183 Comments

Super Bowl Preview Volume III: Gambling Guide

| January 28th, 2015

old_flamingo_hotel_vegas

Here are four fun bets for Super Bowl Sunday…

COIN TOSS

Heads or Tails.

If you’ve never bet the coin toss for a Super Bowl, you need to. And not to encourage gambling but it’s actually a fun way to get kids into betting on sports! You don’t need an offshore website or guy with a little notebook at the corner of the bar. You just need a friend. Go to your friend before the game. One of you take heads. One of you take tails. Put $5 or a drink on it. It is a 100% foolproof way of giving yourself a boost of adrenaline before the game begins.

Prediction: Tails. Many believe it never fails.

SHORTEST TOUCHDOWN RUN

From PFT piece:

Over-Under on Super Bowl XLIX’s shortest touchdown: 1.5 yards.

Over: +115 (lay $10 to win $11.50).

Under: -135 (lay $13.50 to win $10).

This prop boils down to one question: Will there be a one-yard touchdown in the Super Bowl?

This is a GREAT Super Bowl prop because it involves a wide range of factors. But ask yourself this question: how many touchdowns do you believe will be scored Sunday? 3? 4? This prop relies upon plays being run from the one yard line and whilst a pass interference in the end zone is not unlikely with these two aggressive secondaries, the odds simply aren’t there.

Prediction: Over.

LAFELL’S RECEIVING YARDAGE

From PFT piece:

The first prop comes courtesy of the Westgate Las Vegas SuperBook, which has set an Over-Under on the Super Bowl receiving yards gained by Patriots wide receiver Brandon LaFell.

The Over-Under is 50.5 yards.

Both the OVER and UNDER have the standard house vigorish, meaning bettors have to lay $11 to win $10.

LaFell has topped the 50.5 yard mark 4 of the last 5 games, only missing against a  Colts defense the Pats knew they could run at with reckless abandon. But in those four games, LaFell never topped 70 yards. This is one of the greatest secondaries of all time.  He is Brandon LaFell. The Patriots are likely to sacrifice LaFell to Richard Sherman all evening.

Prediction: Under.

FIRST QUARTER FIELD GOAL

From Paddy Power, over in Ireland:

1st Quarter Field Goal  Yes No    NFL Matches Betting Odds

I am going all-in on this one for many reasons:

  • Seahawks have a wonderful red zone defense.
  • Seahawks have a mediocre (at best) red zone offense.
  • Both field goal kickers are consistent.
  • There is a serious premium on getting the zero off the scoreboard in a Super Bowl. If you believe this game is going to be low scoring – as I do – it would be surprising to see either of these head coaches take unnecessary risks in the first quarter. If either has an opportunity to take an early lead, I think they take it.

Prediction: Yes. Lay a few hundo to win a few hundo.

Tagged: , , ,

  • Thisguy_justsaid

    First! Love the coin toss bet.

    • AlbertInTucson

      Can you hear somebody’s wife?

      “Whaddaya mean you lost $1000? They haven’t even kicked off yet!”

  • AlbertInTucson

    IF I were going to make a bet, even money on the 1st Quarter field goal looks like a gift.

    • saw a stat that Pats have 30th ranked D in 1st quarter and 7th ranked in quarters 2-4. Seems like a good shot SEA gets a FG in the 1st.

      • willbest

        That makes sense. The light sedative they put in their opponents drinking water needs about 20 minutes to kick in.

  • AlbertInTucson

    Love the “Bugsy’s Flamingo”. Of course, Siegel had been dead for a decade or so since the photo has gotta be 1956 or ’57 judging by what’s in the parking lot.

  • burntorangenavyblue

    Over/under of how many times they will mention deflate-gate?

    • burntorangenavyblue

      I’m sure millions of Americans are going to make the mention of that phrase a drinking game

  • Shady

    “If you’ve never bet the coin toss for a Super Bowl, you need to. And not to encourage gambling but it’s actually a fun way to get kids into betting on sports!”

    I’m Shady, and I approve this message.

    • Shady

      Another fun way to get more involved with the pre-game festivities is betting on the National Anthem…

      “How long will it take Idina Menzel to sign the US National Anthem?

      Over 2 minutes 1 second (-130) Under 2 minutes 1 second (-110)

      The Bet: Everyone wants to bet the over because obnoxiously stretching out the National Anthem is really American. But, winners bet with their head — not their heart. We’re going UNDER. 1:34 for Kelly Clarkson in 2012, and 1:53 for the damn OPERA singer in 2014. Unless your name is Alicia Keys, hanging a number north of 2 minutes is a joke.

      Will Idina Menzel forget or omit at least 1 word of the official US National Anthem?

