217 Comments

Hey, Old Friends: Chicago Bears at Carolina Panthers Game Preview

| October 2nd, 2014

I don’t know what to make of the Carolina Panthers. After opening the season with two strong defensive outings and well-earned victories they have been beaten a combined 75-29 by the rather mediocre Pittsburgh Steelers and Baltimore Ravens. So with this complete lack of understanding who the Carolina Panthers really are you might ask a simple question…

Why do I like the Chicago Bears this week?

I always like the Chicago Bears.

WHY ELSE?

  • Panthers defense was a force a year ago but something is rotten in the state of North Carolina. They are allowing 140 yards a game on the ground and have fewer sacks than the Bears (8-10) after doubling Chicago’s total in 2013. There is very little reason to believe the Bears offense won’t be able to build off their success against Green Bay, run the ball effectively and score quite a few points.

“We’ve got to do things the right way,” Rivera said. “You don’t want to unleash him until he’s ready to be unleashed. We’ve got to listen what the trainers and doctors are saying and then we’ve got to listen to what he’s telling us. Part of it is watching him and seeing how he’s doing things. You just know that he wants to cut loose and do certain things, and you can feel it and a lot of times you see him start to do it. It’s coming, and again we’ve got to do this the right way.”

  • Panthers receiving threats – Benjamin, Cotchery, Olsen – should not be types of players to exploit the Bears secondary deficiencies for big plays and they will use street players in the backfield. This feels like a Panthers offense that will be far better in the second half of the season than the first. Luckily for the Bears, they’re playing the Panthers Sunday.

A BRIEF NOTE ON STEVE SMITH

He is pound-for-pound the best NFL player of my lifetime. I have made that statement in the past and I stand by it now. Carolina letting him walk out the door has to rank among the five most ridiculous decisions in modern NFL history. (Just as Steve.) You know why? Because if he were still on the Panthers I would give the Bears zero chance to stop him and give the Panthers a significant advantage in the game.

Screenshot_2014-10-01-11-04-06

THINGS I SAW DURING PANTHERS/RAVENS

  • Panthers left tackle Byron Bell is not a good football player and Jared Allen should have a field day against him. It won’t take long for the Panthers to start supplying help on that side.
  • Panthers have most success when Cotchery and Olsen are lined up on the slot corner, exploiting the mismatch. I’d be shocked if this were not objective number one against the Bears Sunday.
  • The Panthers missed more tackles in the first quarter than I saw them miss in 2013.
  • Panthers are incredibly susceptible to the perimeter screen game and Ravens attacked there. Carolina’s linebackers are bruisers but they get lost in space/coverage.
  • At 21-7 late in the first half, Flacco throws a perfect pick six to Luke Keuchly. Keuchly drops it. Game changing moment you’d never see on the highlight shows.
  • Carolina’s secondary should have a terrible time with Chicago’s size and physicality. Torrey Smith and Steve Smith manhandled these guys and those are not large fellas.
  • When Cam took off to run he looked his was running in slow motion.

In summation: It would be surprising if Matt Forte did not have a ton of success Sunday both in the run and pass games. This is a tailor made opponent for him.

STATISTICAL SURPRISE

Here is a statistical comparison between two tight ends through the first quarter of the season.

Player One: 32 catches on 41 targets. 340 yards. 10.6 yards per catch. 3 touchdowns.

Player Two: 29 catches on 37 targets. 295 yards. 10.2 yards per catch. 4 touchdowns.

Player One is Jimmy Graham, the unanimous selection as best tight end in the NFL.

Player Two is Martellus Bennett, the guy who was sent home from the Bears this summer for being a lunatic. Right now Bennett is having the greater impact and would be my selection as the league’s All Pro TE through the first quarter of the season.

I EXPECT…

…Jared Allen to register his first sack of the 2014 season early in the game. Allen isn’t playing for the veteran minimum in Chicago and he does not want his season to require validation from PFF grades and readjusted pressures on Tuesday mornings. Sacks are what has defined Allen as one of the premiere pass rushers of the past ten years and sacks will ultimately be what gets him into the Hall of Fame. He sacks Cam Newton before halftime Sunday.

(And yes, if you’re paying attention, I copied and pasted this from the Packers game preview and simply replaced Rodgers with Cam Newton)

I DON’T EXPECT…

…the Bears defense to play anywhere near as poorly as they did a week ago and actually think some of what happened Sunday was an aberration. The Bears had two major injuries along their defensive line, safeties at 75% and faced Aaron Rodgers, desperate for a victory, essentially throwing a perfect game. Cam Newton can’t produce a game like Rodgers did Sunday and he has nowhere near the weapons to create mismatches. Rebound game for Mel Tucker’s crew.

