257 Comments

FrontRowTickets.com Game Preview: Bears Attempt to Get a Season Going in Kansas City

| October 9th, 2015

dabearsblog banner

BLOCK EM AND BEAT EM!

If the Chiefs, with nine sacks on the season, don’t get to the opposing quarterback, it’s over. That might be true for many teams but it’s particularly true for a team with Justin Houston, Tamba Hali and Allen Bailey. Houston has three sacks and per Gil Brandt leads the league in total pressures with 19. He’s a magnificent player. What are the solutions? Well Hue Jackson, Andy Dalton and Bengals provided them…

  • Quick passing game that’s been effective under Cutler through two and a half games. (See the single play breakdown below) The Chiefs secondary is awful so Cutler has to get the ball into the hands of his receivers and give them a chance to make plays.
  • Read option looks. Dalton is not a running quarterback but the Bengals showed enough read option, specifically to Houston’s side, to keep the rush on its heels. Can Cutler’s hamstring be healed enough to even hint at the possibility of a run threat?
  • Power run game up the middle. This should be a week where the Bears pound Forte up the gut and allow Kyle Long to release off the line of scrimmage after Houston. Houston is an excellent pass rusher but he’s a bit lost in run support. Long should be able to muscle him off the line.

THE GAME POEM

On the head of an arrow

lay a drop of blood

Darker than red

thicker than mud

To feel it

is to remember life

The sharpened blade

of this tribal knife

SINGLE PLAY BREAKDOWN

The first play call for Cincinnati against Kansas City Sunday was  a stroke of genius because it set the tone for the entirety of their game plan. Let’s take a look.

Image One: The Formation

Tyler Eifert was lined up in front of Justin Houston on the right side of the offensive line but slid over to the left. Houston, at this point, must think the Bengals are running the ball away from him.

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 10.25.05 AM

Image Two: The Movement

Eiffel runs a basic drag route under his offensive line. Houston engages him.

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 10.25.26 AM

Image Three: The 16 Yard Gain

Eifert releases. Houston is caught in no man’s land. He’s not covering Eifert. He’s nowhere near Dalton. 16 yards.

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 10.26.00 AM

Justin Houston is this good. He demands this kind of precision from the offensive play-caller.

THOUGHT ON THE CHIEFS OFFENSE

Here is what can happen when you throw the ball down the field:

  • Catch – positive
  • Incompletion – negative, but not a crippling one
  • Interception – negative, possibly crippling one
  • Illegal Contact – first down
  • Holding – first down
  • Pass Interference – first down equal to catch

The rules are designed to allow quarterbacks to put the ball in the air. Not taking advantage of those rules is not just conservative. It’s wrong.

IRISH VIDEO OF THE WEEK

(One of those people must be Irish.)

WATCH OUT FOR DE’ANTHONY THOMAS

Dave Toub is the best special teams coach in the NFL and Thomas had a few explosive plays in recent weeks called back due to penalties. With the way the Bears are covering kicks, it might only take one opportunity for Thomas to change the game.

THREE BEARS OF INTRIGUE

  • Alex Smith isn’t going over the top of the Bears secondary often. But he likes to hit wide receivers, specifically Jeremy Maclin, in stride. Adrian Amos and whoever lines up beside him have to keep those plays in front of them. Bears can live with 15 yards gains. They can’t allow 15 yard gains to become 40s.
  • Vic Fangio has Shea McClellin in position to make plays. Shea isn’t making them. Against an offense that like to hit their tight end over the middle of the field and throw to their back, McClellin will be tested Sunday.
  • Marquess Wilson had his best game as a professional Sunday against the Raiders. But can he put back-to-back performances together? If you play a few solid games in a row, that’s called having a season. Throw a few seasons together and suddenly you have a career.

GAME PREDICTION

Bears defense lets Chiefs move the ball but closes them down in the red zone, forcing multiple field goals. Cutler and Bears offense take advantage of banged up secondary for some big plays.

Chicago Bears 26, Kansas City Chiefs 22

_______________________

Sell Chicago Bears Tickets

Tagged: , , ,

  • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

    wake up you lazy motherfuckers, ain’t you never heard of Ben Franklin? I’ve already made 2,000 today and y’all still dreamin about Kate Upton…..

    • Viva

      Get some

      • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

        full disclosure, i was only up because my 3yr old woke me up at 4am after leaping out of his crib…..because he wanted donuts and hash browns from dunkin donuts.

        • Viva

          If you ain’t jonesing for hash browns and donuts you ain’t jonesing at all.

        • Viva

          Mary (and Rory) is pregnant. Happy for them both!

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            it makes me very happy to hear that Viva.

          • MB30SD

            Did I miss the fucking memo?!?!

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            It turns out that Viva is related to a young married couple that I have known since highschool. They had a tough situation a while back and lost toddler to cancer. They just found out they are expecting again.

          • MB30SD

            Awesome maings. Congrats both of you (and them).

            Fuck, I don’t know how I would go on living if that happened to me. My god. knocking on wood now.

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            no shit man

          • Viva

            I swear to God that I have given my kids a thousand extra hugs a day since Danny Boy passed away.

            Thanks for the well wishes MB!!

        • MB30SD

          btw, your 3 yr old is a badass

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            he flipped his legs over the top rung and used pure arm strength to lower himself down like a reverse Tony motherfucking Horton pullup so he wouldn’t hit his chin on the way down….like he had the 3 times before. i watched it on the monitor after i heard rustling down the hall.

          • MB30SD

            hahahahahaha… you thinking MLB or Safety?

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            Math and Science….with a highschool internship with the hedge fund accounting division of Northern Trust???

          • MB30SD

            that works too. I keep forgetting that I probably won’t let mine play unless they figure out a way to stop concussions. Was just habit.