      Yes (+400)No (-600)

      The Bet: YES. I don’t care how good of a singer this chick is, if you’ve got a zillion people watching you on TV — you’re going to be nervous. It’s human nature. All we need is one damn word for a 4:1 payout. Christina Aguilera forgot a whole damn verse, for god’s sake. This is an easy one.”

      For the record, I’d take the over on the length and a “no” on missing a word.

      Check out other fun “exotic” props here:

      http://thebiglead.com/2015/01/25/breaking-down-the-entire-card-of-exotic-super-bowl-prop-bets/

    • At a Super Bowl party one year in HS, they had a bunch of these prop-type bets, mixed in with some trivia questions, and the winner got a super nice football as the prize (like one of the official game balls nice).

      Sports knowledge came in handy that day 🙂 Only problem is the ball has the Dolphins logo on it (I grew up in Miami). Still the best ball I’ve ever played with, even 12 years later. Just feels so nice to the touch, easy to grip.

      • burntorangenavyblue

        What was the p.s.i of the ball? I keed…..cool story though

        • yeah, it’s been in my closet the last few years and I haven’t really used it. Was pretty flat last time I pulled it out. Bet Brady would have loved it.

          Side note: Getting old sucks.

          • CanadaBear

            REALLY??????????????

          • in this case it’s not really getting old as it is not having people to play with any more (so being out of college). Used to play about once a month with a big group in college.

            Tackle snow football is the freaking best.

          • CanadaBear

            You were right the first time. Getting old sucks! Last time I played tackle football was about 40 years ago. I woke up the next day and felt like a broken egg shell.

          • I’m only 25. I’m not old yet.

            Though I have had a litany of lower body problems the last few years that have prevented me from playing basketball weekly like I would like. Working on overcoming them though.

          • GPLDAN

            I ran for the train after the age of 40 and tore the achilles from my calf.

            I fell ON the train tracks. For about 5 seconds as I clamored back on my feet and hobbled off the tracks I thought a sniper put a round into the back of my leg with a small caliber rifle like a 22. It felt like being shot until I realized how crazy that was.

            My leg swelled up, the whole leg to 1.5x normal size. It was heinous.

          • yeah, I’ve had Achilles problems in the past as a runner in HS. Never tore it, but had it to the point where it hurt to walk for weeks on end. It’s brutal. I can’t imagine the pain of tearing one.

          • CanadaBear

            Holy fuck that must have hurt. That’s one good thing about being the size of a munchkin, none of the my knee issues got bad until I was around 60. A few of my friends are around your size and the body just isn’t designed for big guys like you. How long did it take to heal?

          • GPLDAN

            It took a month or more for the leg swelling to go down. The lower leg took almost a year to stop swelling when I walked.

          • Down goes Frazier…

          • GPLDAN

            Great scene.

          • SC Dave

            +75 blog points for an admirable application of heinous.

          • Irish Sweetness

            Dude. I knew it. I’m never going to attempt to run again.

          • CanadaBear

            I vaguely remember 25.

          • CanadaBear

            Swimming or bike riding. Takes the stress off.

          • I’ve been working myself back into shape at the gym 2x a week since New Years. Started on the bike, then the elliptical, now doing some stairs to strengthen my calves. Gonna start shooting hoops soon, goal being I can return to basketball in a couple more weeks.

          • I’m trying to get back in shape too. More cardio. Tighten up my guns a bit (I never was a “bulk-up” guy)

            I don’t know if I would advise Bball though. It’s high contact, esp on your knees, ankles. And I can’t tell you how many old guys I see on the court with knee braces, or effed up joints.

            I played it all the time before, and it takes its toll even on a young guy.

            Try swimming or if you need contact, don’t know – some other sport that won’t fuck your body up more than time already will.

          • it’s not that I need contact, it’s just that I love playing basketball. My dad was a HS coach, and it was the only sport I gave a damn about until I realized at around 14 I wasn’t going to be a pro athlete.

          • SC Dave

            Eyes on the prize, my man. You go.

          • one game of basketball tonight. Owwwwwwww.

          • Irish Sweetness

            Walk, don’t run. I’ve taken to giving up my lunch hour feeding frenzy to walking around the campus followed by six sets of bench presses. Swap the meal for a workout.

            25 is a blank for me.

          • AlbertInTucson

            25 !?!?!

            I hate you.

          • AlbertInTucson

            “Getting old sucks.”

            Agreed

            Still beats the alternative, though.

          • SC Dave

            Last sentence: So fucking this, Al. So fucking this.

