30SD

          you sir… are a traitor. Can I make a citizens arrest here for treason against another country?

          It’s like you’re rooting for the packers to win. smh.

          • Trac

            Hahahaha

            rolling on the ground. Lol

            I knew you’d like that.

          • MB30SD

            BASTARDO!!!

            I knew you’d like that. You’re welcome.

  • MB30SD

    couldn’t agree with BC more (I see you down there yos).

    I said from day one… Caldwell is the older, fatter version of my beloved lovie smith. Guy’s a useless fucking zombie.

    I pray that detroit does everything in their power to continue ‘lioning’ themselves by extend caldwell far into the future. guy is just… turrible.

    lions… dead.

    • 505 Bears

      He has a sweet mustache though

      • MB30SD

        true story

    • Bear Down in Tampa

      They could just have a cardboard cutout of Jim Caldwell on the sidelines and it would probably be just as effective a HC.

      • MB30SD

        great idea, let’s have them made up and sent to caldwell and lovie as xmas presents.

      • Scharfinator

        Can we get a version where they stare up at the Jumbo tron, lost in thought about what they had for lunch?

        • Bear Down in Tampa

          Yeah, and the straight ahead stare to nowhere. You can swap them out each quarter so that no one will be the wiser.

        • Joecashflow

          That would be another Mike Tice reference. Speaking of Tice did you see Cutler and him hug after the Raiders game? Strange bed fellows.

    • Big Mike

      Why do you have to hate on Lovie 🙁

      • MB30SD

        You know why Mike. You know.

        • Big Mike

          I guess I just remember the first half of the journey, more than the last half. I suffered watching the Bears of Wannstedt and Jauron.

          • MB30SD

            I get it, but he got lucky maings. Honestly, what you should think about when you think about lovie is the 2006 SB. We should have won that game.

            He is a turrible HC. Just…. turrible.

            Just zero discernible pattern of anything. lucky/unlucky, good/bad, smart/dumb… I mean, how the hell do you read his carrer trajectory (based on team wins as a HC)!?!?!

            http://www.pro-football-reference.com/coaches/SmitLo0.htm

            Here’s fox for comparison: http://www.pro-football-reference.com/coaches/FoxxJo0.htm

            He jumped around a bit at Carolina, but that was carolina. rough place to maintain a winning record.

          • Big Mike

            Maybe that’s where we differ. The HC is the architect of the culture. When I think of the 2006 Super Bowl I think of a few things. The highlight of the decade happened when Hester returned the opening kick. I think about how inept Grossman was, and I remember our safety fucking up. What I also think of was damn. we were in the S after winning 10 or 11 games in the last 2 years combined prior to Lovie coming to town.

            Just to be clear, I supported him getting the boot from Chicago. His inability to do anything offensively was turrible. I would have love to have played for a man like Lovie Smith.

            Fox, is a clear upgrade. He’s built winning programs repeatedly. But being a fan of Fox, doesn’t mean I’m not proud of what Lovie Smith did here.

          • Joecashflow

            Disagree. Anybody who makes Mike Tice an Offensive coordinator, has no right being a HC. He was a defensive coordinator at best, who rode Urlacher’s and Peanut’s coat tails as long as he could.

          • Huge Bear’s Penis

            YEAH,,,,,wait WHAT!!!!!

          • CanadaBear

            Only a Mike Tice would take an OC job with absolutely no job security. Most people figured Lovie was toast his last year.

          • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

            We lost that SB because he decided to stick with the game plan of rotating backs when Thomas Jones was gashing them on the ground. Cedric Benson and Lovies inflexibility lost us that game.

          • Big Mike

            There were a number of reasons. Grossman’s teeny tiny hands, the man crush Lovie had on Benson, vs the Jones, Daniel Manning falling down and blowing that coverage. Losing in the SB doesn’t make a coach a bad coach.

          • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

            No. And winning one doesn’t make you a great one. But you see how Bears fans treat Ditka. Lovie lost us a SB we should have won. He gets the reverse Ditka treatment, right or wrong.

          • Big Mike

            Applying the same criteria as has been used on this thread, Ditka wasn’t a good coach. He happened to have 8 or 9 All Pro players and a handful of Hall of Fame players. But he built the “culture” to expect winning. Where he had Lovie hands down, is he hired a coordinator on the unit he didn’t manage that was exceptional.

          • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

            Ah! Now I see the problem. We’re not talking about logic here. I’ve learned this lesson from talking with my wife. Some things are not about logic. To get a good answer, we’d need to ask a non Bears fan. We’re too emotionally involved to make a rational judgement. To Bears fans, he’s nothing more than a dick tease.
            I’m actually just arguing for the fun of it. I appreciate what he and Jerra did for the franchise, but as soon as I remember how he didn’t take us all the way, all i’m left with are blue balls. Big bold ornamental blue balls.

          • Big Mike

            There you have it. The first 1/2 of lovies tenure made us believe. But we never got the ring. We fired a 10-6 coach. Then we became historically bad

          • Scharfinator

            I don’t see a huge discrepancy in the W-L percentages. If you say Carolina is a rough place to keep winning, what about Chicago? What makes it any different?

            My biggest hope and theory is that Fox has a lot better of personnel around him. Lovie never had a good OC (not that he is free from blame with that), an average GM (from what we can tell), and a superb ST coach. Fox has a proven DC and at least an average ST coach (who seems to be working with cafeteria lunch ladies and janitors).

            The wild cards are Pace and Gase. Damn that sounds like a slogan if I’ve ever heard one.

          • Albino. Lovie.

            The way he’s going about injury reports, he’ll soon be loved by the chi media as much.

            But as you point out, the wild cards are Gase/Fangio.

            We did have competitive teams that were perennial conteders under Lovie though, so gotta give him that. And after last season, that’s what we need to reach first before dreams of a SB.

            I want Fox to get us to the “Lovie Level” then step down and allow Gase to take over in like a yr or two.

  • MB30SD

    Ladies and gentlemen… and jeff.