            I was chatting up a hot mom the other day as our kids played in a fountain. She goes, “your daughter is so beautiful. She has amazing eyes. Do you have her in modeling yet?”

            I shot her this incredulous WTF are you talking about look and said in a snippy tone, “uhhhhh, she’s reading 4 levels above everyone in her class. I have her in CEO training.”

            Hahahaha…

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            and yadda yadda yadda…..I made her a badassmotherfucking double shot caramel mocha latte and kicked her the
            fuck out early to come grabass with you bastards before I go surf, then
            to my first meeting at 9. BOOYAH!

    • MB30SD

      I just made last night’s date a badassmotherfucking double shot caramel mocha latte and kicked her the fuck out early to come grabass with you bastards before I go surf, then to my first meeting at 9. BOOYAH!

      • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

        haha, you win.

        • MB30SD

          I play real sports yonny, I’m not trying to be the best at exercising.

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            haha, if i surfed at the beach that is closest to my house i’d ride a 1 foot wave right into a reef and by reef i mean a rusted out Oldsmobile Cutlass used in a 1987 double murder that is now covered in medical waste.

          • MB30SD

            sounds lovely. At least there aren’t any sharks

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene
          • MB30SD

            Dude, fuck spiders. Jesus.

          • Irish Sweetness

            Fuck the Chiefs. Fuck spiders.

  • dmckendree@post.com

    Wishful thinking.

    • chitownproud85

      Agreed, but I’m on the kool-aid too. Bears win, and I have no idea why. I honestly think it has a lot more to due with my assumption of KC ineptitude(much like the Raiders last week) than it does my belief that the Bears can go get one on the road. I would not flinch at all of the Chiefs won handily. Ill believe in progress when I see it consistently.

  • This game scares me because of all the Bears’ injuries. Here’s hoping they can still pull one off.

    • Viva

      Bring on Grassu.

    • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

      Wood, if Cutler doesn’t perform with a patchwork OL, injured and slightly average WR’s it’s because he’s a bum and a bottom tier QB. Everyone knows that.

      No White, No Alshon, Royal banged up, No Center, No LT, No RG and a suspect D AND Specials…

      Bear Down, we’ll stiill win

      • Viva

        Bottom line. Fuck the Chiefs.

        • MB30SD

          DEAD

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            Smith Dead
            Charles Dead
            Maclin Dead
            Kelce Dead

          • MB30SD

            REID….. DEAD

            (of a massive and sudden myocardial infarction)

          • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

            eheha eheha….you said infarction.

    • Big Mike

      No reason to be scared. After the 0-3 start I think everyone wrote the entire season off. So merely not getting beat by 30 pts was the objective, wasn’t it?

      • MB30SD

        jeeeeees! Theeeeeeeees miiiiike!

        • Big Mike

          I’m just excited the Bears showed a pulse. After the first 3 weeks, I was fearful that we might not be competitive at any point this season. So the fact that we might be in this game in KC is pretty exciting news. Bookies say it’s a blow out.

          If we get to the bye week at 3-5, I will be proud of this team.

          • MB30SD

            Know what I am super excited about… and was the only two things I was hoping to see this year….

            1. Some sort of fire, energy, fight, will to win (even if they didn’t)

            2. The start of the formation of a new regime and team and unit identity

            I think we’re starting to see both. I fully trust in the coaches we have now based on history alone. I think we still need to get someone new for specials. What we have there simply won’t work.

            All in all I am please with what I’ve seen, especially given all of the injuries. I’ve also been very impressed with cutty’s progression. Dude’s going to throw one bad INT a game, just plug that into the formula.

          • Big Mike

            I’m with you. I’m seeing passion. Sutton/Ferguson/Goldman look happy up front. The rookie safety Amos, has been better back there than we’ve seen in a while. Mcphee.. Nice..

          • Viva

            Dis!

          • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

            i saw a pulse during the 1st halves of all 3 of those games and even into the 2nd. If Cutty plays we have life because a D stop could actually result in points.

  • Viva

    Bears 34
    Chiefs 18

    • The GP

      excellent avatar

      • Viva

        I love that movie.

    • MB30SD

      (excited oprah voice,,,)

      ….and you get an up vote!

      ….and you get an up vote!

      ….and you get an up vote!

      • Pissed Off

        …..Everybody gets an up voooooooote!

    • Irish Sweetness

      I backed us twice. ATS and straight up. Alex Smith is going to get roasted on a spit.

  • chitownproud85

    KC has been pretty rough. The Bears have been pretty rough. This will likely be an ugly game, but because I apparently adore pain, my heart AND mind are conspiring to convince me that we can/should win this. Why? An improving defense and the early return of Cutty resulted in a SQUEAK(EMPHASIS)-OUT win against the pffft Raiders IN Chicago. The Chiefs at Arrowhead? 1 win in 8 games is not a reason to think we can go on the road and beat ANYONE. SHOW ME it was about improvement and not about a bed-shitting by the Raiders. We were here after the Packers game too, and how did that work out? See? Even this 1 paragraph comment is all over the place and rambling and disjointed. The Bears, my beloved Bears, are literally making me crazy. Shit.

    • Big Mike

      They just aren’t a very good team yet. They will continue to improve this season. If they ever get healthy they might go on a run. Jefferey and Ratliffe coming back would be huge. Bushrod coming back would be huge.

    • Viva

      I just want them to continue to fucking compete! (and erase all memories of 2014)

    • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

      You must be a new fan. They’ve been making me crazy since the late eighties.

  • The Yes Guy

    Yes!

    • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

      haha, that actually made me laugh out loud. Well timed sir.

    • Viva

      Dear Yes Guy,

      Are you gay? (NTTAWWT)

  • The GP

    Mully dragged up a rumor that Jeffery is dogging it.

