221 Comments

Chicago Bears at San Francisco 49ers Game Preview

| September 11th, 2014

The Bears usually win their first game of the season and the city of Chicago erupts into a sea of champagne-soaked celebration. Then the rest of the season happens. This year the Bears have lost their first game and Rahm Emanuel announced all restaurants, bars, churches and public toilets are closed until further notice.

Said Rahm: “May the streets smell of hobo urine until the Bears are in the win column!”

Why do I like the Chicago Bears this week?

I always like the Chicago Bears.

WHY ELSE?

  • Let me think…
  • The Cowboys had a ton of success running the ball against this 49ers front but suffered from Tony Romo’s complete unwillingness to make the football game competitive. Expect the Bears to take the same approach. Forte, Forte and more Forte. Slow the game down. Take the crowd out of it. This should be a thirty rush attempt night for the Bears and if their adjusted offensive line holds up they should be able to keep things close.
  • Niners offense was non-existent in second half against the worst defense in the league.
  • I think the Bears secondary matches up well with the 49er options on the outside, especially if they use Jennings inside on Vernon Davis. (They can’t expect to cover Davis with any of their linebackers or safeties. It isn’t possible.)
  • The Bears outside threats, if healthy, match up well against every secondary in the sport with the possible exception of Seattle. San Fran is down to second and third-stringers so a healthy Marshall/Jeffery combination could be in line for a big night.
  • Is it even possible Mel Tucker’s primary (and perhaps only) point of emphasis this week won’t be containing Colin Kaepernick in the pocket? If Kaepernick is gouging the Bears defense for huge chunks of yards and first downs serious questions can be asked about what happened Tuesday through Saturday in the defensive meeting rooms. If Kaepernick beats them from the pocket, so be it.
  • These games are the reason Jared Allen, Lamarr Houston and Willie Young are in Chicago. They are not only talented rushers but also smart, disciplined ends.
  • Bears actually have two linebackers with the speed to spy Kaepernick: Bostic and Shea. I’d expect both to play that role Sunday night, with Bostic getting a majority of the snaps.

A THOUGHT ON JAY CUTLER

Jay Cutler made a name for himself in 2013 by winning games in the fourth quarter, leading many analysts to proclaim him the best late-game quarterback in the sport over the first half of that season. Sunday, against Buffalo, his fourth quarter was a disaster. A terrible interception. Jump balls to a receiver with a bum ankle in the end zone as clock catapulted towards zero. Bonehead decision making.

Of course whenever Cutler performs poorly the Chicago media pounces on him for two reasons: (1) they don’t like him and (2) they know there’s no better way to sell newspaper, get clicks than to attack him.

Cutler does what he did Sunday. He throws games away. 2-3 times a year he is going to make the kinds of plays that leave fans shaking their heads in disbelief. But he rarely stacks those games atop one another. And I think Jay’s expectations for 2014 are far too high for him to bury himself in an 0-2, 4-6 interception hole. I think he knows he needs to play well in front of the national audience Sunday night. And I think he will.

High Tech Stadium in Silicon Valley

CLASSIC SI COVER

Harbaugh

I EXPECT…

…Frank Gore to rush for at least 150 yards.

I DON’T EXPECT…

…Jared Allen and Lamarr Houston to have a quiet evening. 2+ sacks between them.

A FEW RELEVANT LINKS

Perish Cox was cut by the Niners a year ago and now due to injury he’s become one of the pivotal players on the 2014 roster.

“The 49ers’ decision to allow defensive tackle Ray McDonald to play in Sunday’s season opener inspired impassioned criticism from a segment of their fan base and legendary franchise figures such as Steve Young and Ronnie Lott.”

With Bears record in San Francisco, why not alter their travel schedule? Bears are headed to San Francisco on Friday.

GAMBLERS ANONYMOUS (EXCEPT YOU KNOW ME)

0-1 on the season

I’m taking over 48.5 Sunday night for a lot of reasons. Both these teams can score and score quickly and both have some massive question marks on the defensive side of the ball. Would 28-24 really surprise anybody? 34-30?

