117 Comments

FrontRowTickets.com Game Preview: Bears Travel to San Diego (For Probably the Last Time Ever)

| November 6th, 2015

dabearsblog banner

THE GAME POEM

Near the sea of La Jolla, lived a fella called Strand.

He loved to watch the surfers, cup of coffee in his hand.

He dreamed of The Day when he’d own his own board.

And ride off with The Girl in a ’67 Ford.

The Day never came.

The Girl never went.

And the years of his life were nothing, but spent.

FOUR QUICK THOUGHTS ON SAN DIEGO

  • Loss of Keenan Allen for can not be understated. Allen is one of the best receivers in the game and has been the third most targeted. Chargers still have weapons but their passing attack might look similar to Chicago’s without Jeffery for the remainder of the season.
  • Eric Weddle is supposedly returning to the starting lineup after missing a few games with a groin injury. I’ve always thought Weddle overrated but he HAS been San Diego’s best defender for half a decade. His 2015 has been all-but wasted, to the point of his being mentioned as trade bait at the non-existent deadline. Can Weddle have a major impact Monday night?
  • Melvin Gordon has been a disappointment – which is a shock, I know, for a running back from Wisconsin. (Why is it that none of these guys translate to the professional game?) San Diego is one of the worst rushing teams in the game and when you watch Gordon on tape, there’s nothing there. He’s just a guy. And he certainly doesn’t look like he warranted first-round selection. His offensive coordinator believes he needs to “dig deep”.
  • Danny Woodhead’s total touches through 8 games: 16, 13, 8, 12, 9, 12, 16, 5. He’s got four touchdowns. And with Allen injured, expect the Chargers to be reliant on Woodhead’s screen presence as they get settled into the passing game.

IRISH VIDEO OF THE WEEK

Featuring my neighbor, Donie Carroll.

WELL THIS SEEMS A PERTINENT STAT

Opposing team’s passer rating doesn’t seem like it should be the difference between postseason contention and top ten pick in the draft but I’ll be damned if it doesn’t look that way right now.

Here are the ten best in the category:

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 10.32.48 AM

Every one of those teams is in the midst of a playoff race. How about the teams allowing 100+ rating?

Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 10.33.00 AM

The only team in a real playoff race here is New Orleans – whose defense is horrendous. No stat is perfect but the quarterback rating has always been a a pretty decent, if mathematically confusing, one.

WATCH OUT FOR JAVONTEE HERNDON

Who is he? Well according to the Chargers depth chart, Herndon is returning kicks for San Diego Monday night. And if that’s the case there’s a good chance he finds the end zone.

THREE BEARS OF INTRIGUE

  • Hard not to be excited for Jeremy Langford‘s debut in the starting lineup, especially up against a team allowing more than 124 yards per game on the ground. Another question worth asking: how will Langford respond to his game-losing drop from a week ago and a few struggles in pass protection? Is he ready for the big stage?
  • Oh, Jeremy Langford again. Langford is a professional running back and as much as he loves Matt Forte’s guidance and locker room presence, he knows a few stud performances over the next few weeks could in effect end Forte’s tenure in Chicago. He has an opportunity to become the Bears starting tailback starting Monday night in San Diego.
  • How about some more Jeremy Langford? From a Tweet by Evan Silva: “Jeremy Langford ran the top RB forty time at the Combine (4.42), has twice scored on GL carries, and played 26/26 snaps after Forte left.” Bears fans will be very disappointed if they don’t see a glimpse of the future Monday night.

GAME PREDICTION

The opposite of last week’s game with the Minnesota Vikings. Exciting. Touchdowns. And what will undoubtedly feel like a Bears home game in southern California.

Chicago Bears 38, San Diego Chargers 31 

Tagged: , , , ,

  • MB30SD

    Konichiwa bitches

    • MB30SD

      shady you lurky mofo. where the hell have you been dude?!

  • TheBigCheesy

    The differential between your QB’s passer rating and the other guy’s has long been a strong indicator of success. I can’t really remember who harps on it the most. I want to say Brian Billick but I think that’s just because I get it mixed up with his “toxic differential” that he loves so much (which i think is the number of explosive plays by your team minus explosive plays you give up on defense.)

    • TheBigCheesy

      With that said, I’m sure it’s not always as correlative as it is this year, judging by your screen cap.

    • DaBearsBlog

      This is just the other guys.

      • TheBigCheesy

        Yep…

      • NewBearInTown

        Keep in mind the four stats that combine to make QB rating – touchdowns, passing yards, completion percentage and turnovers.

        The two simplest stats that indicate success of a defense in the NFL: how often does the other team score? how often do we take the ball away? Both stats prominently affect opposing QB rating, particularly as the league moves more and more toward passing offense versus rushing.