    Rumors:

    Jeffery just doesn’t like football and being hit
    Jeffery wants out of Chicago and is saving himself for the FA contract he knows will come if he plays or not

    The kid may just be soft

    • Just playing Rival GM here, but wouldn’t I give more money to a receiver who plays than a guy who has been able to stay on the field for only 1 out of 4 seasons?

      • willbest

        You want a guy who can stay on the field, but then Jeffery is talented. So there is probably a money # where he is worth the risk. If Jeffery is going to take say a 5-year $35 million with $15 million guaranteed you are going to jump on it.

      • Sactowns#1

        Well Jay got paid didn’t he?

        • QB and WR are two very different jars of candy.

    • MB30SD

      yuck

    • Bear Down in Tampa

      There may be something to that, he had hammy issues last year that he played through. Whatever tho, if he wants out of here to go cash in somewhere else then so be it, we can tag and trade him and move on. Don’t really want players here that don’t want to be here.

      • MB30SD

        THEEEEEES!

    • Pissed Off

      You don’t say. I just got reamed for having that opinion on the prior thread.

      • MB30SD

        I agreed with you, for what it’s worth.

        (and I told you about that ‘whole body of work’ thing)

        • Pissed Off

          Yes you did, I read it last night. There was another guy who thought I was cray cray though….actually a few

          • MB30SD

            Naw, we just don’t want that to be the truth.

            I never really got the love. Dude made some circus catches, but my man BMarsh was the driving force. Now that he’s not here kicking alshon’s ass erra day, we have the real alshon.

            I say if he doesn’t come back soon and have a monster year, we fucking offload his fat lazy ass for some picks post haste. Fuck lazy people.

          • Pissed Off

            But AJ should have learned something from Bmarsh not? I guess if the fact is that he just doesn’t like being hit, etc. and he only did it while Bmarsh was here because Bmarsh would call him out and make him play and be tough we’ll then what can we do

          • MB30SD

            He’s lazy. You either are or aren’t. If someone badass isn’t dragging you along, and you’re lazy… when that person is gone you revert to who you really are.

          • 505 Bears

            Sounds like a little Denny Green there…He is who we thought he was…or he actually bamboozled us to think he was something better

          • Pissed Off

            Yeah thanks a lot Bmarsh

          • CanadaBear

            I think you’re making a giant leap in logic. You know there is the possibility that he’s hurt. Not saying he isn’t a cream puff but I just don’t think any of us really know.

          • Irish Sweetness

            Me too, let’s trade him for a second. We’ve got receivers.

    • willbest

      It might be that Jeffery’s agent has already told him he isn’t going to get 13+ million from anybody without a monster season. But he will find plenty of takers in the 9 million/yr 20-25 mil guaranteed range so long as he puts up a solid 6-7 games. And given the state of the Bears and the regime change, it is possible that he is now playing for himself rather than for the Bears

    • 505 Bears

      Is he out for Sunday, for sure? I am just now able to catch up on everything Bears and haven’t seen anything either way….I say f**k him if he doesn’t suit up. Press forward with the guys that have the heart and drive to actually play and let him go try to get a paycheck somewhere else. Ship him off to Dallas for some picks…whatever

    • Johnnywad

      It’s possible. That said, rumors were also flying two weeks ago that Cutty had a concussion, a separated shoulder, and/or a torn hammy. Who the hell knows? Im going to wait and see what he does on the field. If it isn’t spectacular once he’s back over the balance of the season……fuck’em. Let’s see what White’s got. Pick up another vet next year and off we go.

  • Pissed Off

    Looking at the offense the Bears can put up some points if the pieces around Cutler can perform decent and Cutler himself doesn’t shit the bed. He did last week but recovered nicely. Anyone who think’s the INT was on Bennett is just wrong. Now again that’s my opinion, if you want to make an argument that Bennett was supposed to stop and be going the other direction mid route or his go go gadget arms were supposed to go the opposite way he was running and grab the ball in front of the defender that’s fine, please don’t attack me, it’s just my opinion.

    The Cutler apologists will say he has no pieces around him and the pieces around him are hurt or terrible or both as an excuse to let him off the hook for anything. I’m sure all the good QB’s in the league have had elite talent around them at all times and at no point have they been expected to go out and get it done against a below average team (KC).

    Sure it would be nice to have AJ out there but the guys on the o-line and everywhere else are still professionals and here’s to hoping they play like them so the Cutler apologists don’t have more excuses to lean on. I just want the team as a whole to pass the eye test. They took a big step in that direction last week. I’m not expecting playoffs or anything but it would be nice to see continued improvement week after week and a win or two against a team that might be unexpected. The first three teams we played don’t fall into that category cuz I don’t think we were beating them anyway. A victory over KC while unexpected (says vegas, etc) would be a nice one to get that falls in that category.

    The defense, who knows. I don’t think Smith gets too rattled. He’s seems like a cool customer who’s typically in command so I think it’s more important to focus on limiting Charles, Maclin and Kelce, than it is getting to Smith and putting some hits on him. However if you’re constantly getting pressure on the QB play after play some of that other stuff takes care of itself. I’m not sure what kind of battle this is going to be…..do you guys think we could win in a shootout style game? If it comes to it I think we’re ready for the challenge we just can’t have the fatal dagger. I’m hoping it wont come to that as the defense seems to be improving weekly.

    • willbest

      Everybody but Tom Brady and Aaron Rodgers throws INTs. A QB doesn’t shit the bed when he throws one. Particularly the ones that are intercepted and downed 35-40 yards from the LOS. That is barely worse than punting.

      And about punting, Pickles didn’t throw an INT against Seattle and that worked out swimmingly for the offense.