A PADDY POWER GAMBLE

2-2 after nailing that Bears would beat the Packers to 10 points.

Call me crazy but I think 22.5 is a low number for the Bears points total. Panthers defense has had their doors blown off in back-to-back weeks. Bears are averaging nearly 24 a game. I think they hit 30 Sunday.

FINAL SCORE

In three parts.

I. Panthers inability to mount anything in the run game forces Cam Newton and his sub-mediocre offensive line to throw the ball far more than they’d like. Bears pass rush redeems a poor Packers outing by harassing Newton all afternoon.

II. Bears offensive line continues their fine form and anchors the Bears run game to their second successful effort in consecutive weeks.

III. Jay Cutler and the Bears passing attack seal the game as Cutler throws a handful of touchdown passes and no interceptions.

Chicago Bears 30, Carolina Panthers 20

Tagged: , , , ,

  • Doc Hamstring

    First to say I too am glad Steve Smith is gone. He’d shred the Bears nickle, especially with Conte the child molester playing.

    • Big Mike

      The worst matchup the Bears could face in all of the NFL would be Steve Smith. He’s smart, runs great routes, has speed, good hands and would just shred the middle of the field on the Bears.

      • guest

        And nobody wanted him on the Bears ….

        • bearsfantillend

          several of us on the DaBlog wanted him….
          But i am not going to get into the what could have been conversation.

          • i wonder what could’ve been if it didn’t rain in miami.

          • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

            That was cruel.

            But since we’re on the topic, I wonder what could have been if LDL would’ve kept feeding the ball to T. Jones (who was hot) instead of insisting on sticking with the Dreadrick Benson rotation (who sucked). Dude. It’s Football 101. Hell, it’s sports 101. If somebody is hot, YOU DON’T TAKE HIM OUT!

          • CanadaBear

            Not to mention the D played that soft zone all day and the delays and screens killed us repeatedly. D. Manning screwed up that one long bomb. That was the only way any long bombs were going to be completed in that weather.

          • oh, cedprick benson. i had forgotten about you. but seriously, jerry, real smart to get rid of t.jones. moron.

        • Trac

          I was one of them. My bad. He signed a 3 yr 12 mil deal. A bargain.

  • Trac

    It’s simple then? Bears win of course!

  • Big Mike

    Is it Thursday? Ok. Then I can start thinking about the Bears. Funny thing happened this week. I coach an 8th grade football team, in the DC area. Great group of kids. Earlier in the week a brown bear had been spotted about 30 miles away in Virginia. So the topic gets around to what would you do, if the bear was near you. One guy said play dead, the other said run downhill, but the QB said, “Simple. I’d put on my Packer hat”

    Kid ran a lap.

    • Trac

      You should have run it with him yelling in his ear. He is sitting this week right? Lol.

      • Big Mike

        It was hilarious. All the kids and fellow coaches know I’m a die-hard. Wear an old school George Halas “B” hat, nearly every day. The kids problem is genetic. Both sets of parents and grandparents grew up in Wisconsin.

        • Bear Down in Tampa

          So then his mom is probably also his aunt.

    • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

      As fucked up as that is, that kid is witty. Funny shit.

      • Big Mike

        Really clever kid. Says something witty once a week it seems.

      • SC Dave

        I was going to say that i get why he’s your quarterback

    • MichiganBearFan

      Good coaching! Don’t even give an explanation.

      • Big Mike

        I was pleased with my response. A coachable moment.

  • Jared Allen now weighs less than me, and I am no professional athlete. From ESPNChicago.com:

    Allen said he felt sick during Chicago’s win over the New York Jets on Sept. 22, but wasn’t diagnosed until two days later with pneumonia. Because of the illness, Allen lost 15 pounds, from 254 down to 239.

    The Chicago Bears list Allen at 270 pounds.

    http://espn.go.com/blog/chicago-bears/post/_/id/4694694/jared-allen-returns-to-practice

    • GPLDAN

      At 257, I was bigger than Allen when he was pumped up. THat’s bad.

      • MikeBrownhadaPosse

        Undiagnosed, it’s a good thing he’s not dead, much less able to play right now. Pneumonia ain’t nothing to mess with.

        • MB30SD

          Ebola

  • MB30SD

    good dude, and surf god.