            Oh, and I would change the “Getting old sucks” to a piece of wisdom I heard from an older colleague some 26 years ago – “Getting old ain’t for sissies”. So you young whiners better be ready. 🙂

          • Irish Sweetness

            Bits of Me – Roger McGough

            When people ask: ‘How are you?’
            I say, ‘Bits of me are fine.’
            And they are. Lots of me I’d take
            anywhere. Be proud to show off.

            But it’s the bits that can’t be seen
            that worry. The boys in the backroom
            who never get introduced.
            The ones with Latin names

            who grumble about the hours I keep
            and bang on the ceiling
            when I’m enjoying myself. The overseers.
            The smug biders of time.

            Over the years our lifestyles
            have become incompatible.
            We were never really suited
            and now I think they want out.

            One day, on cue, they’ll down tools.
            Then it’s curtains for me. (Washable
            plastic on the three sides.) Post-op.
            Pre-med. The bed nearest the door.

            Enter cheerful staff nurse (Irish
            preferably), ‘And how are you today?’
            (I see red.) Famous last words:
            ‘Bits of me are fine.’ On cue, dead.

  • burntorangenavyblue

    Think they will mention the year of missteps the NFL took this year? I have a feeling that the network might not be allowed to talk about any of the scandals? Is that possible? It’d be interesting to see how they handle all of that

  • Vinny told me a great prop bet used to be betting on a safety – used to be 10-1, but now it’s 6-1, so the risk reward ain’t fun anymore.

    Of course, I’m not the Mona Lisa Vito of gambling…

  • Barb UMihai Mar

    “The Patriots are likely to sacrifice LaFell to Richard Sherman all evening.”

    I highly doubt it. It’s not what they usually do and you don’t change your ways in the Super Bowl.

    Betting on american football is fun, but not smart. The real money are on the NHL…that’s where the kick ass odds are.

    • Irish Sweetness

      I stopped betting on football last season. I analyzed all the stats on betting ATS the last 5 years, and over the two or three seasons before this one, there were very strange anomalies in the numbers. Un-natural anomalies. Translation : something happened in the last few years to affect results that is not football related.

      • GPLDAN

        What does betting ATS mean?

        • Irish Sweetness

          against the spread

        • TheBigCheesy

          Ass To Smouth

          • GPLDAN

            That’s only up in Wisconsin. I meant the rest of the country.

      • Irish Sweetness

        But Conor McGregor to beat Aldo for the belt in May/June is as good as gold. Get on. Should be odds against too.

      • Barb UMihai Mar

        I bet on NHL. The games are hard to predict, but when you have a find it usually pays great odds.

    • DaBearsBlog

      Betting on American football is the best money in gambling. Just not the NFL.

      • GPLDAN

        What do you mean when you say it is the “best” money? The easiest? The best way to win in Vegas?

      • Barb UMihai Mar

        It might be… I don’t follow college football so I’m staying clear of that.
        Should have said NFL.

  • AlbertInTucson

    Do they still have the “How Long The National Anthem Runs” bet?

    • Shady

      Soooo, do you just skip over ALL of my posts or just most of them?

      • AlbertInTucson

        Sorry. I missed it. 10 hours difference. Sue me.

      • AlbertInTucson

        Hey, I scanned and I missed it. Sorry.

  • Irish Sweetness

    This is why bookmakers win. These are called sucker bets.

    Exhibit A : Selecting either team to win, be it straight up or ATS, is 10/11. You can apply some thought and craftiness to this bet, but at the end of the day it’s still in the hands of the officials as to how it all goes down. Not a ‘closed system’ as they would call it in physics.

    Exhibit B : You can also get your 10/11 return by deciding which team will have the first player to smash the clown cake one foot inside the 50 yard line.

    • GPLDAN

      Betting a winner straight up 10/11 is a sucker bet?

      • Irish Sweetness

        No, all the jokey ‘prop’ bets are. You can bet if the total points is odds or even. That’s roulette. And the over/under is 47.5. The final score will probably add up to 48 or 47. Thse fuckers are uncanny.

      • I don’t even gamble that much. What does 10/11 mean?

        I only play poker and black jack when I go to Vegas. It at least gives me the illusion of control.

        Also, if you just want free beers but have gambled your big stack away and are close to giving handies for a bus ride home, hang out by the Keno lounge with the old ppl for free beers without spending much.

        The only thing is that the waitresses aren’t stupid and don’t come around the the Keno lounge as frequently. A little less exciting with no high rollers.

        So I hear.

        • Irish Sweetness

          Poker and Black Jack are the only things you have a chance of beating the house at, so they’re good to play.

          10/11 = stake $11 to win $10 (plus your $11 stake back), giving you a return of $21. This is the usual return if you bet the spread.

  • Irish Sweetness

    Anyone seen Wahlberg in ‘The Gambler’ ? Talk about a character needing a slap in the head.