      • Pissed Off

        My opinion ( I feel like I must use this disclaimer) is that the not every INT is a “shit the bed” INT. Cutler seems to have more than the average of “shit the bed” INT’s which I classify as late in game INT’s in a close game that could be the decider. Basically INT’s we just cant have at crucial times late in games. You can argue that we were not going to win the GB game anyway but that was a “shit the bed” INT and we didnt even have a chance because of it and while I’ll also say the Oakland INT was of the “shit the bed” variety as well we luckily had enough time, the D had a nice stop, and he did a great job of marching down the field for a long FG. If we lose that game I believe many others would be laying a lot of blame on Cutler for losing that game, but instead we are celebrating him for getting us back down the field for a w which I concur with. It’s nice to see that.

        The punt analogy is irrelevant (in my opinion) to the late game INT in which it may cost us a chance to win which is what I’m arguing here. We can’t have them at that time. I agree on almost any other INT. Hell I like taking shots downfield a few times a game. I made that point on a prior thread that we dont do it enough. If it gets picked off, it gets picked off, it’s like punt. But we can’t have that late in tight games.

        And regarding your whole punting premise, where did I say anything about punting or are you just bringing that up to make a point about something else? pickles didn’t throw an INT but he’d have to throw the ball 40 yards first. And to your first point, the Bennett INT was not 35-40 yards from the LOS. Correct me if I’m wrong there. So i’m not sure what point your making there either.

        • willbest

          I was just emphasizing that not all INTs are horrible. And coughing up the ball on your opponents 10 yard line with nearly 7 minutes left to play with 2 time outs while you are up 2 points is not a complete F up.

          It obviously wasn’t the good, but it was a lot better mistake than Eli tossing it out of the end zone and stopping the clock on 3rd down and then having the Cowboys pull out the win because they had the extra 35 seconds. Particularly in light of the kill clock strategy he had emphasized to the RB.

          Hell, the biggest shitting of the bed happened when Fox called a time out leaving 7 seconds on the clock. The previously play ended with under 40 seconds left. He should have ran that bad boy down to 2-3 seconds. Instead he decided he was going to rely on our crack shot special teams not to F it up.

          • Pissed Off

            Good as gould

      • BerwynBomber

        Rodgers yes, and to a lesser degree Brady. But the all QBs throw INTs suggestion is too generically forgivable in regard to Cutler. He has led the league in INTs a couple of times. He is not always the average transgressor in that department.

        Unfortunately, all three of his picks this year have been killers. But on the flip side, he has moved the offense well. That is the key difference, IMO, from last year.

        We will see how those conflicting narratives — TOs vs. offensive production — define the remainder of his season.

        • Pissed Off

          Wow if i was smart enough I could have just condensed my comment into that, nicely done.

        • willbest

          I disagree. The packers one was the nail in a coffin

          The second one was pretty close to ideal in its timing, and the score of the game. It was only killer in that it literally killed his hamstring.

          The third one was clearly not killer as the Bears recovered from it. It gave the ball to the raiders on their 10 with 6:50 left in the quarter. And if Fox wasn’t such a conservative nutter they had time for two more plays to make it a sub 40 kick. And if the hook and ladder had worked no doubt it would be Fox’s pies poor time out skills.

          But lets say hypothetically the Bears went 3 and out (though they were close enough for a moderately easy FG) instead of an INT. Would you then be talking about Forte’s killer fumble? Because quite frankly, you expect the INTs from Cutler. But if you as a D all of a sudden have to start covering for Forte too. That has to be rough.

          • Irish Sweetness

            Any kudos to Clay Matthews on that INT? Can an interception never be just a great play by a defender?

            And let’s not forget how hard the D was hustling to keep us in it after Robbie missed an XP. people who want to piss on Jay for 3 passes out of 88 … well, that’s hard, because this is not the same Jay that was throwing WTF? TDs for the last 6 years.

    • Johnnywad

      So wait……now its not cool to attack one for having an opinion? When I suggested Monday the Bears had a moderate chance to be .500 by mid season, and they weren’t a horrible bottom feeding team, and that the Raiders might be as good as the Chiefs, Vikings and Lions……you jumped on that opinion as being that of a Kool-Aid drinking Homer that’s just saying “stupid shit”.

      Funny how things change. Buck up camper. Sometimes people on the internet disagree with you.

      • Pissed Off

        Too lazy to check but you or someone else first said to me something about how I said “stupid shit” I would never say that to or about anyone without it first being used on me. It was retaliation at best. I stand by mi Kool aid comment as that is pretty tame. What i have a problem with is people saying I said “stupid shit” or my “bullshit opinions” or anything else vulgar that’s all. People can argue with me all day long, and they often do but sometimes the commentary is over the line and that’s the only time I retaliate in a rude way. I must just attract a lot of hate….seemingly more than others for my comments. I’m realizing why i was gone so long.

        • Johnnywad

          Nope. I said you Piss and moan a lot. Seems to be your thing. I was actually poking a bit at your handle combined with your overall outlook on the Bears.

          I wouldn’t stop posting if I were you. Your thoughts arent without merit by my book. The reality of this team lies somewhere between your take and mine. Could well be closer to yours.

          Just quit qualifying shit as your opinion. Dave is a crabby old bastard anyway. Just ask him. He’ll agree.

          • Pissed Off

            That’s sound familiar, I think I came back from your piss and moan statement with “saying stupid shit”. I’ll take your word regarding dave. I guess I need to learn about the guys more and who I might potentially need to ignore or at least take their comments with a grain of salt knowing they might just be “crabby old bastards”.

  • MB30SD

    fascinating article of the day: http://www.cnn.com/2015/10/09/health/information-overload-daniel-levitin/index.html

    Fuck, so my complex dayglo mexican tux, clown shoes, and bowler’s hat means something doesn’t it?