    I was mistaken for him 4 times this summer in bars: http://www.cnn.com/2014/10/01/sport/kelly-slater-surfing-ocean-conservation/index.html?hpt=hp_c4

    So I guess I look like a mix of a young jessie the body and Kelly Slater.

    • Shady

      I thought Kelly Slater was a character on Saved By The Bell, but I see he’s a surfer legend BRUH. No way your eyes are that dreamy.

      • MikeBrownhadaPosse

        Not good enough to get a beer out of Shady, that’s for sure!

        • Shady

          Hahaha

          • MB30SD

            They actually are.

            That hurt btw

  • bearsfantillend

    do the Panthers even have a RB healthy to go on Sunday?

    • Bear Down in Tampa

      They have somthing called Fozzy Whittaker, waka! waka!

      • bearsfantillend

        i saw that but he has not practiced yet this week.

        • Bear Down in Tampa

          I really just wanted to make my Fozzy joke, they have Chris Ogbonnaya, who played for the Browns last year.

          • MB30SD

            He’s Nigerian with that name… think he spams in his spare time?

          • CanadaBear

            I’ve been meaning to send him some money.

          • Bear Down in Tampa

            Wait, you mean he isn’t an African Prince that can’t get to his limitless fortune? Crap, I’ve got some calls to make.

  • The Ghost of Super Bowl XX

    I feel relieved not watching Steve smith in carolina.

  • CanadaBear

    I think we’ll be in a dogfight all afternoon.

    Jeff really wrote Steve Smith is the best pound-for-pound player in his lifetime. Does Walter Payton ring a bell? For fuck’s sake Jeff I would expect a comment like that from a Carolina fan but a Bear’s blogger? Gale Sayers smokes Steve Smith but I’m guessing he was before your time.

    • BillW

      I agree.

      And after the love-fest for Rodgers I’ve used up all my compliments for opposing players for the year. Not every player that beats us is the best ever. Sometimes we just don’t know how to stop them.

      • SC Dave

        Remind me to stay there with you, please?

  • BillW

    According to reports, Allen has only regained 2 of the 15 or so pounds he has lost. Maybe he plays but I would guess with far fewer snaps.

    • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

      Allen is 241 right now. That is tiny.

      • SC Dave

        I hear “week off”

  • BillW

    Fuller defensive rookie of the month. Good time Sunday to start on the Oct award.

    • SC Dave

      Congrats to OUR new guy!

  • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

    I get tired of everyone in the media overstating EVERYTHING. Tom Brady has played a poor first quarter of the season. The media is so quick to put a fork in him it just boggles the mind. That’s one example but there are so many these days. And now Jefe is calling Smitty the best in his lifetime? I mean, really? Talk about overstating. And look, I love to watch this guy play. He’s great. A hall of famer in my opinion. But lets not get carried away. He’s not even the best at his position in our lifetime. Ever heard of Jerry Rice? C’mon Jeff, don’t fall into the hyperbole trap of the other “media”. You’re better than that.

    • GPLDAN

      Hyperbole sells.

      For one week, Jefe should post all his posts as if they were written by the HuffPost.

      “is Brandon Marshall the best wideout EVER???”

      “6 things that will make you love Chris Conte again”

      “you will not BELIEVE how much Bushrod weighs!”

      “These Jaren Allen before and after pics will AMAZE you!”

      • BillW

        You have a talent for headline writing

      • Shady

        How about headlines you would never click?

        “Check out Lena Dunham’s dick pics here!”

        • GPLDAN

          “Biggsy sports his beach look for the Chicago Water Show”

          (ok, I might click on that)

        • MB30SD

          Mb3osd gets 27-12-12 in kc in practice for when shadynuggets finally plays him again

          • Shady

            Give me a day, time, I’ll be there… Slater!

      • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

        Exclusive Ginny McCaskey side boob pics from the Met Gala!

      • SC Dave

        You know GP, you could almost give up your day job and write for them.

    • BillW

      In fairness I think maybe Jeff meant the best player in his weight class – not the best player pound for pound.

      • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

        That’s true. He did say pound for pound. Still. What about 34? I will now vote down my own comment.

        • BillW

          Well – wait a minute. I thought Smith was lighter than 195; that puts him in within 10 pounds or less of Sayers and Payton. So even if he meant best player in that weight class he is clearly wrong. C’mon Jeff – take it back!

          • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

            Yeah, and what about Barry Sanders? Not exactly a huge man. And Darrel Green for the Washington Redskins (yeah I said it).

          • SC Dave

            Barry Sanders was only 5’8″, but played at 203 pounds. Not small.

    • SC Dave

      There is Jerry Rice, and then there is every other pass receiver.