    St. Vincent is worth a look too, and check out J.K Simmons owning ‘Whiplash’.

  • CanadaBear

    And not to encourage gambling but it’s actually a fun way to get kids into betting on sports!

    That makes as much sense as people saying no offense but … and then the say something really offensive about you.

    • Trac

      I was wondering who would bring this up. Leave it to my ol faithful friend Canada.

      • SC Dave

        I did too, later, because I did not read ahead. I posted it before I read the rest of the article. Funniest thing I’ve seen in a while.

  • CanadaBear
    • John Doe

      I doubt we will see full blown switch to 3-4 in 2015 at least. A lot hybrid fronts would be my guess.

      The main reason is Bears are stuck with Jared Allen for at least 2015. They can’t do much about his $12 million salary in 2015.

      Let’s see if they get OLBs like Brian Orakpo or Justin Houston in free agency.

      • CanadaBear

        Orakpo might sign a 1-year, show me deal due to all his injuries.

        • John Doe

          Yes, he would be worth a gamble on a 1 year deal.

      • I wouldn’t be shocked to see Allen request a trade. Everything I know about him suggests he won’t take it laying down if his role gets changed to situational guy.

        Bears could pay his $11.5M roster bonus and trade him after that. Saves them $1M, gives somebody else a solid starting DE/high-quality backup for only $1M for the year. A contender like SEA would give up a 7th for that, IMO.

        • willbest

          So basically what you are saying is you want to pay 11.5 million for a 7th round pick. Seattle’s 7th round pick at that which by the way is going to be about 8 players better than undrafted free agent (once comp picks are put in the mix).

          That is bonkers. If you are going to get a draft pick after you take the cap hit it should be at a minimum a 4, and probably a 3. If you can’t find a trade partner for that, you would be FAR and away better off straight cutting him. Sure he is likely to clear waivers at 12.5 million in owed salary, but when he signs with a new team for more than 1 million in guarantee you will at least get that much more cap relief.

          The real question on cutting Allen (assuming you can’t find a trade partner) is when he signs his new deal what is his cap offset going to be, because if its only going to be 4 million, then you might as well just keep him and play him at 4-3 DE for the 20% of the snaps you are in that sub package.

          • I’m saying that, if the decision is made that they want to move on from Allen, there is one way to do it while saving a little bit of money and getting a little something in return.

            Not a likely scenario, but you never know.

          • I don’t think they get any cap offset if he clears waivers.

          • Bear Down in Tampa

            Yeah, once that bonus is paid it’s on your cap. The only offsets are for cash flow purposes.

          • The reason it would make sense to move on from him is if he expresses he will not take a demotion quietly and you want to avoid locker room problems that could damage your new regime.

            Treating a respected veteran like that well if he’s not going to fit in your new defense would go over well in the locker room.

      • Bear Down in Tampa

        If we can trade JA before April 9th, he doesn’t cost us a dime against the cap. If we can get a 7th prior to paying the roster bonus, I’d take it.

  • CanadaBear
    • willbest

      If the Bears take Landry, I am going to break something. Really if they take anything other than best OT, top 2 DE, or Amari Cooper I am going to break something.

  • Marshawn complaining about having media requirements another reason
    NFLPA might not want to get bullied in CBA negotiations every time out. – Jeff

    I think it’s funny that Marshawn is stonewalling the media. All the media’s in righteous indignation, like, how dare he! He’s getting paid to talk to us. Well, if I were getting forced to talk to someone I didn’t want to, I would probably play the same stunt.

    The media retorts, “He’s getting paid for it! It’s part of his job description. It’s our right.” Well, it’s HIS right to be an ass about it. Freedom of speech. It’s our god given right to make an ass out of ourselves!

    I would have gone it about differently.

    I would create a “Wheel-o-Cliche” and anytime a reporter asked me a question, I would spin. Wherever it lands, that’s what I would say. Some of the favorites would include.

    “Just taking it one game at a time, boss.”
    “We play to win the game, boss.”
    “Moving on to next week, boss.”
    “I’m feeling healthy, boss.”
    “It’s a team game, boss.”
    “Practice makes perfect, boss.”
    “You’d have to talk to the coach about that, boss.”

    • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

      This is standard BEAST MODE behavior in Seattle. After one game, he said “I’m just blessed” for the answer to every question. For another, he said “yup” to the answer for every question. Then, he switched it up for the next one, all he said was “nope” to every question. I love it. It’s hilarious.

      By the way, if you haven’t seen this BEAST MODE commercial that airs in Seattle, it’s hilarious: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TImlf71j4K8

  • I also liked how Sherman practically called out Godell. Something along the lines, ‘nothing will happen to the Pats that will affect this game. Goodell was just at Kraft’s house and vice versa. They’re pals’

    I would’ve gone even farther, but he actually held up a bit.