FINAL SCORE

Jay Cutler rebounds from a brutal finish against Buffalo to take advantage of a beat up Niners secondary and Matt Forte carries the Bears throughout the fourth quarter.

Chicago Bears 27 1/2, San Francisco 49ers 27

Tagged: , , , , ,

  • Big Mike

    First, and… I just watched the ALL 22 for the SF-Dallas game. I feel encouraged. Dallas is terrible, at everything. Hard to be specific, everything we are jumping on the Bears for, they were worse. Play calling, tackling, mental errors, defense, special teams. SF didn’t whoop them. The Cowboys were their own worst enemy.

    • GPLDAN

      NFL network previewed the game and said the Niners secondary was weak and that if BM and Alshon are good to go then Bears could score a lot

      • MB30SD

        that front is vicious… our boys on the line better be able to give jay time. If they do, we will score a lot, if not, it’ll be a long night.

        • Bender McLugh

          Garza’s replacement will do wonders for the run compared to Garza in there….we shall see just how much better, but I do expect we’ll be able to gash em inside when they are caught unawares.

          • CanadaBear

            I’m worried about the line calls and the silent count (I’m guessing the new stadium will be noisy). Jay has worked with Garza for 3 years, BDLP a few days. Other than that, I totally agree the run blocking should be better between the tackles.

      • Big Mike

        Forte, Bennet as well. Cutler needs to do a better job. I think the line will hold up. All my concerns are on defense. Offense needs to do its job. I’m assuming we have our two WRs. Dallas scored 17. We’re good for at least 24. Keep the ball. no turnovers, etc.

  • GPLDAN

    The FBI announced this morning it is opening a formal investigation of the NFL. They produced documentation showing the NFL front office took possession of the video in April. Then there is the leaked voicemail where a female voice supposedly in the nfl front office says “yes it’s terrible”

    I should imagine this results in goodbye Rodger Dodger.

    • MB30SD

      hee hee!

    • DaBearsBlog

      It certainly should mean that but the owners have vigilantly defended him. They envision Roger as their man for the next 20 years. They will fight to not let him go down.

      • Trac

        Do you really think so? The cat’s outta the bag and the owners are smart enough business men, they will come out of this smelling like a rose. I recommend a public flogging for Goodell. Also, the owners need to call Hillary Clinton and offer her the job. Easy access for Bubba to cheerleaders all across the Countra. He he.

      • CanadaBear

        If the owners feel the story won’t go away without firing Rog, he’s as good as gone. All those rich people only have allegiance to one person and it’s not Rog.

    • GPLDAN

      Score now reports a leak from an unnamed owner who stated that the owners are discussing sacrificing Roger to get the story to stop.

      Roger does their bidding and they sacrifice him in the pinch. He must hate that.

      • MB30SD

        but it is SO classic big business/politics. I imagine dick Cheney being involved in all this for some reason… not in reality, but just in my mind.

        I see his fat grinning evil face, wringing his hands and chuckling an evil chuckle.

        Live and die by the sword roge, you cunt. What he wants…. he gets!

        • CanadaBear

          Whenever someone brings up Cheney all I can think about is him shooting an old man in the face (one of his best friends) and the old man had to publicly apologize. Cheney even tried to blame the old man until the NRA (Yes, the NRA) got on his ass. One of the first safety rules of hunting is knowing what’s in the background where you intend to shoot. If that doesn’t tell you everything you need to know about him …

          • Sactowns#1

            Whenever I think of him I think that he should be in prison. I have no idea how we allow criminals like him to go free.

          • CanadaBear

            I try to stay out of politics on the blog. I put in that disclaimer because I don’t feel this way due to politics as much as just his actions in general. I truly believe he’s evil and I rarely ever say that about anyone.

          • Cormonster

            You bleeding heart liberal. Yeah, Cheney is a giant ass douche.

          • MB30SD
        • GPLDAN

          Rog isn’t some pogue on the dole – he’s a NFL lifer and the son of a State of NY Senator. He’s connected, and almost all of NFL security is former FBI.

          So this is political theater and a big circle jerk.