        The only ways the opposing QB rating stat would not be helpful? (1) If a large number of teams you face have extremely productive rushing attacks to offset bad QB play; (2) if your offense is top notch and can score a lot of points on relatively few possessions.

  • The GP

    Al has to go and bring up Billy White Shoes Johnson and then I start humming the refrain

    https://youtu.be/CbjPyufRY2M?t=38

    • AlbertInTucson

      Bud Adams. What an S.O.B owner.

  • AlbertInTucson

    Gordon’s had trouble hanging on to the football.FOUR fumbles this year.

    I believe he had TWO at Wisconsin.

  • AlbertInTucson

    “DaBearsBlog @dabearsblog
    How can you be offside there?”

    Because it’s the Browns?

  • MB30SD
  • willbest

    Is this game as close as the score? Browns don’t appear to be embarrassing themselves, but then I don’t have NFLN

    • AlbertInTucson

      It actually WAS, for a half.

      Then the Browns remembered who they were.

      Cleveand JUST got their first 1st Down of the 2nd half with just over 3 minutes to play.

  • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

    I don’t understand the last sentence of this:

    “Jeremy Langford ran the top RB forty time at the Combine (4.42), has twice scored on GL carries, and played 26/26 snaps after Forte left.” Bears fans will be very disappointed if they see a glimpse of the future Monday night.

    If he has a great game, why would we be dissapointed ? Somebody please esplain what blogfather meant.

    • AlbertInTucson

      I expect it’s a typo and Blogfather left out a “don’t” as in “..don’t see a glimpse…”

      I do it all the time.

      The fingers don’t type all the words of the sentence I’m writing.

      Thank heaven for that “Edit’ button.

      • DaBearsBlog

        Corrected

  • AlbertInTucson

    Our Mid-season free agent draft was a week ago, Tuesday.

    It’s our ONLY chance to make roster changes in our FF league.

    I picked up Matt Jones and…TYLER EIFERT !!!

    • HTF wasn’t he drafted to begin with? He was pegged as a big-time TE sleeper in the preseason.

      • AlbertInTucson

        It’s only an 8 team league and the tight ends are lumped in with receivers.

  • AlbertInTucson

    DaBearsBlog @DaBearsBlog:disqus
    Why is Dalton still playing and throwing passes to Tyler Eifert?

    Because my FF team needs the points, of course!

  • BerwynBomber

    The traditional Passer Rating is still the best statistical way to judge QB play. QBR isn’t bad, but its strengths are also its biggest weakness — in trying to contextualize plays it sometimes ends up feeling arbitrary and subjective and will occasionally (if infrequently) result in wacky ratings.

    I generally like QBR but I trust PR a bit more.

  • BerwynBomber

    Dalton is a top five MVP candidate. Never saw that coming.

    Btw, never knew how durable he had been in the pros until tonight’s broadcast.

    • Irish Sweetness

      Anyone take the points on New England (-14) And Cincinatti (-10) this week?

  • AlbertInTucson

    Blogfather: Why is Dalton still playing and throwing passes to Tyler Eifert?

    Because my FF team needs the points, of course!

  • AlbertInTucson

    Gotta go.

    One of my FAVORITE film noir flicks is just starting on TCM: “Out of the Past.”

    Cathy (Jane Greer) “Oh, Jeff, i don’t wanna die!”

    Jeff (Robert Mitchum): “I don’t wanna die either, baby. But if i HAVE to,I’m gonna die last.”

    • beninnorcal

      Enjoy, Al.

  • Irish Sweetness

    (23-12)

    OAK +4.5 at PIT. Hope Ben doesn’t feel too well just yet. Sac likes the over on this, but there’s two improving defenses here. The Dude abides: “Pittsburgh will roar later on, but the Raiders are like … the here and now, man.”

    ATL -7 at SF. Time for Meg to wake up.

    CAR +2.5 ovr GB. Panthers holding QBs to 64.5 ratings, that’s better than the Broncos, and everybody else. Packers cost me a 1000 yoyo payday last week. Fuckem.

    Denver and Dallas look interesting in the later games. Romo might return.

    The Beloved? The Chargers don’t seem to have a run D, and they allow 100+ rated QBs. We don’t seem to have a secondary so it looks like a shootout in the wild west. I guess you take the points in that scenario but I wouldn’t bet on it given the state of our OL. Anyhoo, Go Bears!!

    • Joecashflow

      You have local bookie, Irish?

  • The Yes Guy

    Yes?

  • Trac

    Outside of replacing Forte with a beast, Langford is meh. Can’t get excited for run of the mill running backs getting a chance to play. Now if we had a Gurley like RB on our team then that’s an entirely different scenario, I would get excited about that.