    Your 2015 Eli Manning (near-future THREE-time SB champ??)

    https://vine.co/v/e0YbQMMM9pq

    You’re all welcome.

  • Viva

    Fuck the Loins

  • Viva

    Stafford…

    • Scharfinator

      DEAD

      • Sactowns#1

        YES!

        • Irish Sweetness

          This.

  • Apparently the “They are who we thought they were” game was 9 years ago today.
    Devin Hester and Brian Urlacher. All damn day.

    • Huge Bear’s Penis

      got to throw the video up. no one ever gets tired of watching it.

      • Big Mike

        I watched at a bar in Miami. Was with my brother. By the end we were hugging the 3-4 other Bears fans who were there. Or anyone else that would let us.

        • Irish Sweetness

          Listened to Joniak call it. Ran around an empty house in a quiet thai neighbourhood screaming my head off at ten in the morning. Great Bear moment.

      • MB30SD

    • Ugh, I still remember the leaving the restaurant I was so disgusted. Walked home, they won!
      Taught me a lesson. Never give up on da beloved!

      • MB30SD

        I turned off the TV and walked out of the house. I remember EXACTLY where I was and the feeling when I walked out in the game… and then the feeling when I came home and turned on espn.

        • CanadaBear

          I almost threw in the sponge but i was wide awake and nothing else was on. That 2nd half was magical.

          • Trac

            I remember my wife and kids leaving the room at some point during the game as my wife told me she wasn’t letting me get the Sunday ticket again because I was such a bad sport and that it’s not fun to be with me when I watch the Bears. Hahaha

          • MB30SD

            man, all married chicks suck. hahahaha

            Sorry Trac, had to. ; )

          • Trac

            That was the last time I bought the Sunday Ticket. Hahaha

            Mind you, not because she wouldn’t let me but because I decided it was a frivolous waste of money.

          • MB30SD

            aaaaaand because it wasn’t worth the ball crushings. SMH

      • I was a freshman in college watching with my whole floor in the RA’s room. I walked out at 23-3, ran back 5 minutes later when I heard screaming after Mike Brown returned the fumble for a TD.
        Got made fun of (deservedly so) for being a fairweather for the rest of that season.

      • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

        Oh you poor stupid sick bastard.

    • DSupreme

      I was at that game In Glendale at Cardinals Stadium. I hadn’t been to a Bears game in like 5 years, we were undefeated and played like shit the whole game. I was so disappointed that I was getting ready to walk out and then as I got up, Hester returned that punt and the rest is history! #BearDown

    • TheBigCheesy

      That team probably deserved a super bowl.

    • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

      Probably may favorite game I’ve seen

  • BerwynBomber

    For all you non-Chicago dwellers: Sunny and high of 52F today. AKA: ideal pigskin weather. Well, Midwest pigskin weather.

    P.S. I hate dome stadiums.

  • Huge Bear’s Penis

    the one worry i have is that for years we have let sub-par/average QBs look like Joe Fucking Montana. Stafford is coming off arguably his worst game of his career, where he got benched, we can not let him get any bit of confidence back. Need to hit him early and often. We need the Loins and their fans to have the “SON OF A BIATCH!!!! Here We Go Again!!” feeling that we too often felt the last couple years.

    • Scharfinator

      We just need to replicate our sack numbers from last week.

      I agree with what you’re saying though – we can’t fall into the trap and we can’t think we can coast into the bye.

    • Johnnywad

      Not with Fangio

  • BillW

    Regarding jeffs tweet on NY and Chicago style pizza not really comparable. Agree completely. They are too different to compare. It’s like comparing Carne Asada and KC Sirloin. Both steaks. Both very good. Neither is much like the other

    • TheBigCheesy

      one is pizza and the other is lasagna

      • MB30SD

        I actually agree with this. I’m a known chi pizza detractor. Gross.

        • deep dish pizza is the greatest food known to man. If you disagree, you do not deserve to ever step foot in Chicago or root for one of their teams.

          • MB30SD

            How daaaaare you!! Next time in in chi, you can buy me dinner at your fav joint. Haha

            I’m willing to give it another chance.

          • I’m a Giordano’s man myself, but I know many people prefer Lou Malnati’s.

          • CanadaBear

            Years ago my sister lived across the street from Giordano’s in Greek Town. Pretty sure there is still some blubber on me from that place!

          • BillW

            I love Chicago Pizza and I love New York Pizza too. Lou Malnattis with Gioranos a very close second. Thin crust is a local pizzaria thing I believe.

            California Pizza are two words that simply don’t go together.

          • MB30SD

            I’ve tried both, still not a fan of Chi pizza. Real NY pizza is the shit maings. Sorry.

          • MBs used to eating carrot sticks and broccoli stems (not even the top), so you gotta keep that in mind, Data. It goes well with his diet pepsi zero.

          • MB30SD

            I don’t EVER drink, what do you guys call it… pop? That shit’ll kill you from the inside out.

            And if you ever want to discuss your ‘diet’ you can always text or call me baby.

          • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

            That may be true, but you have no idea just how fast he can eat the carrot sticks and broccoli stems.

        • BerwynBomber

          I live here, and yup, Chicago pizza sucks. And the deep dish stuff is not pizza. It’s quiche.

          NY style? Now you’re talking …

          • MB30SD

            THIIIIIIS!!

        • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

          Still pissed about that 🙁

      • Johnnywad

        I just crossed the border into Wisconsin a couple of hours ago. First business I notice…….”Mars Cheese Palace. “.

        Seriously

        • MB30SD
          • Johnnywad

            My bad. Mars Cheese Castle. Not Palace.
            http://www.marscheese.com

          • BillW

            How about The Brat Stop?

          • MB30SD

            holy. shit.

            is the farm animal rapery right next door?!

          • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

            Farm animal rapery?!? Bahahaha

          • DaMurph

            Cheesey??

        • TheBigCheesy

          Sounds epic.

          • MB30SD

            please, you eat fucking kale. God Damn Hippies!

        • Cormonster

          Did you stop at Bong Recreation Center?