        • Trac

          Dick Cheney was the man. I still remember him wiping the floor with the Bret girl during the VP debates.. Oh and where is John Edwards now? That’s right, he crawled back under the rock he came from. Hee hee

          Don’t mess with me today pal, I have some serious gas pains and I’m not in the mood.

          • Trac

            I sure am glad everyone on this flight sitting near me has earphones on. The last one was really loud. dam gas.

          • MB30SD

            Dick Cheney is the devil trac. I don’t care if you’re conservative, liberal, tea party.

            The man is the devil: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_5IWl-cAPUIs/SqdJkKzIYQI/AAAAAAAABP4/IHP7ZqgU4L0/s400/DevilDick.jpg

          • Trac

            Whateverzzzz. You crazy,

          • Trac

            Let me put it this way, those debates were akin to watching Mike Tyson demolish his opponents early in his career and I never thought much of him as a person. Truly a dazzling display of gravitas. He he.

        • DaMurph

          Fat face? The guy has lost so much weight he looks like a skeleton!

        • Cormonster

          Condoleeza Rice has talked for years about one day wanting to be NFL Commissioner. She is currently on the selection committee for the college football

          championship.

          I’ve already seen a couple articles talking about her as a replacement.

          • NewBearInTown

            Sign me up. I don’t know how well she understands the game of football, but she definitely has the skills to handle all the negotiations and discipline a heck of a lot better than our current chief.

          • MB30SD

            I agree with this point, but to be honest… and potentially risk sounding sexist… I feel like that position needs to be manned (see what…) by a man. Maybe even someone that’s been involved with the game. Right off the top of my head an Ozzie Newsome type who’s been very successful at GMing a team.

            Dare I say, maybe even a Cliff Stein type. (but then our type have been outlawed from clubhouses for a long time)

        • NewBearInTown

          It wouldn’t totally be a sacrifice to kill the story. If I’m an owner, I’m really sick of all the negative media surrounding Goodell’s inability to hand down discipline without bad press. I also haven’t forgotten the bounty-gate mess and Goodell getting dressed down by Taglibue in that written opinion.

          The Rice thing might just be the excuse some owners are looking for.

          • MB30SD

            that said, he’s been wholly and entirely good for the owners and bad for the game itself.. He’s put money and profits above history and logic (as far as the actual game itself is concerned)… thus, I would imagine it’s a very difficult decision for them to make.

            Cut him loose as the sacrificial lamb and loose the man who’s exponentially increased the money the owners put in their pockets and save face, or somehow get it dropped and keep him in while taking all the criticism he/they deserve.

            I personally would love to see him cut because I think he has and will continue to slowly destroy the game we all love… keeping in mind I’m a defense guy. The problem is, the nfl, just like our government, is now a well oiled established machine and it probably really doesn’t matter which monkey they trot out as the face of the establishmonte.

      • Scharfinator

        Poor Goodell, making $40 mil a year until they finally cut him loose.

        As long as he doesn’t face criminal/civil charges, I’d take that deal in a hot minute.

      • The Ghost of Super Bowl XX

        I think it´s the start of something bigger, if Rog is in punishing mode. Greg Hardin & Ray McDonall are on the line waiting.

    • Trac

      Why would the FBI get involved? Fraud?

      • Bender McLugh

        criminal negligence?

        • GPLDAN

          I think generally it’s a bad idea to deny taking possession of evidence the FBI provided you as a company in public to the media.

      • Big Mike

        Obstruction, always obstruction. False statements, that sort of thing. But mostly bullshit. this is not a criminal matter for the NFL.

        • BillW

          It’s true that there was no crime committed by the NFL in their handling of the Ray Rice situation. Yet many laws are based on what the society will and won’t tolerate. So when you think of the NFL as a society there are certain things that will and won’t be tolerated.

          Roger makes up the rules and punishments as he goes – probably a lot like society did back in primitive times.

          Because it’s only relatively recently that the NFL had to even worry about so much that is outside the game itself (rules etc).

          The underlying issue as I see it is loss of credibility and respect of Roger by the players (and maybe coaches too)., Roger hands out discipline from suspensions for bounties to fines for the wrong color shoes. Saints coach was told “ignorance was no excuse” but now Roger is trying to say “I didn’t know”.