  • GPLDAN

    How many game previews out there open with Stephen Sondheim reference AND video? Damn few. Bears at Panthers preview:

    Jefe, we come for the Bears talk, we stay for the musical numbers and the burlesque review.

    • MB30SD

      Did someone say burlesque

      • CanadaBear

        I’m kinda, sorta friends with a couple of burlesque dancers in Vancouver. They used to perform while my friend’s band would wail away. Had them over for dinner whenever they played in town. Interesting ladies. Not to mention, what guy doesn’t like women with a casual attitude towards their own nudity?!!

        • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

          Priests.

          Now a child with a casual attitude towards their own nudity, that’s right up their alley!

          • CanadaBear

            OUCH! I was an altar boy for 6 years. Not once did I ever have any weird dealings with priests. Had a couple really odd encounters with a nun in 7th grade but that’s it. Between grade school and HS there were a bunch of gay priests and alcoholic priests but no pervs.

          • GPLDAN

            Check out the new movie Calvary.

            Whew. That was rough.

          • CanadaBear

            Hadn’t heard of it. Just looked it up on rotten tomatoes. Really like Brendon Gleason. He was the star of The Guard by the same director. If you haven’t seen it, you should. Very entertaining and funny as hell. I’ll catch Calvary as soon as I can. Thanks for the heads up.

          • GPLDAN

            Yeah, I love The Guard. One of my favs.

          • bearsfantillend

            you just weren’t pretty enough.

          • CanadaBear

            I was for that nun!

          • BillW

            Too much info…

          • BillW

            I had a teacher in 8th grade who was weird but I don’t think he ever truly molested anyone. But he actually spanked kids that had to stay after school for discipline. With his hands – not the old Catholic school paddle.

            It was effective in the sense that no one wanted to be his next “victim”.

          • CanadaBear

            I got spanked, slapped, punched, kicked and in 8th grade hit over the head with a Civics book that almost knocked me out (was seeing stars). You got a good education from them but I’m really glad all that shit is no longer acceptable. They truly beat all the religion out of me.

          • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

            Sounds like a success!

          • CanadaBear

            Honestly, you’re right but I was lucky enough to have parents that loved me and a bunch of siblings that were always there for me. Take away that and the relentless pounding from the nuns in grade school and priests in HS, could have sent me down a horribly different path. Just my 2 cents.

          • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

            I just mean, it was a success in the sense that you managed to avoid religion. Imagine where you might be if they had been nice to you! You’d be Trac! (JK Trac, take it easy buddy).

          • CanadaBear

            Who knows? Before puberty I wanted to be a priest when I grew up. Once I found out you could do more than pee with your wiener, that chastity BS was off the table.

            I knew what you meant. My whole deal with all the hitting had nothing to do with actually getting hit but how you got on the hit list. Didn’t hit girls, didn’t hit the rich kids, didn’t hit the athletes and didn’t hit the kids whose parents were helping out at the convent or rectory. That left about 6-10 boys to be punching bags.

          • bearsfantillend

            hehehe you said rectory.

          • MB30SD

            Hahahaha

          • MB30SD

            Eeewwww. Sick fucks. (Not all of course)

          • SC Dave

            Ouch!

  • BillW

    Speaking of Ebola –
    Up 10 100 people may have been in contact with the guy in the Dallas area with Ebola.

    Ever see one of those simulators that map the potential spread over time of a disease like this?

    Bears play Dallas in Chicago December 4. Fans from the Dallas area will cretainly travel up here.

    • bearsfantillend

      how many people were on the plane or planes to get back here. that number is gonna rise.

      • BillW

        From what I read today – and it’s not much – I think it said he wasn’t contagious until the symptom showed. Which was after he got back. What is inexcusable is he went to a hospital in Dallas complaining of flu symptom; per protocol they asked him if he had been to any other countries and he TOLD them he had been to West Africa. And they sent him home! Only to come back days later when it got worse.

        So they are monitoring the 100 people, but only 4 people are quarantined. The other 96 are free to go about – but if they contract symptoms then they have to trace the people THEY were in contact with.

        Maybe it’s my old man mindset kicking in but I suggested to my kids that they not go to the Dallas game unless there are no more cases between now and then.

  • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

    So I bought the game Destiny for my oldest son who turns 9 today. It’s rated T for teen. Does anybody know anything about it? Appropriate? I won’t let him play Call of Duty, for example.

    • BillW

      There must be a parents website somewhere that specifically addresses this. I know there used to be one for movies that detailed all the things a parent might object to their kid seeing (probably still is but it’s been a long time since I had a need for it.) By the way, the descriptions were very bland and clinical.