          • Johnnywad

            I did not Cor. Is that a real place?

            Both of my kids are in a lacrosse tournament in WI this weekend. The name of it? “Top Cheddar”. This stuff writes itself.

          • Cormonster

            It is a real place in Kenosha, where I grew up. Where you at in Wisconsin?

          • Johnnywad

            We’re in Brookfield. I guess it’s just outside of Milwaukee to the West.

            The cheese thing…….it’s for real. What’s with this state? It’s just cheese.

            Most popular food truck today at my kids’ tournament was a grilled cheese truck. That’s it. Grilled cheese. Now I love me some grilled cheese, but the “Gouda Girls” were outselling a rib truck.

          • Cormonster

            Mars Cheese Castle is just tourist crap. Never been there myself. Wisconsin does produce A LOT of cheese. More varieties than any country in the world and more volume than every country except US, France, and Germany. There’s several cheese factories and creameries very close to where I live.

            Not sure about the tourney name or the grilled cheese thing. Maybe a cheese company or industry group is sponsoring the tourney? The only time I remember seeing grilled cheese being sold out of a truck was at a Grateful Dead concert.

  • CanadaBear

    Nothing would make me happier than the Beloved going into Motown and completely throttling the Loins. Stafford is a bitch (cheap shotting the smallest player on the field) and I just hope we have him whining his ass off before halftime. The entire team likes to take cheap shots whenever they can . Now that Suh, Fairley and Raiola are gone maybe they have cleaned up their act. Although it was Ansah that did the helmet-to-helmet cheap shot on Pickles last year. Fuck I hate that team and their miserable, delusional fans.

    • not only did he cheap shot somebody he outweighs by 60 pounds, but he then curled up in a ball when said player fought back instead of defending himself. Little baby.

      • CanadaBear

        The part that really pissed me off was the fat lezbo got away with it and all the fucking losers on their sideline were all laughing and joking about it, Of course, leave it to the Loins to be more interested in cheap shots than actually winning the game.

    • Cormonster

      One of my best friends is a Loins fan. He has been avoiding my phone calls all week. Funny, he was more than happy to talk about the games last year.

      • CanadaBear

        Is he a decent guy or a typical Loins fan? I never kid my friends about their teams when their teams stink. Must have something to do with being a Bears and esp a Cubs fan.

        • Cormonster

          He’s a real good guy. I didn’t even bring up the Loins last weekend on a musky fishing trip. The last few years we’ve been talking before the games, but not this year so far. He’s got to be devastated right now. He’s a big Michigan fan who lives just outside Ann Arbor.

  • Here’s a more thorough game preview from one of my favs, Evan Silva

    . (somewhat FF skewed, but as I’ve said before, FF anlysts actually are more detailed than those other pundits).

    Chicago @ Detroit

    The 0-5 Lions are somewhat surprising three-point favorites hosting Chicago, one week after coach Jim Caldwell benched Matthew Stafford for throwing three interceptions. Detroit’s team total is a shade above
    23 points. … With every fantasy analyst on the planet telling folks to drop Stafford, this week presents an opportunity to pluck him off thewaiver wire for streamer usage against the Bears, and/or to fire up
    Stafford-Calvin Johnson as a contrarian stack on DFS sites. Through five weeks, opposing
    quarterbacks have toasted Chicago’s defense on 91-of-140 passing (65%) for 986 yards and an 11:2 TD-to-INT ratio. The Bears rank 28th in passer rating allowed. Stafford is not a season-long fantasy QB1 and never should’ve been treated like one, but I like his chances of posting QB1 numbers in this matchup. … Especially with Joique Bell (Achilles’) said to be returning, the Lions’ backfield lacks trustworthy fantasy options entering Week 6. Preseason hype magnet Ameer Abdullahhas exceeded 11 touches in just 1-of-5 games, and was benched for fumbling twice in last Sunday’s blowout loss to Arizona. Undrafted
    rookie Zach Zennergot his first career start last week, but only logged 32% of the snaps and managed 37 scoreless yards on 11 touches. Passing-game specialist Theo Riddick has been the Lions’ best running back, but he has two carries on the season. Quietly leading all NFL running backs in receptions (30),
    Riddick does have a bit of lower-end flex appeal in PPR leagues.

    Stafford’s target distribution this season: Calvin Johnson 50; Golden Tate 39; Riddick 30; Eric Ebron 23; Abdullah 16; Bell 5; Tim Wright 3. … Johnson owned Bears LCB Kyle Fuller’s soul in two last year’s two Detroit-Chicago games, pasting Fuller for the vast majority of his 11-146-2 and 6-103 receiving lines in Weeks 13 and 16. Bears RCB Tracy Porter has earned negative PFF coverage grades in back-to-back games. Things may feel bleak for Megatron at the moment, but this is the kind of matchup that could right the ship. With perhaps the most favorable going-forward schedule among NFL wideouts, Megatron is a great buy-low target in season-long leagues. Johnson is still on pace to grab over 100 passes this year. … The Bears have permitted stat lines of 8-112-3 (Larry Fitzgerald), 8-85 (Jeremy Maclin), 4-51-2 (James Jones), 4-49-1 (Amari Cooper), 5-38-1 (Randall Cobb), 5-80 (Michael Crabtree), and 6-76 (Jermaine Kearse)
    to opposing wideouts this season. Like Fitzgerald and Cobb, Tate runs his routes at slot receiver in Detroit’s “11” personnel offense. Although Tate has been a fantasy bust to this point, he is coming off an
    18-target game and is worth firing up as a WR3 against Bears turnstile slot corner Sherrick McManis,
    who has already given up three touchdown passes this year. … Ebron (knee) is tentatively due back this week, further upgrading Stafford’s outlook. From a standalone perspective, however, Ebron isn’t exactly a
    plug-and-play TE1 coming off an MCL injury and facing a Chicago defense allowing the seventh fewest fantasy points to tight ends.