  • RenoBear

    Fuck it. We’re running off the next two wins. Going into our week 7 bye at 3-3. So it is said, so it shall be done. Finally got a workout in and got some endorphins flowing, good shit.. BEAR DOWN, Fuckers!

    • willbest

      The way you can attack KC through the air, and what a mess Detroit’s offense is, I think there is a non trivial chance that happens (10-15%)

    • Viva

      Jarvis Jenkins is a stud. Nanny is a stud. Goldie is a stud. Rat is a stud.
      Our D gets better every game. Fuck the Chiefs.

    • 505 Bears

      I like the enthusiasm…..I’m on board with it!!

    • can’t go 13-3 without winning 3.

      • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

        Germans?

        • Irish Sweetness

          Germans? You mean that world-class soccer team that just went down in flames to the Irish 1-0 ??? Oh.

  • FQD1911

    MB – are you on any social media networks? Let’s exchange info and plan on doing something on either Sunday, game day (or both…if your schedule permits).

    • MB30SD

      naw, are you in contact with 85 and his fantasy league… 85′ has my #?

      • Johnnywad

        Thought you were IheartHardin@myspace.com

        • MB30SD

          dude!!! don’t give out my personal deets on the innernessess!!!

      • Trac

        I thot you had a twat account. My bad. Hee hee.

        • MB30SD

          Oh I do trac, I do.

      • FQD1911

        nah…just shoot an e-mail to me real quick: fqd1911@gmail.com

        • MB30SD

          sent

  • CanadaBear

    I don’t like the Bears chances this week. Besides all the injuries and KC’s pass rushers, the biggest issue for me is ST’s. They have Toub and the Bears have crapola. Toub routinely out schemed teams with good ST’s, I can’t imagine what he will cook up this Sunday. I could see a couple TD’s (1 punting, 1 kickoff) and massive field reversal all day.

    • Viva

      You know I have a man crush on DT.

    • Sactowns#1

      Is your argument really “special teams will win the game for KC”? http://memecrunch.com/meme/EIAY/c-mon-man

      • CanadaBear

        I think it will be a factor for sure. I think they will whip the Bears either way but I think they have a huge advantage on ST’s. I can see the Bears being pinned in their end all day.

    • Huge Bear’s Penis

      STs can be negated a little through directional kicking and kickoffs out of the back of the endzone. Charles is the motherfucker that scares me. I can see him taking a dump off in the flat to the house at least 2x.

    • Irish Sweetness

      Then a heavy bet on KC at 1/6 or KC-10 is in your near future, C-Bear ….

  • CanadaBear

    The Ravens are sure to win this weekend with Knute Rockne getting them all fired up.

    http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000553100/article/with-smith-out-trestman-calling-for-ravens-to-step-up

  • FourFeathers

    Chiefs — 27
    Bears — 17

    • Johnnywad

      Bullshit. All of it.

    • MB30SD

      garbage.

    • Irish Sweetness

      Well, I only got +9 and 7/2, so I hope not …..

  • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

    Happy Friday!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • DocNitty Ellipsoids Ornamental

    I, like the rest of you, knew this season was not going to be pretty. I had no hopes for playoffs and only hoped to see a competitive team finding itself amidst a clear-cut rebuild. Hell, with Peanut, Briggsy, Urlacher, and all those guys gone, there really isn’t a player that I’m that enamored with. There are good young players that intrigued me like Goldman and free agents that intrigued me like McPhee, but maybe only Forte has earned the right to call this guy a fan. And he’s always been just a little bit too finesse for me. (Can you imagine him in a Bill Walsh led offense?). And so in a season without much hope or fanfare or really all that much to get excited about I’m amazed at how much impact a W has on my week.

    This week, my mood, my temperment, my outlook on life are all noticeably better. And why? Because my team beat the lowly Raiders? At home? It’s so perplexing to me from a philosophical perspective. The bears aren’t going anywhere this year. Probably not next year either. And yet the difference between a win and a loss in a stupid football game featuring nobody I give a damn about in a town half a country away has the ability to affect my whole week. It’s like I came alive for the first time since, what, last November? And then I was so disgusted with Nessman even those wins meant little by comparison.

    It’s just so weird that for a man in his forties with family dramas and money issues and job stress and the world going to hell in a hand basket around him (Oregon shooting, Isis…) that something so inconsequential as a W in a football game can have that effect on my life.

    Why the fuck is that and why can’t I stop it? (religious people: that was rhetorical).

    Oh well. Guess I’m still just that piss-ant teanage boy who still lives and breathes the beloved. So sue me.

    Bear Down.

    P.S. Dear six lb 10 oz baby jesus. Please allow this good feeling to continue one more week. Amen.

    • Johnnywad

      I love this post. Perhaps my favorite. I feel the same and am no closer to explaining it than you.

    • The GP

      Because the things you connect with deeply by the age of 14 define core aspects of who you are. Because football and football operations is increasingly how the rest of capitalist society operates – people see other people in the way they see their football players.

    • Pissed Off

      I have said those same things many times in my life, before I was older and had responsibilities and after now in my 30s. For me it’s sad that a Bears game can affect my life that much, far more than it affects any of the players or coaches who are actually on the team. It’s not like I linger on everything they do or cant function without them winning but I will noticeably be a happier person and nicer, etc. week to week if the Bears win and things are awesome when they are good for a whole season…just ask my wife. Some of those seasons back in mid 00s were the best of my life.

    • Irish Sweetness

      Answer : Tribalism ; reflected glory.

      Now back up, can’t see us going anywhere next year?

      2106 That’s our Superbowl season, baby. This is 1984 mofo. Sit back and enjoy the show!

    • Oaktown34

      Wow! So fuckin on the money. A Bears’ W > than a lot of shit!

  • Alshon and Royal both missed practice today. Both questionable, technically.
    And Bushrod is out, Rolle doubtful. McPhee missed practice and is questionable.