    • GPLDAN

      It’s Halo meets World of Warcraft.

      With a lot of bugs and much less content than you might imagine.

      My son wanted it, but I went to my gf’s sister’s house and her husband and son had it and I watched them playing it. It’s interesting, but nothing is instanced, so you can get “walk-ons” to help you – will be interesting once the intake players level up, nobody will help n00bz.

      My son has been having his issues in 6th grade, so he can’t have it. Like WoW it’s a time sink.

      • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

        hope he gets through it without getting discouraged GP.

    • johnnywad

      I don’t know the game, but teen is generally pretty mild stuff. I would open it and play it if I were you though. I’ve been surprised a few times with my son’s games in the past.

    • johnnywad

      Happy Birthday to your son Doc. My daughter is thirteen today. I wrote this for her last night. Girls need dads in their corner.

      “I remember the moment you were born. You came into the world as peaceful and happy as any newborn could be. I had no idea what to make of you then. I only knew that I loved you and wondered who you would be.

      So here we are, thirteen years later. And while I still don’t know what your future holds, I do know exactly who you are. I want to be sure that you know as well.

      You are growing into a beautiful young woman. You are extraordinarily smart, kind and generous. You have a very easy way about you that draws people to you, and has allowed you to make wonderful friends in your life. You are responsible, thoughtful and respectful and those around you tend to follow your example.

      You are a great teammate and leader, on the sports field and in your daily life. I am continually amazed at the various ways you handle the ups and downs of what can be, at times, a very difficult path to follow.

      Perhaps most importantly, you are loving. Those of us lucky enough to share you in our family lives are blessed every day, by your unconditional devotion and genuine concern for others. Every day, I feel that love in some way.

      As you grow and mature over the next few years, it is important you understand how special you are. Go through your life with quiet confidence. Do not be afraid to follow your own path and trust your own instincts. There will be times when things are not easy. You are more than prepared to meet these challenges. Do not doubt that you can, and will, find the right path to follow. You are already wise beyond your 13 years, and you only need to look within yourself to find your way. Know that you can do it, and you will succeed. I already do.

      When you were born, I did not know what to make of you. I only knew I loved you and wondered who you would be. Were I given the chance to ask then, I don’t know that I could have been so bold as to ask for somebody as special as you.

      Love,

      Dad

      P.S. Remember to hug me every day.”

      • CanadaBear

        Well done JohnnyW! Sounds like you’re a great dad. The world needs more of them.

        • johnnywad

          Thanks Canada. First time I’ve ever done anything like that. My hope is she hangs onto it.

          • BillW

            She will – and it sounds like when the day comes, you’ll be giving one hell of a tear-jerker father of the bride speech!

          • SC Dave

            She will – guaranteed.

      • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

        bravo sir

      • MB30SD

        Awesome man. I think something just flew into my eye. Damn it.

      • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

        Very cool, man. Something flew into my eye too.

  • AlbertInTucson

    “Panthers left tackle Byron Bell is not a good football player and Jared Allen should have a field day against him.”

    Despite the fact that Jared Allen is coming off Pneumonia and a 1 week loss of 15 pounds?

    • CanadaBear

      I’m hoping we have enough sense to not play Allen more than a few situational snaps. Maybe he will be OK by Sunday but that seems like a mighty tall order.

  • johnnywad

    The Bears have two receivers on their active roster this weekend that are both more valuable than Steve Smith. Just sayin…..

  • JP

    I don’t think Jared will have the breakout game this particular game, I’m giving him the post-lung-related -illness-lack-of-conditioning-pass. I do hope Ratliff can get out there and force Cam to run a little bit on the bad anle.

    • CanadaBear

      Not sure if Cam’s ribs are still a factor. Last I saw he had a flak jacket on when he was on the field. If we can pressure him and don’t have to worry about containing him, we win going away. I read this morning that Rivera says he’s getting close to being 100%. Hope that’s hooey.

      • JP

        I’ll definitely be keying in on that when he takes his first hit.

        • CanadaBear

          Yeah, me too. Are you new to posting here JP? Don’t remember seeing your screen name before. Of course, my memory is the shits so don’t take offense if you posted a lot before today. If you are new to posting here, welcome aboard.

          • JP

            Usually Lurk mode. I follow em via twitter. and thanks!

          • MB30SD

            Canada is the walmart greeter of the blog.

            grumble grumble grumble

  • MB30SD

    Byw, speaking of jps… did pep do anything at all against us?