    I’m banging the over on this game’s 43.5-point Vegas total, in large part because I like the Bears to outscore their team total that’s set at just over 20 points. Detroit’s pass defense has been even worse than
    Chicago’s, ranking 26th in DVOA while getting cooked for 111-of-145 passing (76.6%), 1,340 yards (9.24 YPA), and a 9:3 TD-to-INT ratio by opposing quarterbacks. Last week, Carson Palmer’s Cardinals needed just 46 offensive snaps to drop 42 points on the Lions. Even while missing some of his most critical playmakers and starting LT Jermon Bushrod (shoulder), Jay Cutler has played controlled, efficient football since returning from his hamstring injury two weeks ago and warrants QB1 treatment in perhaps the
    most favorable matchup he’ll get all year. … Hemorrhaging 4.49 yards per carry to enemy running backs, the Lions have also served up eight rushing touchdowns through five games, after permitting eight rushing
    touchdowns all of last year. Detroit has glaring front-seven voids after losing DT Tyrunn Walker to a year-ending fibula fracture, WLB DeAndre Levy to a recurring hip injury that now requires surgery, and DT Haloti Ngatato a strained calf. Arizona running backs combined to cream the Lions for 191 yards and three rushing touchdowns on 21 carries (9.10 YPC) in Week 5. Matt Forte finished 2013 and 2014 as a top-four fantasy runner. He enters Week 6 ranked No. 3.

    Cutler’s target distribution over the last two weeks: Martellus Bennett 24; Marquess Wilson 17; Josh Bellamy 11; Eddie Royal 10; Forte 11; Cameron Meredith 6. … I’m in see-it-and-I’ll-believe-it mode when it comes to Alshon Jeffery’s availability. He’s an auto-start if he’s active against Detroit, but there are no strong indications he will be. … Bennett’s target totals since Cutler returned are 13 and 11. Bennett’s box score (4-32-0)
    disappointed in last week’s win over the Chiefs as he dropped two passes and failed to win 50:50 balls in tight coverage. Particularly if Alshon sits out again, expect a Week 6 rebound for Bennett against a Lions
    defense permitting the sixth most fantasy points to tight ends. … Wilson has looked every bit a starting-caliber wideout the past two weeks, securing 12-of-17 targets for 165 yards and a touchdown. He’s made plays after the catch and in congested quarters. Should Alshon miss again, Wilson has earned WR3 treatment in another favorable matchup. … Royal (knee) returned to practice on Thursday but remains uncertain
    to play. If he does go, Royal will get a plus draw versus Lions slot CB Josh Wilson, who is one of the worst cornerbacks in the league. The primary burn victim of Larry Fitzgerald (5-58-1) last week, Wilson has been charged by PFF with 12 completions allowed on 14 targeted passes. Royal posted two seven-catch games in the first four weeks.

    Score Prediction: Lions 24, Bears 23

    – Rotoworld

    • Irish Sweetness

      He got the scores the wrong way around but good stuff.

      • two very interesting points.
        1. Megatron owns Fuller. This I knew but almost forgot about. Fuller’s no Peanut, that’s for sure.

        2. Porter graded out negatively. WTF? He seemed to do well. Porter is also taking on the opposing #1WR, so that might explain why he seems to be targeted much more than Fuller.

        I’m assuming Porter will shadow Megatron in this one too, even though Fuller has more the body size to take him. It’ll be interesting.

        Also see how McManis does in the slot.

        • BerwynBomber

          My sense is that Porter has always has been a sort of cut-rate version of DeAngelo Hall; that is, a guy with shutdown/playmaking skills who can also gamble too much and whose run support has never been all that. Hence, the quality of his play has a wide range — high ceiling/low floor.

          • That he covers the #1WR explains why Fuller no longer gets attacked. Every week I’m surprised opponents don’t attack Fuller. He’s good for long bombs/PI calls every game.

  • BearDown100393

    Nobody has cared about the Lions since Axel Foley.

    • AlbertInTucson

      Wayne Fontes?

    • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

      Axel Foley?!?!? And to think, I almost didn’t read this thread. You guys are gold today.

  • Great. Add Bennett to the list.

    Martellus Bennett sat out practice Friday with a quad injury and is questionable for Week 6 against the Lions.

    Bennett suffered the injury at Thursday’s practice. His absence Friday suggests he’s in real danger of missing Week 6. Chicago’sother top targets, Alshon Jeffery (hamstring) and Eddie Royal (ankle),
    are also questionable for Sunday. Chicago’s backup tight ends include Zach Miller and Khari Lee.

    • AlbertInTucson

      Mommy, make it stop!

    • Sactowns#1

      Thumbs down!

    • Scharfinator

      At least we aren’t getting the injury bug during a SB run year.

    • Johnnywad

      Cutty don’t give a shit. He throws to everybody.

    • SC Dave

      I note the Fox regime stopped talkimg about the many soft tissue injuries of the trestman era.

  • Sactowns#1

    Washington is still attractive and I think underrated by Vegas. I see a ton of people jumping on the Pats this weekend but I think it might just be a trap although Vegas is responding by continuing to push up the line. I like the Bills at home too. Lets see what this weekend brings.

  • MB30SD

    This just in, randy Quaid is still a card carrying fucking lunatic. Holy shit

    • Trac

      What did he do now?

      • CanadaBear

        I think he was in a pissing match with Uncle Sam over taxes. He was seeking refugee status in Canada as a way of becoming a permanent resident of Canada. He’s clearly out of his mind (or is a much better actor than I thought) when you see clips of him. Long hair, big bushy beard and those wild eyes that crazy people have. He was in Canada for about a year before all his attempts to seek asylum in Canada were exhausted. Once that happened they shipped him back to the US.

        • AlbertInTucson

          I believe his wife is ALSO a complete nutcase.

        • Trac

          Thanks for that. I think.

    • CanadaBear

      Yeah, when Canada deports you, things REALLY aren’t going well.

  • Hey, Data. Do you have anything in your databanks about the same Oline actually starting every game over a season?

    Seems to me like it almost never happens. I think we did it once in Tresty’s first year, but kinda curious if there’s a stat for that.