    • The GP

      We saw flashes of Langford hitting the long ball in pre-season. Can he break a 60 yarder? I don’t see young CJ2K there, but he’s quick.

      • MB30SD

        4.42 is VERY fast. not a lot of guys with that speed on D. Is he can get past the line and make a dude miss….?

        • Johnnywad

          Outside of dropping a heartbreaking pass last week, the dude played really well I thought. He’s less patient the Forte but certainly hits it harder.

          • MB30SD

            he’s young johnny, he’ll develop.

          • SC Dave

            Two sides of the same coin, perhaps?

            The truly great backs learn when to do which when they are still young enough, or just have an inherent sense from the get-go.

            Forte, to my recollection, has always been the patient type, and not inclined to “hit it hard”. Which may be part of why he’s not “truly great”. Despite the fact that I would say he is easily the third best Bears running back I’ve seen, and if longevity and touches are to be accounted, arguably “better” than Sayers (although those of us lucky to be old enough to remember that guy know that it is hard to put anyone over Sayers from a pure running ability perspective).

            All that said, I’d love for Lankford to become a stud. And I’d love for us to keep Forte. I think Matt has between 2 and 5 good years left in the league, especially if he subs in at slot or WR3 later on. Remember, he *is* 6’2″, not easy to tackle, and has great hands.

          • Johnnywad

            I don’t know about five years, but if Matt returns well from this knee injury, I’d bet he’s productive for two more. That guy might have more touches than any other back his age. He’s been everything to the Bears and carried the shit out of the ball at Tulane.

            I’d definitely try to keep him if he shows good recovery from the knee. It’s tricky though. 30 and a bad knee on a workhorse back. Bad recipe. I would guess he’ll be fine given his track record.

          • Joecashflow

            He bounced back from a knee couple of years ago. I didn’t think it looked bad, but who knows with zero feedback from Foxy.

        • Joecashflow

          Or bounce one outside. He really haven’t had a extended chance to improvise. Just pounding between tackles so far. I think he gets 90+ this week.

      • Irish Sweetness

        That’s Mr. Perry. Looking forward to getting him back.

  • MB30SD

    Nice, but sad La Jolla poem jeff.

    Next time you’re in town let me know and I’ll show you the good spots. I am a mighty mighty la jolla viking after all.

    • Scharfinator

      I was kind of wondering if he was taking a lighthearted jab at your lifestyle when I read it.

      • MB30SD

        YOOOOUUUU MOOOOOTHERFUUUCKER!!!!

      • SC Dave

        Dude, we sooo need to go visit MB together.

    • AlbertInTucson

      Muy triste.

      • MB30SD

        claro caballero

        • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

          did you just call Al a donkey?

          • MB30SD

            Caballero traditionally describes the horseman, or cowboy. It’s a term of endearment given to any friend or very familiar elder. It’s a sign of casual respect. Claro loosely means ‘yes, of course’

            …but yes, kind of.

          • AlbertInTucson

            And,” Claro que si” I knew that.

            A donkey is a Burro.

  • The GP
    • AlbertInTucson

      “A Tale OF Two Halves.”

      Halftime in the Browns’ locker room: “Hey, hey! We’re IN this thing.”

      Halftime in the Bengals’ locker room: “Hey! It’s just the Browns over there! Time to quit screwin’ around.”

    • MB30SD

      that kid is such a shitweasel

  • The GP

    Lions shitcan Gm and president leave Caldwell in place.

    Ginny should give thanks at thanksgiving for the Ford family. Even more incompetent than George and Teddy Ballgame

    • AlbertInTucson

      The Lions were once a viable franchise. Then, the Ford Family took over.

      • MB30SD

        ancient history Al. This is the what have you done for me lately league… and the lions haven’t been viable for decades.

        • AlbertInTucson

          All linked to the Ford family acquiring the team.

          • MB30SD

            some families just have bad juju Al. Feels vaguely familiar doesn’t it?

          • AlbertInTucson

            The Fords make the McCaskeys look like Robert Kraft.

    • AlbertInTucson

      Caldwell figures to be “Lame Duck Walking”?

  • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

    Another gem of a poem, by the way blogfather! Maybe my favorite yet.

  • MB30SD

    There’s something nagging at me guys, and I just can’t seem to place it.

    Like it’s a special time, or day or something. Like I should be giving you all something, but I can’t seem to jog my memory.

    Little help???

    • The GP

      • MB30SD

        A hot 22 yr old model with 2 vaginas!

        My dream girl!

        …Oh, wait. Just got to the part about 3-week long periods. Uh, no thanks. Mother nature can be so so cruel.

        And holy shit about that dude. Poor guy.

        • The GP

          I know this makes me the worst person ever, but when he talks about how he jizzed into his dad’s casket I just lost it.

          • MB30SD

            hahahaha… you are horrible!