    Nice deal Thompson! !

    • CanadaBear

      I think he had 1 tackle if I remember correctly. Allen hasn’t been much better but we faced 3 option/read teams the first 3 weeks and then he got sick. Pep has lost 15 lbs to get faster but when I watch the fudgies he either isn’t even chasing the play of gets there after the ball carrier is going down. Not a huge surprise from any of us. Hopefully it just goes downhill from here. Of all the HOF’ers or near HOF’ers that have played for the Bears, I’d say he was the most invisible to the fans. All of us loved his production when he first came here but I can’t remember one of us being really passionate about Pep. A hired gun in every sense of the word. Now that the Fudgies have him let’s hope the hired gun is like our own Doc and Johnny and continues to shoot blanks.

      • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

        Wait. What’re you shooting, old man?

        • CanadaBear

          Air balls!!!!!!!!!!!! Unlike you, I had mine done 36 years ago so I’m not sure if I get grandfathered in or not. Not to mention my screen name doesn’t mention my lack of sperm production.

          • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

            For the record, I still produce it. My body just eats it. Kind of like Johnny’s mom.

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            lol, fucking cold brother. cold.

            Mommy???

          • MB30SD

            wooooooooooooooooooow

        • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

          lol, I didn’t get snipped. I was making a play on words from a past post that was similar to Balls Ornamental. I think it was Balls Immaterial or some other comment regarding not wearing the pants in the family. I can’t remember the post but it was pretty funny. I am still fully loaded.

          • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

            You’re playing Russian Roulette mang. Snip those fuckers.

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            haha, spray and pray!

          • CanadaBear

            Holy Cow Johnny! Be careful my man!

    • johnnywad

      He had 1 tackle. That makes 8 on the season with one of those being the sack of Stafford. A $10M linebacker averaging 2 tackles a game through one quarter of the season.

  • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

    Did you guys realize that Allen was playing at 254?? Then he lost about 15lbs and is now only back up to 241?? That’s fucking tiny. Hope that strength is there. Personally I don’t see him playing more than a couple of third downs this week.

    • CanadaBear

      Had no idea he was playing at 254. Unlike a DE who’s name shall not be mentioned, he has had a lot of production at a pretty light weight. Definitely the fight in the dog is on his side.

      • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

        maybe Shea should play DE this week and Allen play LB??? I keed but you know some mouthbreather is out there totally serious about it.

        • MikeBrownhadaPosse

          How do you hear me all the way out there?!

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            I just don’t want to see David Bass, Washington, etc. Give me Cheta Ozougwu first.

          • MB30SD

            what about scott fucking… shit, can’t remember his last name, but dude was all over the field in PS… against the 1s and 2s!!!

      • BillW

        It’s a long time ago, but at the end of his career Alan Page ran marathons and got down to a very low weight even for the times (I think around 200? Have to look it up). For a D-tackle. Had a monster last game against the Broncos (I was there) before retiring (played his last couple years with the Bears before going to the “bench” (judicial).

        Last season before Da Coach.

        • BillW

          “In his final game, still playing at 225 pounds, he scored 3.5 sacks and led a dismal Bears team (they were 5-10 at the time) to victory over the contending Denver Broncos.”

          • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

            Good stuff, Bill. I had no idea he ever played for the beloved.

          • BillW

            Bud Grant cut him because he refused to gain weight. Bears picked him up mid-season ’78 and he played through 1981. Forty sacks in that time. (Of course I looked that up; my short term memory is bad; my long term memory is better but not THAT good.)

          • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)

            How could I not have known that? I consider myself a pretty knowledgeable guy, football history-wise.

          • Trac

            Oh Doc where have you been? Alan Page was awesome. Most fans at the time could only hope he still had it and we were stoked when he played like a stud. Could be wrong but I think he was part of the 42-6 schalkacking of the St. Louiee Cardinals which gave us the point differential we needed to clinch a playoff spot for the first time in forever.

          • BillW

            Well, that was in 1978 so yes, he was.

            And then we go on to lose to the Eagles on a phantom illiegal motion penalty on Baschnagle that wiped out a 50+ yard run by Payton. But it was to be the beginning of the Bears superior defense – Hampton drafted in 1979.

            I came to hate Armstrong but he did bring in Buddy.

          • Cormonster

            I remember that play. I thought it was the 1979 playoff game. Either way, I have hated the Eagles ever since then.

          • BillW

            Absolutely 79. Man I’m losing it.