    • I don’t know of anything off the top of my head, but I think in a typical year there are maybe 2-3 teams who are that fortunate.

      • Yeah, I wonder what the avg is any given season, and if it correlates to wins, or at the very least, less sacks/better run game.

  • The GP

    Run the damn ball with Langford. Spell Forte, slot him outside.

  • Huge Bear’s Penis

    MB – are you writing books under the pseudonym “Clint Thrust”?

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/1511580003//ref=cm_sw_su_dp?tag=duiwath-20

    • MB30SD

      Yes.

      • Huge Bear’s Penis

        figured it was you. I love how you are charging 6 bucks for a book of blank pages.

        • MB30SD

          I’m Jewish…. HEY!!!

  • The GP

    Flash poll:

    Did you ever pick up the cell of a honey you have been indisposed with and when the far end asks for her, you explain she’s freshening up because you banged her silly? And then you get that REAAAALLLY long awkward silence?

  • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

    agreed that Bears need a quick score or a quick 3 and out to get the Detroit crowd turned fast.

    • Don’t forget to set ur lineup!
      So let it be written, so let it be done.

      • EnderWiggin

        Yes. We can definitely use a win or two from Tradewinds, just to shake things up a bit.

        • If he actually started players last week, he would’ve beat you!
          Though why he let go of Shady McCoy mystifies me. Someone got a free RB. I think it was Bears 505

      • Trac

        My team squared off against Yonny in week 1. It was the only time he had a full lineup I think.

    • Trac

      I predict more than a few empty seats.

    • It would be comedy gold if the very first throw Lesbo throws is a pick 6.
      They’d start throwing their bobblehead Jagolos at him.

  • MB30SD

    reposting here from below (in response to my man massive bear cock’s post): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPBy9z_00J0

  • MB30SD

    shove this in your dooooon’t caaaare/give a fuck file y’alls…

    the munterlant: http://www.cnn.com/2015/10/16/travel/gallery/tanzania-spice-islands-safari/index.html

    Litter further north, but still amazing.

    • CanadaBear

      Beautiful.

  • MB30SD

    Wait a minute. WAAAAAIIIIT just a minute!

    Let me consult my trusty wall calendar for just a moment…

    …could it be!?!? could it possibly be….. GP?? Canada??? gargantuan bear’s phallus? Alllllll?

  • BerwynBomber

    Cutty just got a ton of love on NFL Live. Stink and Bruschi broke down his pocket awareness and cannon of an arm in the KC game. Both then picked the Bears over DET.
    For the FF crowd, Marquees Wilson was mentioned as a potential good value replacement pick, or whatever the latter is called.

    • AlbertInTucson

      Wow. Isn’t Scherleth a long time detractor?

      • Johnnywad

        He is. Funny how quickly things change

        • BerwynBomber

          I think Stink’s thing with Cutty was in regard to the whole Josh McDaniel in DEN time. Personally, I don’t think either guy (McDaniel or Cutty) looked very good during that. McDaniel for generally being an idiotic weenie; Cutty for being a bit immature and refusing to accept an apology.

          • MB30SD

            Three guys in football that I kind lump tiger as massive aholes…

            Kiffin (jr)
            McDaniels
            Sarkisian

      • He’s a huge bronco homer, if I remember correctly.

        Fox and Gase come over from Denver, and suddenly he loves Cutty? Hmmmm

        • AlbertInTucson

          Fox and Gase certainly weren’t in Denver when Stink was.

      • BerwynBomber

        Nah, Screamin A’ is. Stink is more the Cutty skeptic but he can acknowledge good play when he sees it.

        I have no problem with that. Then again, I pretty much operate the same in regard to Cutty.

        Oh, and once again — and NOT to criticize Cutler but to cut Grassu a break — that last fumbled snap was on Cutty. Nothing wrong at all with the placement of the hike.

  • Trac

    When was the last time two white dudes squared off for a title bout?

    http://espn.go.com/boxing/story/_/id/13899820/david-lemieux-stands-gennady-golovkin-path-stardom

    • 505 Bears

      GGG is a baaaaaaad man!!

      • CanadaBear

        Lemiuex has the power to put GGG to sleep but I’m guessing GGG knocks him out in under 5 rounds. This one won’t go the distance. The undercard should be good too.

  • Trac

    Ok, if this guy got arrested for lying, should we be able to round up all the politician’s as well? It’s only fair.

    http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/561fd787e4b028dd7ea6fd43?ncid=txtlnkusaolp00000592

    • willbest

      Is it the same when lying is the prereq for the job?

  • willbest

    Did I miss the fetching young ladies post this week?

    • MB30SD

      Psssssssst.

      (Look down)

  • MB30SD

    Might have posted this already, but: http://www.si.com/nfl/2015/10/16/huddle-martellus-bennett-bears-jay-cutler-roger-goodell

    Aaaand, boobies below.

  • MB30SD
    • AlbertInTucson

      I’m a Sox fan. And I’m old. The Cub song I remember is “Hey, Hey, Holy Mackeral!”

      • MB30SD

        Oh, right. you just said that recently. Oh well, I tried.

  • MB30SD
    • AlbertInTucson

      Yeah, I’m sure THAT will play well in their locker room.

    • Scharfinator

      I have to hope they fire him AFTER we crush them, not before.

  • Can we refer to him as Johnny Fuzball again?

    “Police later stopped Manziel, and he and Crowley admitted to drinkingearlier in the day. Police determined that the couple was not intoxicated.

    According to the report, Crowley said Manziel had pushed her head into a window. Police reportedly noticed an abrasion on Crowley’s arm, but they later determined that the abrasion was from Manziel’s attempt
    to keep her from getting out of the vehicle while it was on the road.”

    http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2015/10/16/pulled-over-by-police-for-domestic-argument-johnny-manziel-admits-to-drinking/

    Also, I checked out his chick. Not bad. not a bad at all.