    A lot of ppl don’t like Sherman, but he is smart. Did he graduate from Stanford with honors? I know sometimes he acts like a buffoon, but that’s like all athletes. Most ppl hated Ali when he was young mouthing off, and now he’s universally revered.

    When Cossell told Ali that many doubt he is as good as he was a few years ago…

    “And you’re always talking about, “Muhammad, you’re not the same man you
    were 10 years ago.” Well, I asked your wife, and she told me you’re not
    the same man you was two years ago! ” – Ali

    Snap!

    Sounds pretty “WWF” to me.

    • Barb UMihai Mar

      Sherman is a cool dude.

      In his act…he’s ‘wrong’ about Godell, though. Godell’s boss is his boss.

  • GPLDAN

    Niners just had the Eagles WR coach reject their offensive coordinator position. That was unthinkable 6 months ago. Unthinkable.

    Nobody wants to work for Joke Boy.

    Joke Boy is an idiot whose parents are going to allow that stupid smug prick to wreck that club.

    The DeBartalolos suck. They abjectly and objectively suck.

    • Barb UMihai Mar

      The problem isn’t that X or Y refused them. The real problem is that they had 1 year to convince them and they couldn’t do it.

    • SC Dave

      Well, there was this about Eddie:

      “During his twenty-three years owning the team, beginning in 1977, the 49ers won five Super Bowls under coaches Bill Walsh and George Seifert.. From the early 1980s through the mid-1990s, DeBartolo presided over a team that had the most wins within a decade in football history.”

      We could use a little of that suckness.

  • GPLDAN

    The league is mad at Marshawn again since he ain’t having none of that, boss.

    • http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-super-bowl-media-sessions/0ap3000000464081/Lynch-to-Deion-I-m-just-here-so-I-don-t-get-fined

      I expect a one man play about Marshawn, Jeff!
      In ironic twist, heavy doses of dramatic monologue.

      • GPLDAN

        Marshawn is smart enough to know once upon a time, Shawn Alexander was the Seahawks back du jour. Alexander was on the cover of Madden.

        And then he hurt himself, and then he was forgotten like a name in the wind.

        Marshawn knows given his style he’s on the Earl Campbell express. He knows nobody goes and does ESPN specials on Alexander. Nobody cares once you ain’t got it anymore.

        He wants no part of the circus. He will kill it on the field until either he can’t or won’t. They pay him and then he runs the ball, nothing else to discuss. Answering insincerely about how badly he wants to win means nothing to that cat.

        • All about that action, boss

        • NewBearInTown

          I have to wonder how much of that cash he’s saving given he is so aware of the inevitable coming move to obscurity.

        • Irish Sweetness

          NOTH. Shawn Alexander went from greatness to nobody in 5 seconds flat.

    • BearDown100393

      League priorities:
      Player won’t talk to the media >>> Player beating his wife

  • Interesting convo I was having with the blogmaster on Twitter:

    Walter Payton was drafted 40 years ago today. That’s right… the draft used to be in January. Can you imagine if they still did that?

    • AlbertInTucson

      In the ’60s they actually did the draft before January.

  • John Doe

    I am glad ex Bears from 2014 are speaking out..

    Feely Calls Out Cutler, Trestman’s Lack of Leadership in Interview

    With Trestman, it was a little awkward when he spoke. And he didn’t really connect with guys. You can have that as a coach if you have a strong locker room and you have leaders in the locker room. If you don’t have leaders in the locker room, you don’t have a coach who inspires, then you have a losing season.”

    “When you have a quarterback who doesn’t like to lead, it leaves a hole in that team. Other guys can fill that role, like Baltimore with Ray Lewis … but when a quarterback is not a leader, there’s gonna be a vacuum there.

    “Jay Cutler can win on the field. But he would be so much better and the team would be so much better if you’re a leader off the field as well. I never saw him lead verbally. If he doesn’t want to be that person, if it’s not in his DNA, then you’re always gonna have a vacuum there that somebody else needs to step into and fill.”

    http://chicago.suntimes.com/bears-football/7/71/326573/ex-bear-says-trestman-cutler-lacked-leadership-locker-room

    • GPLDAN

      To sum up:

      Tresty be flaccid and Jay dooooooon’t care.

      • John Doe

        Well, Tresty is gone. But thanks to his fellow nerd Phil Emery, Bears are stuck with Jake Cutler.

        Someone should tell Jake that part of $18 million a year includes paying for leadership.

        If he cannot be a leader, he needs to redo the contract to reflect the reality that he is just an INT throwing turnover machine QB.