          • Cormonster

            I didn’t look it up, but I think Harold Carmichael had a few big plays in that game. When the Payton run got called back it changed the game. I was devastated as a nine year old. I think the Eagles went to the Super Bowl that year and lost to the Raiders.

          • BillW

            Everything went right that game. Cardinals scored a td and we blocked the point and scored a TD (and the point) on the ensuing kickoff. So we gain one more point in the differential by giving up a TD!

          • SC Dave

            Page was a monster for the Bears.

          • AlbertInTucson

            Yes, but offensive lines back then weren’t averaging 290 or 300 lbs a man.

  • BillW

    Our O-line injury luck was too good last year –
    There is no reason for things to “even out”, but now Bushrod missed practice today from a knee injury suffered in yesterday’s practice.

  • DocNitty(BallsStillOrnamental)
    • MB30SD

      fuck that. That’s it. My son isn’t playing.

    • Trac

      Terrible huh? Don’t know where to start on this one. Terrible for his family.

  • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!
    • Shady

      What’s with these injuries during practice? For fucks sake.

      • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

        Allen – ebola
        McClellin – broken hand
        Ratliff – brain damage
        Slauson – high ankle sprain
        Garza – old with high ankle sprain combo
        Peanut – arm fell off
        McMannis – quad fell off
        Bowman – playing in New York for $3.74 than the contact we offered
        Marshall – severe ankle injury
        Alshon – hammy
        Morgan – groin
        Conte – white and also shoulder issues
        Bushrod – knee injury in practice. Practice….practice man….practice.
        WHAT THE FUCK.

        • BerwynBomber

          Yeah, but nothing truly devastating yet beside Peanut, and I never figured him for sixteen games of health. Look at a team like Atlanta. Lost two starting O-linemen for the season in one game.

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            Marshall and Alshon hurt in buffalo had direct impact on that loss. Devastating loss in that I had to put up with epic whining for 6 straight days

        • Sactowns#1

          Well if it makes you feel any better Allen, McClellin, Ratliff, Slauson, Garza, Bowman, Marshall, Jeffery and Conte will all be back very soon.

    • AlbertInTucson

      Well. Isn’t THAT special.

    • SC Dave

      Hmm…. run the ball?

  • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

    Big game tonight boys! Let’s go Vikes! Short week, no chance. just do it.
    …….collar bone? (he asks quietly with a raised eyebrow)

  • BerwynBomber
    • bearsfantillend

      man i hope they import the Jets fans to heckle Mel Kiper.

      • SC Dave

        We could substitute as needed… I mean, *you* would heckle Kiper too, yes?

        • bearsfantillend

          Definitely, i would heckle Kiper too. I was just feeling bad for the Jets fans, they look forward to so few things every year.

          • MB30SD

            browns? Have you no heart?

          • SC Dave

            Haha… i get you now

    • MB30SD

      looks like the perfect venue for a blog meet up

      • SC Dave

        No shit. Let’s do it.

        • MB30SD

          in

  • SC Dave

    Jeff, re the tweet on Long playing LT, you might be right. But I don’t think the Bears should do it. Especially given that Kromer/Trest believe in keeping the middle clean on pass rush so the QB has space in front to step up into.

  • MB30SD

    guys… can I sum up being single and living in Cali for you in one simple gif?

    Can I?

    Here you go you sorry sack married guys (except canada, he’s waaay whooooooped! And proud of it! HAHAHA): http://www.mandatory.com/2014/10/02/the-funniest-gifs-of-the-week/8

    • MB30SD

      get online shady

      • Shady

        Rage quit, AGAIN?!?

        Time for you to get Madden.

        • MB30SD

          I thought we were done? I wasn’t actually rage quiting… just the normal ceremonial goodbye?

          • Shady

            Your clan sucks.

          • MB30SD

            yours

    • SC Dave

      Did he pay a carbon tax for all that outgassing?

    • CanadaBear

      Guilty as charged!

      • MB30SD

        I know, it’s cute… if I can say that on a fb blog.

        What am I saying, I obviously don’t give a fuck what I say on this blog or what people thing.

        good for you canada.

  • MB30SD
    • GPLDAN

      Borrows from the Moira, wants to be Lambo’s La Ferrari in hybrid approach.

      Not sure Top Gear ever released that P1 vs. 918 bake off.

  • Bah. Up yours, Pep.

    • Shady

      Lambeau leap FAIL.

      • doesn’t make it any better. well, maybe a little.

    • BillW

      Notice peppers wasn’t within 5 yds of anyone and gets a tipped ball right to him. And the dumb ass gb fans will call that a great play. I turned it off

      • he did evade a tackle or two on his way to the endzone. so there’s that.