    But I think we just talked about crazy in the head/crazy in the bed chicks.

    https://www.google.com/search?q=Colleen+Crowley&sa=X&biw=1467&bih=735&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&ved=0CCsQsARqFQoTCJWHrt6OyMgCFUjHYwodB40MUA#imgrc=nwQiXAk3uqgPxM%3A

    • MB30SD

      that dude is a fucking mess. he’s a train wreck waiting to happen. smh.

      • Trac

        Is Manziel a Jewish Eyetalian name?

        • MB30SD

          it’s normal or french yo. That homie ain’t no jew. smha

          And his chick is hot, but nothing speeeecial. Just run of the mill youth trash.

          • Trac

            Ah, actually he is.

          • MB30SD

            is what?

          • Trac

            He’s tribal my man.

          • Trac

            His great gran daddy must have converted because Manziel is a very Jewish name. He’s gotta have Jewish ancestry, his daddy owned a bank. Hahaha

          • MB30SD

            antisemite

            He’s fucking syrian yo. an arab… the opposite of a jew.

          • Trac

            Anti semite? Hardly. I keed, I keed.

          • MB30SD

            I know this maaaAAANNN! me too. ; )

          • Irish Sweetness

            Arabs are Semites too, no ?

          • Trac

            Jes Irish, they are. Also, Syria and Israels neighboring countries used to be home to quite a few Jews. Not so anymore.

          • MB30SD

            Very true irish. I was just giving trac some sass back my irish homie.

            Good luck today.

          • Irish Sweetness

            GO BOKS !!!

          • MB30SD

            Amazing 2nd half. did you see the tri??? what a no-look backwards pass. Brilliant!

      • waiting to happen? HAPPENED!

        I wonder if he really does love drinking, or just partying and poon?

        Gotta say, that’s up there with football!

        • Scharfinator

          Who wouldn’t? Just gotta keep your nose clean…. figuratively and literally.

  • Early for FA talk, but this caught my eye cuz I said that every year a good vet MLB/OG hits the market. Not sure if Osemele is great, but Ravens have a decent run game esp considering how tiny Forsett is.

    Ravens RG Marshal Yanda’s four-year extension is worth $32 million.

    The deal includes a $9 million signing bonus and $17.8
    million guaranteed. It makes Yanda the highest paid right guard in the
    league. The Ravens decision to lock up Yanda suggests contract-year LG
    Kelechi Osemele will be allowed to hit the open market.- Roto

  • So, watching NFLs fastest of all time. Naturally, Willie Gault was in there.

    So, I wonder, who wins in a 40 yd foot race in his prime?

    Gault or Hester?

    • AlbertInTucson

      I go with Hester. Seems to me it took Gault a little longer to get from zero to 60.

      • CanadaBear

        Once he got up to speed it was like poetry watching him streak down the field. That long, smooth stride was beautiful to watch.

    • BerwynBomber

      Straight line — Gault
      Obstacle course — Hester

      • Johnnywad

        Hester’s greatest gift was his ability to change direction suddenly without a significant loss of speed. He only needed a sliver of a gap.

        • CanadaBear

          It didn’t take much to knock him down when he was at full speed but he could make guys miss with just a wiggle. Really hope he gets into the HOF.

    • Pissed Off

      Hester had a gift. When he was in his young prime he was a burner but as he aged and frankly what I liked watching more was his ability to hit a hole or change directions on the fly without losing any speed. Almost as if everyone else was standing still. Proud to say the best return man of all time kick or punt was a bear. Now I need to go find a compilation vid of all his returns.

      • SC Dave

        He had crazy acceleration too

      • CanadaBear
        • Big Mike

          That’s always fun. I had endzone seats for one of his run backs heading towards us. It was the most exciting play I’ve ever seen.

          • CanadaBear

            He’s an all-time fave!

      • BearDown100393

        Never was, never will be, another Devin Hester. Not in the way he returned those kicks. Cannot be taught. Cannot be imitated.

        • SC Dave

          Never is a long time.

    • Irish Sweetness

      Dennis Gentry.

    • SC Dave

      Bob Hayes

      • AlbertInTucson

        That’s, “Bullet” Bob Hayes.

    • MB30SD

      Willy mays hayes

    • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

      Darell Green

    • CanadaBear

      Not saying he’s the fastest but an off the wall choice is Steve Schubert. He was really fast but a gust of wind could knock him over. I think he ran a couple back and hung around for 2-3 years.

  • MB30SD

    Watching San Andreas.

    Wow, Alexandria Daddario is a total12. And she’s 30, right in my target age range.

    https://www.google.com/search?q=alexandra+daddario&espv=2&biw=1366&bih=653&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0CAYQ_AUoAWoVChMIt7m85LHIyAIVSaOICh1U8g_V

    • CanadaBear

      She was hot in last year’s True Detective. If your target age is 30 that must mean the +/- is around 8 or 10.

      • MB30SD

        my range is 25 – 38 Canada. I tend to date a lot of 27-29 for some reason. I have dated one 44 yr old, but she had an amazing body and a huge fake rack. I much prefer to date younger. But yeah, that girl is seriously beautiful, and although they tried to cover up the… big fake rack in san andreas, you could see them struggling under her cloths when she ran. uhhhhhgggggg….

  • AlbertInTucson

    Ron Jaworski & Cris Carter both picked Detroit this week. Their record picking Bear games this season is 2-3 meaning they’ve picked against the Bears every week..

    Pete Prisco also picked the Loins. He’s 4-1 picking Bear games. He picked thme to beat the Raiders but took KC last week.

    • Irish Sweetness

      Jaws picking Detroit eases the pressure. We may blow them out now.

      • AlbertInTucson

        He’s another 4-Letter Vet who’s basically become a caricature.

        • CanadaBear

          It’s too bad. I used to like him on that Matchup show sponsored by Edge shaving gel. He was one of the few that actually went into some depth about both teams. At some point they killed that show and ever since he’s just been bombastic and annoying.

          • AlbertInTucson

            “Bombastic.”

            VERY apt description.