        3 year $54 million guaranteed is a bit much for a guy who does not want to be a leader and is not even an average QB.

        • Peanut FTW

          I disagree, he wasn’t that guy and the Bear’s knew he wasn’t that guy when he signed the damn contract. So, he should have said, um knock off 3 mil a year cuz I won’t be that vocal leader guy.
          And to gauge all this a bit, Feely didn’t show up to the team until the wheels had already came off the bus, and… he’s a kicker.

          • Johnnywad

            Plus remember when the Bears went to the Super Bowl? And Rex Grossman was the obvious and outspoken leader of the team? No? Me neither. Because he was like 8 guys down the totem poll from Olin and Lach. This notion that the quarterback has to be the leader is stupid. Its just stupid. Or maybe if Rex had been more vocal, Al Afalava would have covered better and Lovie wouldn’t have stopped handing TJ the rock.

          • Irish Sweetness

            I never saw leadership like Urlacher’s in that Arizona comeback.

          • Johnnywad

            Most impact I’ve ever seen a single defender have on a game.

          • Man possessed. They say football is a team game, but that’s as close as it comes to one player willing a victory almost singlehandedly.

            It was like when Wyatt Earp walked across water…

          • Johnnywad

            I love that movie

      • BearDown100393

        Name Clausen a captain of the offense even as a backup QB. Smokin’ Jake don’t care.

    • Shady

      Jay Feely? Really? Fuxking kickers.

      DONT CARE!

      • SC Dave

        They are on the team, and in the locker room. And in an excellent position to watch the effects of players on performance of the team, since they’re not on the field most plays.

    • SC Dave

      Urlacher was there to cover for Jay for a while. But no more, and Briggs was not ready or inclined to step up. I’ve said a bunch of times on this blog that the real leadership comes from within the players themselves. At least in my experience. And not just in sports.

    • Irish Sweetness

      Trestman = Mr. Mackey in the NFL.

  • AlbertInTucson

    Did you see where the Pro Bowl got better ratings than a baseball playoff game?

    • willbest

      Not a lot else going on this time of year

      • AlbertInTucson

        Yeah, including the Pro Bowl.

  • AlbertInTucson

    Blog Tweet; “Niners just had the Eagles WR coach reject their offensive coordinator position. That was unthinkable 6 months ago. Unthinkable.”

    Say, WHAT?!

    A referendum on who is running the 49ers show these days..?

    • GPLDAN

      Joke Domer Boy is running it and ruining it.

      • AlbertInTucson

        A wide receivers coach sad “no thanks.” A resounding endorsement.

        I give up.

        We’ve saw the list of ST coaches move who to HC while the drums were still beating for Dave Toub but, who was the last WR coach to ascend??

  • AlbertInTucson

    So , Marshawn Lynch had BETTER show up for the farce that is “Super Bowl Media Day” if he knows what’s good for his checkbook.

    Meanwhile, despite, “Deflategate” when’s the last time anyone heard a word from Roger Goodell?

    • AlbertInTucson

      BTW, I hate calling it “Deflate-GATE”. Or calling anything “Something-GATE.”

      It was the “Watergate Hotel” break-in. How did that spawn the “,,,gate” catchphrase ?
      The scandal had nothing to do with WATER, other than the break-in crew was known as plumbers, I believe.

      Totally inane.

      Totally ignorant.

      • Trac

        Watergate Hotel Al.

        • AlbertInTucson

          Yes, I know. How does that translate GATE into subsequent scadals?

          • BearDown100393

            It allows bad journalists a moment of fantasy being Woodward and Bernstein.

          • AlbertInTucson

            THAT answer actually makes some sense!

          • BearDown100393

            I have my moments. Not many. But I do.

          • Trac

            It rymes?

          • AlbertInTucson

            The just renovated The Watergate last year.

          • CanadaBear

            Had to get the bugs out.

      • Shady

        Deadspin has been using the term “ballghazi” which you can try on, see how it fits…

        • AlbertInTucson

          Meh, not keen on that one either. I don’t see the connection plus, people got killed in Benghazi.

      • willbest

        the -gate suffix has been used in politics with some regularity since 1974, and only a couple times to other areas. Since the early 2000s it has spread outside the political arena and is regularly used in sports, business, entertainment, journalism, academia, etc.

        • AlbertInTucson

          That doesn’t mean it makes sense. Whomever morphed that from Watergate to the next scandal should have had his credentials revoked and been laughed out of the newsroom.

          • SC Dave

            Al, application of sense to anything the media does is a most tenuous proposition.

    • Sactowns#1

      My favorite take on this so far

      Chris Kyle gave his life for our freedom to speak and live freely. Marshawn Lynch mocks that freedom and makes millions doing so.