    • BerwynBomber

      What’s up with McPhee?
      P.S. If Wilson doesn’t grab his chance now, he never will.

    • Long, Omameh, Ball, Ratliff also questionable.

      On the bright side, O’Donnell is probable, so Jeff is happy.

      • Pissed Off

        Wouldn’t your list be quicker if you just listed the guys who are gonna play?

      • CanadaBear

        I’d be happier if PO’D was a better punter.

        • he’s been good this year

          • CanadaBear

            Still don’t trust him. He was barely better than Podlesh last season. He seems slow punting the ball. Almost every kick seems like it might get blocked.

      • Irish Sweetness

        You do realize ‘questionable’ means ‘playing Sunday’ …. right?

    • AlbertInTucson

      WELL. you’re just a FOUNTAIN of good news today, aren’t you, JW?

  • The GP

    If anybody can fuck up a home game that he oughta win, it’s Andy Reid.

  • MB30SD

    Wait just one minute!

    …Isn’t it Titties Friday!?!?!?!

  • So I compiled the injuries… here’s the status of their offense:
    QB: questionable
    RB: good!
    TE: good!
    LT: out
    LG: backup questionable, he’d likely be starting with the LG at C if healthy
    C: out
    RG: good (except he picks up 2-3 penalties a game)
    RT: questionable
    WR1: questionable
    WR2: questionable
    WR3: out (White)
    So… all good, right?

    • Sactowns#1

      It’s getting pretty long but lets hope the WR’s and QB are all good this week.

  • Huge Bear’s Penis

    With the secrecy Fox deals with most aspects of this team especially the “Injury Report”, I am not shocked that Jeffery or anyone else is listed as questionable. There are many people posting that AJ is just lazy, or does not want to play. History shows us that Jeffery is a tad injury prone, and last year we saw how ineffective he was for a couple games when he was trying to play with a bum wheel. Could it be that Jeffery’s injury was more severe than we were first lead to believe? Could it be that he wants to be on the field but the training staff is keeping him off the field? Absolutely. But as Pissed Off has stated in a post last thread where he utilized his special reading between the lines glasses, it could be that he is just lazy and just doesn’t give a fuck about getting back on the field. Yet last year showed that he was willing to play somewhat through injury. So what does this all mean? WHO THE FUCK KNOWS!!!

    • The GP

      Hub called Jeffery the shyest Bear he has ever known. He won’t talk to reporters.

      So it’s hard to know.

      • SC Dave

        He is from a small town in Central South Carolina. Probably learned from his father to not talk too much. Especially to white people you don’t know.

    • BearDown100393

      He’d probably list himself and the other coaches questionable if required by NFL/FanDuel.

      • SC Dave

        So this. Gambling now officially rules the NFL

    • AlbertInTucson

      EVERY team in the NFL, and the NHL for that matter, treats injuries and the reporting of them like they were part of the Manhattan Project.

    • Pissed Off

      As you said it’s not just me that thinks he may be a lazy fuck …(.biggsy and others on da blog) but as another has so eloquently stated I think the bmarsh factor is not to be underestimated.but as you said who the fuck knows ….the truth could be somewhere in between?

      • Huge Bear’s Penis

        in years past we would get a little more detail on injuries. like this was a grade 2 sprain or a grade 3 tear of this or that muscle. now all we here is this guy has an ankle and that guy has a knee and so and so has a hamstring. now very little detail.

  • The GP

    Drummond, a legendary mob reporter – looks like he’s gonna whack those Bears fans

    • DaMurph

      Bulldog!!!

  • MB30SD
  • The GP

    She’s a soothsayer for the Dems, and her name is Crystal Ball. Nice.

    http://images.checkthisyo.com/000/180/410/desktop-1429741283.jpg

    • MB30SD

      8.5

      • The GP

        Her mouth is too small.

        • MB30SD

          you’d be surprised.

          The “journalist” below is an 11

        • Pissed Off

          Can you say duck face

          • MB30SD

            Duck face

    • Trac

      Aah, so msnbc now uses the Fox model by hiring ex porn stars as well?

      • MB30SD

        Jes please

      • willbest

        Lot of lesbians watch MSNBC. This could really help with their target audience.

  • The GP

    I would cast Mark Wahlberg as Janis Joplin for the biopic.

    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CON87okWcAAH7Uf.jpg

    • MB30SD

      hahahahaha…. 100%

  • The GP

    Some Bears Chiefs video, narrated by a completely shitfaced Iron Mike

    https://youtu.be/JEYUFJcbmeI?t=315

  • The GP

    Berman tells them to go get their fucking shine box….

    • MB30SD

      Dude is such an ahole

      • SC Dave

        I’d use the c word for berman

        • MB30SD

          I can support that.

          Dude’s a cunt

  • BillW

    In reference to Doc’s eloquent post, I’ve often had similar thoughts. Part of it I think is the real stress everyday life can bring. Escaping through entertainment makes sense but somehow watching “gladiators” achieve success is more entertaining

    But it is clearly “cheating” of a sort to simply cheer on the team that happens to be doing well. We don’t always “choose” our team based on location but that is typically where it starts. Or from a parent who likely picked that team that way.

    Their success or failure isn’t “ours” but all the same we feel some pride or at least satisfaction in seeing our adopted heros do well. Or at least see them rise up from adversity

    Finally there is the nature of this sport. I hate that it can cause lifetime ailments. But I think it’s the perfect sport. Physical and mental. Skill and strategy. But above all, teamwork. Eleven guys all with a job to do every play. Not true of baseball or basketball. Certainly not soccer (hockey comes close)

    I cheer for the Hawks. Loved every Cup. Cheered for the Bulls. Loved every trophy.

    But if I were given the choice I’d trade the 6 Bulls championships and 3 recent Stanley Cups for one more SB win.

    • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

      Trade all of those years of glory and domination for another superbowl? Hell no.

      • BillW

        What can I say? I really like the Bears.

    • SC Dave

      Hockey is little different from soccer, bt otherwise an fine post

      • BillW

        Thanks. . And that’s what I meant. That hockey comes close to having the whole team part of every play

  • MB30SD

    So how about some baseball fellas?! Huh?

    Baseball… go cubs?

    • Johnnywad

      It’s Cutler’s fault.

      • MB30SD

        Always

  • MB30SD

    2 hours of titty friday left boys (pst): https://mobile.twitter.com/hashtag/tits?lang=en

  • Irish Sweetness

    Three Bears of intrigue .. but no Vladimir Ducasse? Holding penalties = drive killers. Install Tayo now.

    How about Grasu? Is this the debut of 160 starts for the young man?

  • Irish Sweetness

    1. Indeed, A-Rod and hair Brady have thrown zero INTs.

    2. 11 starting QBs are currently rated over 100. Having thrown 7 TDs and 1 INT, Eli is rated 96.

    3. 9 QBs are hitting more than 70% of their passes (the Cowboys have two of them!)

    4. The worst QBs in the NFL are Andrew Luck, Colin Kapernick and Ryan Mallett.

    5. In the bottom third of NFL QBs lies Peyton Manning. 5-4 TD-INTs, 80 QBR.

    (Insert Andrew Luck excuse here x———————————x)

    • MB30SD

      My bad guys, my bad

    • BerwynBomber

      Beside Luck stink-bombing, the QB surprise is how well Dalton has played. Pro Bowl level thus far.

      • willbest

        He generally has his act together when he isn’t on prime time. We will see how he is in November when he has back-to-back weeks in the national spotlight.

    • SC Dave

      Four games have been played. Dont care. Post it again early december

  • Irish Sweetness

    Fox news. Obama was visiting wherever the hell the latest school massacre occurred. Bunch of we-want-our-guns posters being brandished. Cut to overweight woman who says “I need as much ammunition as I can get to defend myself”.

    They say things like that in warzones.

    Aside: Three grown ass men are playing Madden on NFL Network right now. Is anyone watching them because I just turned off….

    • MB30SD

      She left out the word food irish, she meant she needs tons of ammo to defend her food cache.

      Similar topic. I saw fury road last night…. I heart Tom hardy.

      If you haven’t seen it, see Bronson with hardy staring. Dude is a good actor

      • MB30SD

        And there’s your problem… I see it now… yer watchin’ fox news.

        Yeeesh

        • willbest

          If you don’t watch Fox News how are you supposed to find out which third world middle eastern hellhole that has nothing to do with us we should bomb next?

          • MB30SD

            true story.

            I just watch it without the sound for the super uptight hot chicks.

    • SC Dave

      Good for them. Fuck big brother Obama

      • beninnorcal

        The best sign I saw said ‘Obama-free zone’

  • Johnnywad

    Can we please get the photo of the two young girls with their mouths duct taped shut removed from the top of the page Jeff? Jesus. That’s dark shit.

    • Trac

      Yes. I’ve mentioned it before. It only seems to pop up when I use my galaxy.

      • DaMurph

        Never saw it, a random thing?

        • BillW

          Saw it yesterday for the first time. These are sponsored ads for other sites and most are click bait. Very often the story doesn’t even include the picture that made you click on it. And the article itself often has ads that continually pop up and worse sometimes messages that says your phone or device has a virus. I wonder why Jeff uses them? Though I see them in other Disqus forums so maybe that’s where they come from.

          • DaBearsBlog

            It’s part of the deal with using a free comment system. They sell their own ads.

          • Johnnywad

            It’s gone now. Maybe they realized it sucks.

          • Viva

            Your Giant love is a bit premature, even by your own standard (i.e., when you think they suck they win SB’s). Truth is, when you thought they sucked they did….until they got hot and didn’t.

            In other words, they haven’t sucked enough yet.

        • Johnnywad

          It shows up on my phone evry time I check the site lately. Somehow, somebody makes money from the ads that show up above the comments. I don’t understand how, and I don’t care. No harm earning a buck, but that photo is creepy as hell. Tired of seeing it.

        • Trac

          Yes, I don’t always get it. Be glad.

    • SC Dave

      I’m thinking it probably shows up based on your browsing history

  • Johnnywad

    http://www.cnn.com/2015/10/10/asia/north-korea-military-parade/index.html

    Looks like we missed a great opportunity for a handful of drone strikes.

    • DaMurph

      Poor bastards have no idea!

  • Viva

    Blog poll:

    Is the show Homeland worth catching up on (I’ve never watched)?

    • MB30SD

      I cannot STAND that chick in it. She is sooooo fucking annoying. Like so annoying that I refuse to watch the show because of her… ‘acting’.

      Everything is a fucking shouty, panicy crisis 100% of the time. she always has this fucking look on her horsey face that’s a mix of anger, surprise, fear, and I might have just shit my drawers.

      Makes me want to backhand her… and mandy fucking patankin too. hahaha

      • CanadaBear

        So you watch it!!?!!

        • MB30SD

          can’t you tell?

    • CanadaBear

      No help Viva. I’ve never seen it.

  • MB30SD

    DaBearsBlog @dabearsblog
    Bunch of people asked me if I root for the Cubs. Sure. As long as I don’t have to watch baseball to do it.

    Hahahaha, well put jeff.

    • CanadaBear

      Must see TV!

  • BerwynBomber

    DaBearsBlog @dabearsblog “Wonder how Harbaugh getting to a Super Bowl with Kaepernick will be looked at historically. I think it’s an all time achievement.”

    Yeah, but you can damn near say the same thing about Lovie in regard to Grossman.