  • BerwynBomber

    Caldwell’s obvious limitations further highlight how bad an HC Gym Shorts was. We’ve dodged a bullet for years in DET at least, in part, due to their coaching hires.

    But I don’t know if we are so lucky — at least currently — in regard to MIN. Zimmer seems solid and maybe a good fit for a young team.

    • I don’t know about for years. Caldwell might be gone THIS year.
      Hopefully, he stays. Cross fingers.

      • Huge Bear’s Penis

        probably not because of HC, more because of GMs. How long was Millen in charge?

        • BerwynBomber

          Oh, I agree. The problem is higher than coaching. I just went for the low hanging fruit — well, other than Millen at least.

        • Trac

          GM’S are to be treated like the family Lawyer. Never ever ever invite them on a family vacation and never never become their friend.

        • CanadaBear

          7.5 years.

    • AlbertInTucson

      The hires ARE a big factor.

      So is the length of time Detroit HOLDS ON to these mistakes.

      And ehibit “A” is Matt Millen’s tenure as GM.

  • AlbertInTucson

    Pats favored by 10 AT Indy.

    Indy’s lost 4 straight by 20 or more to New England.

    This year’s version of “Suck for Luck”, with a clearly banged up Luck, doesn’t seem to even be as good as last season’s.

    Does anybody see any reason to believe that the Colts can cover that 10?

    • beninnorcal

      Not really, Al, can’t think of how they cover. Tom Brady gets food poisoning the day before? But if he doesn’t than still no way.

    • Irish Sweetness

      Brady’s missing his left tackle, but they don’t have many on the injury list. GB should cover too.

    • willbest

      I don’t know are there any awesome tackles?

  • MB30SD

    HA!

    SUID AFRICA!!!

    What a match! The dodgy fucking wombats are next… cunts!!! HA HAAA!

    • Trac

      Biltong anyone? Hahaha

  • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

    Liked the poem Jefe. Like the prediction even more.

    Fat bull-dyke Lesbian: Muerte.

  • Big Mike

    Just saw Ego Ferguson on season ending IR. Picked up a GB Packer practice squad DT http://www.chicagotribune.com/sports/football/bears/ct-ego-ferguson-injured-reserve-20151017-story.html

    • beninnorcal

      What?! What the hell happened to him? I didn’t even know he was hurt..

      • Big Mike

        He was limited in practice and listed as doubtful. That’s all I knew as well.

      • SC Dave

        That sucks.

    • Trac

      The only reason ego was a 2nd rounder was because Emery was afraid someone else would draft him in the 4th round.

      • Big Mike

        I thought he was doing OK for himself. I liked him on our team. Sutton, Goldman, Ratliffe they’ll do fine.

        • Trac

          I love to pile on Emery at every opportunity, we must never forget what he did to the Bears. That’s how I roll.

          • Big Mike

            I lean more towards trying to eviscerate, Trestman in any conversation, post, etc about football and will until I run out of words, despise what he did to our team. Emery hired him there and there is no doubt he deserves no kudos. But I cannot imagine that he knew he had hired a limp weeny estrogen driven weasel who would debase the proud Bears history.

          • CanadaBear

            Love this! But we’ve been over this. He had the reigning NFL coach of the year in his office hoping to be hired. How in the hell do you hire Nessman?

          • BearDown100393

            Emery wanted an equally limped wrist dead fish handshaker like himself. Bruce Arians was too intimidating.

          • Big Mike

            No idea. But I saw something the other day about how the “fit” of a coach, the coach’s scheme, concept of a football team with the personnel he has, is a variable in coaching that is as hard to predict as which first round QB is Peyton Manning and which one is Ryan Leaf. The point is that Arians, might not have been coach of the year in Chicago. (not that they shouldn’t have hired him over trestman

          • CanadaBear

            When they hired him and Lovie was still here, he just seemed weird and super suspect on draft day. After he hired Nessman I remember telling GP PE hired a mirror image of himself. A weirdo, try hard, doesn’t fit in but desperately wants to, etc.

          • Big Mike

            Throwing up a bit thinking about Trestman.

          • willbest

            You mean an all pro guard who will probably be a pro-bowl caliber tackle next year?

    • Irish Sweetness

      Calling Terry Williams …..

      • RenoBear

        Unfortunately he was released from the practice squad a few weeks ago. I was bummed

        • MB30SD

          Jesus… it’s like he’s a foreigner expat living in some godforsaken country around the globe.

    • BearDown100393

      Geez. What might have been for this team without all these injuries (+Alshon’s AWOL act)

      • Big Mike

        Can’t say, certain more competitive. Maybe even playoff caliber

        • MB30SD

          wow, look at you!

          • Big Mike

            I love the Bears. I love when they are compete. I hated 2014. I think if the Bears roll out with Alshon, Wilson and Royal, Bushrod gets healthy, Omemememu goes to the bench the Offense will be nice.

        • CanadaBear

          Holy Crap, hope you’re equally enthusiastic after tomorrow’s game. It’s either gonna be a dogfight and whoever turns the ball over the least wins. Or, the Beloved get up early and the Loins pack it in.

          • Big Mike

            If the Bears were healthy I think they’d be contending. As it is they have a chance to be .500 going into their buy week. Alshon, Bushrod, Royal, coming back. Grasu with a couple games under his belt and some time to rep. Long with some more reps at RT. Tweaks to the O and D during bye week based on what the Bears have. They have a shot at 10-6. Not a lock, but a shot. Or they could take steps backwards at Detroit. Hard to say. Every week is going to be a fight with this group. What I love about this team is they are making me slowly forget about 2014. They don’t feel like a team hanging on for dear life to hope they are good. They feel like a team on the rise that knows they will get better.

          • CanadaBear

            I’m not as optimistic but I totally agree with the last few sentences. I disliked Nessman and PE so much I gave the players a pass on quitting last year.

          • Big Mike

            We’re on the same page. Contending to me means meaningful games in December. Punchers chance. The way the WIld cards are lining up might take 11 wins or 10 and tie breakers. So quite a long shot.