      — joseph arrambidez (@rkid727) January 28, 2015

      • AlbertInTucson

        Those freedoms include the freedom NOT to speak, don’t they?

        Piss on the media. Why do you need to talk to a guy who doesn’t want to talk to you?

        • BearDown100393

          The first sentence is gold.

          • AlbertInTucson

            If I’m your editor, and any part of your day includes putting a Mic in front of Marshawn Lynch your next assignent is the dog show.

      • BerwynBomber

        What a stupid quote. Lynch makes millions for carrying a football and taking hits. He is fined a substantial amount each week for choosing not to speak to the media.

        P.S. and technically Kyle was killed at a gun range in his home state by a fellow U.S. combat veteran. Usually the “ultimate sacrifice” tag is reserved for those soldiers killed on the field of battle.

        • SC Dave

          I’m not even going to start on how troops deployed in Iraq or Ukraine are “protecting our freedom of speech”. This jingoistic, chest-beating, flag-waving ignorance is almost too much to stand.

          I was born in 1958, and of all things, the noisome outgrowths of the so-called “War on Terror” (i.e. Patriot Act, Dept. of Homeland Security, NDAA, etc.) are BY ORDERS OF MAGNITUDE the greatest dangers to American freedom of speech in my lifetime.

          • Irish Sweetness

            Check out CitizenFour, Dave. FOS is already a dodo.

  • TheBigCheesy

    “Don’t know how this is possible but I’d much rather be the Chicago Bears than the San Francisco 49ers right now. What a disaster out there.”

    -@DaBearsBlog:disqus

    I understand the sentiment but that is hyperbole, surely. The 49ers still have a much better 53 man roster and while they made a ridiculous coaching switch, they do have a proven commodity at the GM position. It’s hard to say who deserves what credit from the Harbaugh era but we know for a fact that Baalke has drafted a few truly elite players.

    Obviously the 49ers are in better shape than the Bears for the 2015 season but do you really think that the Bears have a better 3-4 year outlook?

    • WP4Life

      What happens when title belt Rodgers goes down …How your teams outlook?

      • TheBigCheesy

        It already happened. The outlook wasn’t pretty. And yet, it was still just a smidgen better than the Bears’. So thanks for illustrating my point I guess?

        • beninnorcal

          Actually the Bears won last year when they faced off during Rodgers down time. Not sure which game you were watching. Green Bay is fucked without him, top 5 to bottom 5.

          • TheBigCheesy

            He missed 8 games. They won the division. Not sure which season you were watching…

        • WP4Life

          How funny. U already forgot your point.

    • SF is definitely in a much better place right now. But I don’t think that will be the case in another year or two. They seem poised to fall hard. Cap problems, and they just lost the most valuable member of their franchise and replaced him with somebody who doesn’t seem up for the job.

      • not to mention that, like Chicago in 2011-12, many of their best players are getting old. Justin Smith, Anquan Boldin, Frank Gore, Antoine Bethea, Ahmad Brooks, Vernon Davis, Joe Staley, and Patrick Willis are all 30+.

        • WP4Life

          Cheesy’s heart is in GB. thanks for your stable analysis.

      • TheBigCheesy

        I get that but all the bears really have to cling onto is hope. Right? What else is there that they can hang their hat on? They have money in all the wrong places with regard to the 53 man roster and they have a couple promising young players but it’s relatively few when compared to other teams. Fox seems like a good hire and Fangio seems like a great hire but I feel like everyone agreed even the best d coordinator in the league couldn’t have made the Bears defense successful in 2013-2014. I think it all comes down to Ryan Pace. If he is a success then the Bears are in great shape because the coaching staff is strong (on paper), but if he is not a top 10-15 GM then the bears’ stability on the coaching staff will mean nothing; They don’t have enough good players yet…

        • GPLDAN

          The Bears have drafted so badly for SO many years that re-tooling the team is a 5 year plan. I don’t think anything else is sane.

          • NewBearInTown

            GP, most teams carry 2-3 players at most over a five year period. I think in the three years Emery was GM, we kept 6 players from Angelo total (Cutler, Forte, Peanut, Briggs, Jennings, Gould). 5 years in this league is an eternity.
            We need to retool, but in this league a total and complete transformation takes three years – exactly how long it took to go from the last Lovie/Angelo team to right now.

          • GPLDAN

            Roster turnover is only part of the story. The other part of the story is flushing dead weight from the cap. We’re still paying Michael Bush NEXT year.

            3 can get you new players but not necessarily expensive ones.

          • Huge Bear’s Penis

            actually Bush and the rest of the Dead Money contracts are off the books going into this year. right now we have basically $100K in dead.

            http://overthecap.com/salary-cap/chicago-bears

          • willbest

            9 players from 2011 played through 2014: Cutler, Conte, Forte, Garza, Paea, Briggs, Jennings, Tillman, Gould.