  • SC Dave

    Good god the vikings suck

    • BerwynBomber

      I sense Zimmer might turn them into some version of the Lovie Bears if given time; that is, a team anchored by a consistent D. But depends on how well they draft and develop. Other than the second and third series, their D has held up reasonably well. And that Smith kid who plays safety for them seems to have a nose for the ball. But Ponder is not helping them at all.

    • Shady

      Ponder is playing his way out of the NFL.

      • wreckinball

        Awful

      • MB30SD

        but his wife is really hot.

        vikings making that packer D look like us in 06. They are turrible.

  • Shady

    This game was over before it started.

    • SC Dave

      No shit

    • Cormonster

      When I seen Ponder starting, I knew it was over.

  • wreckinball

    Holy crap are the cheese heads annoying

  • MB30SD

    jesus

  • wreckinball

    Ridiculous ok beat them 100 zip

  • MB30SD

    did you guys just see that subway commercial with Tuck, Anthony Barr, and some other dude with short dreads.

    The dude with short dreads looks familiar, but can’t remember who he is.

    (sad)

  • wreckinball

    Another thing to root for beat the crisp out double check

  • wreckinball

    Vikings D has not been bad O is awful

  • Shady

    These Thursday Night games have been almost unwatchable. All of them.

  • wreckinball

    WTF was that

  • MB30SD

    vikings are HORRIBLE. Wow.

  • MB30SD
  • MB30SD

    I fucking hate erin rodgers.

    • BerwynBomber

      Vikes D hasn’t been completely embarrassed here. They’ve sacked him two or three times and forced three or four punts. Ponder crapping his pants is the story more than anything else.
      If the Cheese were smart, they’d just hand the ball to Lacy and Starks the rest of the game, but McCarthy is like Sean Payton, dudes that fall too in love with their toys at times.

  • wreckinball

    Kill double check I think the Vilings need to focus on one thing

  • MB30SD

    jesus, that is one fucking UGLY crowd. Man, U-G-L-Y and they ain’t gots no alibi

  • wreckinball

    The game is uglier Need a couple of Cobb TDs I have him in fantasy

  • MB30SD

    you guys like eddie vedder (and/or the beatles)?

    If you don’t, I think you might a little more after this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KhrmkCW6Ph8#t=64

    Recognize his shirt? You can ff to the end to confirm your suspicions.

  • wreckinball

    TNF average spread has to be 30+ points

  • wreckinball

    Wow what stat line QBR =0

  • MB30SD

    I loves me some matt McCon: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fIT9LE_eIFo#t=167

    alright alright alright

  • MB30SD

    my god, I’m finding myself rooting for the vikings. I need a shower.

  • MikeBrownhadaPosse

    Chicago is hosting the NFL draft in 2015.

    Already putting in my time off – who’s with me, beeetches???

    “2015 NFL Draft will be held in Chicago next April 30-May 2 at Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University.

    — Chicago Bears (@ChicagoBears) October 2, 2014”

    • MikeBrownhadaPosse

      OK, fuck it – someone else already posted it.
      But Jeff – for the love of WP, it is time for the epic Blog parties of all Blog parties.
      Start planning it now.

      • MB30SD

        IIIIIIIN!

        Wanna hear something funny… I’m texting with 3 chicks right now, and I sent a message meant for one to another one. Of course I used her fucking name in the text (the wrong fucking name), and have spent the last 15 minutes making up a fucking story to cover my dumb ass. SMFH.

        • MikeBrownhadaPosse

          Hahahaha – hopefully you didn’t reference any specific body characteristics. Hard to backwalk that!!!
          I thought the original draft party in Chicago was epic.
          THIS would be almost too much.

          • MB30SD

            yeah, it was bad. I am usually so good. This is literally the first time I’ve fucked it up. She’s still talking to me. I told her the other text was a joke to a catfish. hahaha

            Hell yeah. I’m all in maings.

    • One of my colleagues on my site knows Jim Miller and has been telling me for months that, if the draft goes to Chicago, he’ll get me a floor/press pass and I might be on Miller’s show during the draft.

      If he doesn’t at least come through with the pass I’m gonna be pissed.

  • Couldn’t agree more on Forte. He should have his 3rd game of 150+ yards from scrimmage so far this year.

  • AlbertInTucson

    Oregon was favored over Arizona by 24 tonight. What they showed this evening is that not even a program like Oregon’s can sustain injuries to FIVE offensive lineman.

© Da' Bears Blog