            Beating the Lions is not going to be an easy task. That team has some weapons.

          • AlbertInTucson

            It’s so nice not to irrelevant in October.

          • Big Mike

            Amen.

    • Sux. He was coming along, though he hasn’t made impact plays.
      Ratlift in this point of his career is an upgrade anyways, so short term, I think we’re ok.

      Be nice to have Ego though. I thought Fox was trying to stress eradicating or limiting soft tissue injuries.

      • Big Mike

        Dont know what his injury was. He was coming along. Both Sutton and Ferguson have done well in a scheme they weren’t drafted for. Speaks to their athleticism and coaching

  • MB30SD
    • Trac

      Yep, that’s about his style. The guys sounds like he’s just a little bitch.

    • DaMurph

      Who but the Browns didnt see BUST written all over this guy?

      • AlbertInTucson

        Jerra Jones.

        They practically had to hog tie him to pass on him in the draft.

      • perhaps one of the oddest pre-draft stories ever, but allegedly a bum came up to the Brown’s owner and told him he must draft Johnny, and that sorta convinced the owner even Cleveland bums were sold on him.

        Turns out that bum probably partied with Johnny before.

    • this is odd.

      “If the playoffs were today: The Vikings (2-2) would be in, as the sixth seed. That’s because, besides the four division leaders and Atlanta (5-1), no other NFC team has a winning record. Minnesota
      can get back over .500 by handling Kansas City, which would likely be directly related to Adrian Peterson. As expected, Peterson has come back to power the rushing attack, averaging an NFL-best 93 yards per game. But the passing offense armed by Teddy Bridgewater has been sorry, ranked last in the NFL”

      Translation. WC is up for grabs. Loins. Dead.

      • AlbertInTucson

        “If the playoffs were today”

        WAY too early to go there.

        On the other had…

        “But the passing offense armed by Teddy Bridgewater has been sorry, ranked last in the NFL”

        Remember when Cordarelle Patterson was perceived as an up and coming big play threat?

        What the hell happened to THAT guy?

  • AlbertInTucson

    Colts Fan on Sirius NFL Radio, and I paraphrase; “When Luck hits FA, he is not about to stay in Indy and continue to take the pounding he ha been taking.” Not the first time I’ve heard that.

    • willbest

      Except they can franchise him 3 times in a row

      • AlbertInTucson

        At this rate, he won’t last long enough for that to happen. He’s still a bit iffy for THIS week.

  • The GP

    Wolverines soft underbelly getting exposed

    • without their claws, they’re just racoons, right?

    • The GP

      The worst final play ever to take place in the Big House and POSSIBLY the worst final play in college football history

      • Cormonster

        Unreal. That has to top the Kordell Stewart hail mary play.

      • Johnnywad

        I agree.

        The takeaway for me today is that MSU has been rated a tad high all season, and Michigan will be legit next year. Not a big fan, but I’m glad a storied program will be formidable again.

      • Trac

        Next year, they’ll crush their opponent’s and win the Championship, wait and see. Harbaugh is just getting started.

        • MB30SD

          100%

        • Pissed Off

          And then he will wear out his welcome the next year….

    • AlbertInTucson

      But in a in a most entertaining and humorous way!

      The looks on Harbaugh’s and the various Wolverine fans the showed were priceless.

      Just fall on the ball, after you fumble it kid! MSU was still out of field goal range and it didn’t look like the Spartans could possibly protect Cook long enough for a “Hail Mary” heave.

      • willbest

        The stunned look on the crowd was priceless. I was at BW3’s and watched it happen and shouted holy crap loud enough to get a couple tables to look at me and then look up at the screens.

        • AlbertInTucson

          I feel a LITTLE bad for the punter. He had been awesome right up until the last :10 of the game.

    • BillW

      I just read the guy who recovered and scored suffered a dislocated hip in the celebration and was carted off and taken to the hospital. At the same time a fan in the stands (don’t know of which team) suffered a heart attack and was given cpr before being taken to the hospital. No word on his (her?) condition that I could find

  • AlbertInTucson

    “DaBearsBlog @dabearsblog
    That’s the most insane and idiotic ending in the history of football.”

    Nah!

    The “Stanford Band’ game still tops it. Especially since that play should have been called back for a for an illegal forward pass.

  • willbest

    Not getting a whole lot from the top of the order tonight. Wonder how much of it is the weather.

    • BillW

      Disappointing but still no quit. Far from over but we need a strong outing from Jake.

      To your point, I forgot how much I dislike winter weather baseball

  • AlbertInTucson

    Sammie Watkins.

    He’s probably right that they should be targeting him a lot more but the concept that he has to tell the world about it on Twitter is infantile.

    Twitter: The Devil’s playground.

    Also, Sammie has spent a lot time in the training room as opposed to on the field.

    • willbest

      As a Watkins owner, I know that his targets would be substantially improved if he would have played the last 3 weeks.

      • That helps. Also, has their OC ever produced an elite WR?

        That’s why I stayed away from Watkins in FF.

        • willbest

          He has done more than Alshon who is also sitting on my bench. Lord knows how I am 4-1

          • AlbertInTucson

            “Lord knows how I am 4-1”

            I’d rather be lucky than good?

  • BillW

    Go Bears! Three in a row and 500 at the bye. Keep on moving!

    • AlbertInTucson

      Seems to good to be true, doesn’t it?

    • That’s the spirit.
      When we win tmrw, we’ll suddenly be in the WC race entering the bye.

      It’ll be gravy sticking the dagger in the kitty’s heart.

  • Pissed Off

    Not sure da bears are good enough to stomp anyone by getting up early and putting this out of reach early but if they can this is the week to do it. Here’s to 3 and 3.

    • AlbertInTucson

      True, BUT the Loins MAY be bad enough to pack it in if the get down early.

      No Ebron at Tight End for them tomorrow.

  • Irish Sweetness

    Winless, and they shall remain so. Oh and 6.

    May the force be with Jay.

    GO BEARS !!!

© Da' Bears Blog