            So I was wondering about the logistics of it all. So he needs to wear an adult diaper huh? talk about too much of a good thing. sheesh

          • The GP

            You know it’s fake, right? There’s no reputable medical cases of this.

            The dude is just batshit insane.

          • MB30SD

            he just seemed as dumb as a bag of hammers to me. wtf do I know.

          • Irish Sweetness

            Dude, you’ve never been to an Irish wake?

  • MB30SD
  • MB30SD
    • Huge Bear’s Penis

      poor taste man. lol

      • HaHa

        i thought it was funny

  • The GP
  • The GP

    Adam Potash, who is the “who is that guy?” amongst Bears beat reporters – sqaures off on the Schlub’s site with some other guy

    http://www.chicagofootball.com/2015/11/05/take-2-injuries-lack-of-talent-to-blame-for-close-bears-losses/axzvwwo/

    • Trac

      I hope the kid has a great game.

    • Viva
      • MB30SD

        Holy shit… how about we try him at im fucking lb.

        daaaaamn, dude looks all on SWOOOOOOLE!!

      • Irish Sweetness

        I’d have him on the PS after seeing that, good for him. He’s not sitting at home feeling sorry for himself. Go Joe.

    • Viva

      How many games do we need to lose to go 11-5?

      • MB30SD

        Five?

      • sorry for the delayed response. the math was hard. came out to 5. we need to lose 5 to go 11-5.

    • Johnnywad

      Hell, bring him back to Chicago. The coverage teams could definitely use him.

      • Bender McLugh

        Man seriously

  • The GP

    Raiders 1992 first round pick Anthomy Smith murdered three dudes.

    He tied them to chairs and branded Colts horseshoes into their faces

    #strangedays

    • Huge Bear’s Penis

      hmmm…. Lawrence Phillips, Aaron Hernandez, Sam Hurd, Darren Sharper, Rae Carruth, OJ Simpson, David Megget, now Smith, and probably more…. I am thinking they are well on their way to having a team to do a real life re-enactment of “The Longest Yard”.

  • Viva

    Rivers…

    • MB30SD

      FUCKING DEAD!!!!

  • MB30SD

    Whoops, sorry huge bear’s penis. Wrong kink… I mean THIS ONE : https://instagram.com/explore/tags/boobs/

    • MB30SD

      My bad guys, my bad

      • Huge Bear’s Penis

        much better, although the other link gave me a good laugh

        • MB30SD

          Excellent

    • Irish Sweetness

      The box of chocolate goodies was the best … two Kinder eggs too. Yes.

  • Bender McLugh

    I have a good feeling about the game. That never bodes well

  • Irish Sweetness

    Do we have a center yet? Is Slauson still in there?

  • Trac

    DaBearsBlog @dabearsblog

    “Promised myself I wouldn’t Tweet on this trip…but I hope Greg Hardy is beaten to death.”

    Jeff, you make it soo easy. Hahaha

  • Irish Sweetness

    Joniak’s keys to the game. Rivers completed all 22 passes of 10 yards or less last week. Maybe Fangio decides to call a blitz play this week. Y’know, just the one, check it out.

  • The GP
    • Trac

      The days of the student athlete are long gone GP.

    • MB30SD
    • AlbertInTucson

      From the wife who made the TV spot in which she had to tell Matthew that it was NOT his bye week.

    • BearDown100393

      Brings up the Wonderlic. Lol.

      • MB30SD

        38. Lot better than I thought. Not a total dumb ass obviously

        • Irish Sweetness

          If she takes the Wonderlic, I’ve got her in the Frank Gore bracket.

  • The GP

    Incredible shelf cloud on tstorm side rolls past Sydney

    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CTIuGS_WEAAd8dj.jpg

  • Big Mike

    Wisconsin has a great system/culture for running the ball. Sometimes the pieces are less than the sum of the whole (Gabe Carimi). i think the opponent QB rating is a hell of a stat and the correlation is obvious. I’m surprised it surprised Jeff.

  • Big Mike

    I’m exactly where i thought I’d be with regards to the beloved. As the season was approaching I was excited, but pretty much resigned to the fact that by November if the DC area caught a late indian summer day and it was a sunday, I’d probably go golfing. I’ve got 18 scheduled at the club tomorrow afternoon, figuring i’d miss the beginning of the game. Just realized game was Monday night. So bonus, get to see the whole game, but my “meh” feelings is about right. I don’t dislike this team, but it’s like watching a baby draw. Cute, but not that interesting.

  • Dabears3216

    This is going to be a great game to watch tonight. Both teams have something to prove and what better stage than MNF to do just that. Heres a cool look at the matchup! https://realfootballnetwork.com/blog/2015/11/06/week-9-bears-at-chargers/

© Da' Bears Blog