    • MB30SD

      i would say much bigger. Although a known freak and typeA++++++ ahole… harbaugh is a fucking coaching superstar, proven 4 times over by now.

      Lovie is just a very very lucky squirrel.

      • Johnnywad

        There has been obvious roster turnover, but look at the Niners before and after his arrival.

        • MB30SD

          yo yo yoooooo… come on maings.

          Half his D and his DC retired or bailed, as did his RB and a couple WRs.

          He pissed people off after a couple years, but the dude is a MAAAAC. He’s done the same thing at USD, Stanford, SF, and now michigan. Homie is money, and he has a formula.

          Of course, the front office is going to get sick of his shit in 4 years and he’ll be looking for a new gig again.

          • Johnnywad

            True stuff, but………I attribute the success of the team, his D, and his DC directly to him. He either laid down the scheme, or knew how to delegate/hire good people. Can’t replace that with a dope like Tomsula. I would be willing to bet he’d be well on his way to replacing his offensive weapons also. Not sure what to make of Kap. Maybe Harbaugh had his number, maybe he saw the kid unraveling. Who knows?

            Guy’s a raging asshole by all accounts, but he wins everywhere he goes.

          • MB30SD

            Actually, I think we agree… as usual. Thought you were saying something else.

            My bad guy, my bad.

    • Huge Bear’s Penis

      Brian Billick winning a SB with Dildo i mean Dilfer, Gruden winning with both of those Johnson guys on the team i don’t remember which one started.

    • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

      both teams had intense stubborn D’s a solid run game and a tough O line. Bears had insane ST’s as well. That is a recipe for success in the NFL.

    • Pissed Off

      Both teams had elite defenses. The qbs were better than you think those years. Kaep especially.

    • AlbertInTucson

      Add Gruden with Brad Johnson. Another elite defense. Oh, knowing exactly what the other team is going to call offensively helps, too.

  • Viva

    W .

    • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

      Madden has a set of stones on him. You bench Schwarber for Soler based on the Cards pitching choice….. and Soler fucking kills it. BALLS. ASS. MOVE.

      • Trac

        Maddon!

        • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

          Tradewind

          • MB30SD

            Strongbow!

  • NewBearInTown

    Just saw the article posted by Jeff in re Greg Hardy. I’m not sure which of the two is easier to dislike: the woman-beating idiot who will be bankrupt the day after he retires or the second rate vanilla ice wannabe that hangs out with him to try to get cred.

  • Pissed Off

    Might try and catch some of the cal game coming up tonight. It’s on the 4 letter network at 900 central. Wanna see some of this Goff kid.

  • willbest

    Unlike Jeff, I would probably turn on a post season Cubs game, but apparently the NL is on TBS until the world series. And as I lack cable, they won’t be able to sell me on Budweiser, ED meds, or whatever else normal baseball fans tend to buy.

    • MB30SD

      FanDuel

  • AlbertInTucson

    “DaBearsBlog @dabearsblog
    Connor Cook should know first tape pro personnel folks will watch is next Sunday v. Michigan. Must see game. https://twitter.com/gil_brandt/status/652981653606821888 …”

    Nope. Steve O’Neal of the Jets lunched a 98-yarder from his own 1 to the Denver 1. Sept. 21, 1969.

    • NewBearInTown

      Cool Al, but what does the kicker story have to do with the tweet?

      • NewBearInTown

        Oh I see now. You linked to the wrong tweet.

        • AlbertInTucson

          Duh.How’d I manage THAT?

      • AlbertInTucson

        Repaired post.Pay attention please, Al.

  • Cutty of Olivet Nazarene

    On the eve of the Bears v Chiefs I have to say that i feel defiant. I feel like the Bears are going to win this game. Get the ball out quick on pass plays, run the ball with courage and contain Charles on D.

    2 and 3 is just around the corner. It sounds bad but 2-3 after this beginning to the schedule is pretty decent. Anything can happen. Let’s watch this unfold.

    Sincerely,
    Smith Dead

    • Irish Sweetness

      Backed them straight up.

      Backed them ATS with STL in a double.

      Backed NYG, NE, ATL, ARI in a 4-timer.

      TV schedule : 10:45 P.M. France v IRE (Rugby)
      00:00 CHI v KC
      01:45 Rep. of IRE v Poland (soccer)

      Bear Down!

  • AlbertInTucson

    Piss on Chase Utlley. I have no rooting interest in Mets-Dodgers but that “slide” into Tejada, that likely fractured the Met 2bman’s leg, was an absolutely illegal slide and a dirty play.

    Yankees Didi Gregorious did the same thing to Jose Altuve this week.

    You can’t start your “slide” AT the base. Utley and Gregorious should have been tossed from the game and the batters on those plays ruled out because of runner interference.

    Shame on MLB for reviewing those plays and letting them stand.

    And shame on two middle infielders trying to break legs ofother middle infielders..

    Utley should have the next pitch he sees stuck into his ear.

    • i’m rooting for a 98 mph harvey fastball a little too high and a little too tight. that wasn’t hard nosed baseball. that was dirty.

  • AlbertInTucson

    “DaBearsBlog @dabearsblog
    Absolutely right approach. There’s no progress. No development…”

    Well, doesn’t that pretty much sum up the USA in terms of world soccer?

  • AlbertInTucson

    “DaBearsBlog @dabearsblog
    Goff isn’t gonna be the first QB taken. He’s gonna be the first PLAYER taken.”

    Not if has any more performances like tonight.

    5 INTs.

    In his defense, his offensive line could have helped him out more.

    On the other hand, on that last 4th down he could have run for the first (Cal still had 2 timeouts) but instead he forced the ball to a guy who was well covered.

  • mike

    The bears are soo overrated.. the Lions are going to to crush them next week.

© Da' Bears Blog