            Personally, I would also include Mannelly as he was offered a contract but chose to retire.

          • AlbertInTucson

            Yeah, but he was coming off injury and likely retired because he knew he wasn’t good to go anymore.

          • willbest

            You can’t plan 5 years out in the NFL. You have no idea which star player is going to injure out, or who you are going to lose in FA. You can’t even plan 3 years out in the NFL. 3 years from now 40-50% of your team will be different than it is today.

          • AlbertInTucson

            I have to agree.

            If you interview with a “5-Year Plan” you are NOTgetting a call back.

        • I don’t think Chicago is in a great place right now, this is more to me an indictment of SF.

        • MikeBrownhadaPosse

          “money in all the wrong places”…
          The Packers and Bears have nearly identical % splits in terms of cap space allocation to offense/defense. I have no idea what you’re talking about.

          • TheBigCheesy

            By “places” I don’t mean defense, offense, OL, WR….

            I mean Jay Cutler, Jared Allen, Lamar Houston, Jermon Bushrod…

    • Trac

      Nobody wants the SF gig. I think that’s what he means.

      • AlbertInTucson

        Well, how can THAT be when it’s the Bears job(s) nobody (supposedly) wanted?

    • GPLDAN

      When the owner is Jed York, bad things will happen.

      • BearDown100393

        “If you take away the horror of the scene, take away the tragedy of the
        death, take away all the moral and ethical implications that have been
        drilled into your head since grade one, do you know what you’re left
        with? A 105-pound problem that needs to be moved from point A to point
        B.” – Boyd, Very Bad Things (Jed York is the 49ers dead hooker…)

        • GPLDAN

          You are imparted 98 blog points for a reference to a cult classic.

          But you lose 3 points because it starred Jon Favreau who will play Sweaty Teddy in the made for tv movie about Marc Trestman.

          • BearDown100393

            Jake Cutler needs to be like Boyd. The Bears would never lose.

  • AlbertInTucson

    “DaBearsBlog @dabearsblog
    Watched @PaulPabst be slammed into haystack by Keuchly 7 times so far & not sure when it will stop being funny but it hasn’t happened yet.”

    When he slams Dan Patrick into a haystack, THAT will be funny.

  • Shady

    Doc posted a funny Beast Mode commercial below which was good, reminded me of this one I saw the other day…

    • GPLDAN

      GoDaddy just decided to pull this one from airing on game day

      Man that is a harsh ad. Better use your Youtubez ripper if you wanna keep it, I expect it will be gone by tomorrow.

      • Shady

        I thought it was funny.

        • willbest

          I don’t even understand why it was considered controversial. Something about puppy mills but then again it was 1 dog in a van, not 50 identical ones in a semi

      • willbest

        I prefer my GoDaddy commercials with gratuitous T&A.

        • GPLDAN

          If it doesn’t feature Danica Patrick’s tits, it’s nothing.

          • Shady

            Funny, I would use the word “nothing” to describe her chesticles.

          • GPLDAN

            Burn notice.

      • Two things all-americans agree on.

        1. They like gratuitous TandA.
        2. They like puppies.

        When they see a commercial expecting some TandA and on top of that shipping off a puppy…well, SB commercials get pulled.

      • Irish Sweetness

        I was watching Fox news before I went to work this morning. It’s that, or Aljazeera. Anyway, all I saw was the Superbowl advertisers getting free airtime on Fox. Talking about, and showing you ads BEFORE the Superbowl !! And they’re not paying for the airtime!!

        And if anyone thinks that dog ad is hard to watch they need a major reality check. Ic an’t believe there was even a murmur over THAT.

        Show ANY door-to-door search carried out Iraq-side by one of Fox channels team of ‘heroes’, and see how that plays out.

    • NewBearInTown

      That is an awesome commercial.

    • AlbertInTucson

      Funny? Yes.

      But OH THE BACKLASH it would have garnered.

      • SC Dave

        PETA would have shit their collective panties. Win-win.

    • AlbertInTucson

      Think how much FREE publicity you get just by pulling it from the Super Bowl.

      Now EVERYBODY wants to see it.

      • BearDown100393

        Agreed. Everything is done by marketing design. No company “just pulls” a commercial last second.

  • AlbertInTucson

    Speaking of commercials, what is the huge oversight in the Icky Woods spot?

  • SC Dave

    The funniest thing I’ve ever read on this blog, and that AIN’T easy, is this.
    “And not to encourage gambling but it’s actually a fun way to get kids into betting on sports!”

    Either that, or in the running for the most pathetic.

© Da' Bears Blog