          So he loses credibility if he sticks to that excuse himself without consequence.

          No – not a criminal matter – a credibility matter.

          • Big Mike

            The question I was answering was “Why would the FBI be involved?”

            The biggest misconception is the commissioners role. He’s employed by the 32 owners of the NFL.

            If he lied about having the tape he’s toast. If he didn’t everyone can kiss his ass. It’s not his job to stop domestic violence, or be an expert on it. So he made a mistake with the first ruling, then he fixed it, then the video came out and he reacted like most of us did, which is holy shit, that’s terrible, then he kicked the guy out of the league.

            You can argue that he knew the facts of what happened in the elevator, as did most of us, but seeing it makes it worse. So, nothing to see here, move on. Play football.

          • BillW

            I get it – misunderstood.

            Good question why FBI – not sure but I assume the FBI had the tape for some reason and knew the NFL wanted it?

            Or someone in the FBI is a Steelers fan?

    • AlbertInTucson

      My opinion of the FBI getting involved in this is the same as my opion of Congress sticking it’s nose in it.

      You folks have nothing BETTER or MORE IMOPRTANT to do?

      • AlbertInTucson

        OK, never mind. The NFL hired a former FBI Director to investigate.

  • MB30SD
    • you lost me at vegan diet. then you won me back with hamsters.

      • MB30SD

        I knew I would.

        I’m sure you diligently keep separate the dairy and the meats in your kitchen

        • only to unite them in my belly.

          • MB30SD

            Hahahaha… steak & a milkshake?

  • Shady

    How exactly does one score a half a point?

    • CanadaBear

      I think that’s Jeff’s way of saying we’re in for a long night.

  • CanadaBear

    My issue isn’t Trest calling running plays, I think they have a couple of plays called every time. My issue is Cutler will keep changing the plays to passes. That’s great if it’s working. If not, pound the rock.

    • Scharfinator

      I think that’s the big complaint against Cutler, yeah? He’s too stubborn and overconfident. Sometimes he proves why, sometimes he takes big ol’ doo doo’s on the field.

    • The Ghost of Super Bowl XX

      that´s a BIG Issue. unfortunately can´t be fixed by couching.

      • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

        you don’t know what or why it’s an issue because you don’t even know what the play call is? How would you know which plays were changed and if they were, why?

        • The Ghost of Super Bowl XX

          you are right, it wouldn´t be an issue only if you have a high football IQ as Brees, Payton (for mention 2) who have a background to support them as well, BUT if you have more than 10 years and never have won even a postseason game and doing the same mistakes year by year. it´s my opinion.

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            I saw Payton fucking piss away the game against the Colts in the 2nd half of his game but was saved because Luck pulled an even bigger sack of urine out and outpissed him.
            YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW THE BEARS OFFENSE AND WHAT PLAYS WERE CALLED.
            NONE OF US DO.
            SO FOR YOU TO BLINDLY STATE THAT CUTLER IS CHANGING PLAYS AND DOES SO BECAUSE HE LACKS FOOTBALL INTELLIGENCE IS FUCKING LUDICROUS.

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            in case you didn’t know, all caps means “incredulous look on my face while reading your post”.

          • The Ghost of Super Bowl XX

            maybe you are right, it´s my frustration or I´m a “Anti Clutler” flag on me .. but facts are there and you and me can´t change it

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            I don’t know what that last part of your sentence means. We are talking about something that can’t be proven as fact unless you drive to Cutlers house and ask him if/what plays he changes and what criteria he uses and when he has done it in the past and what the result was.
            Then and only then can you discern when he changes plays, how often he does it, why he does it and how successful he is when he does it….and is it even “changing the play” if that call is part of the fucking overall play selection sent in from the coach?

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            let’s just agree that his crazy anti vax wife is still hot. This we can agree on.

          • The Ghost of Super Bowl XX

            hahahaha!! Totally agree.

          • The Ghost of Super Bowl XX

            again, you have a point about “reading Cutlers mind” and this discussion would be nonsense if history were different. but I´m sick an tired looking what it seems we have our “Romo” version in chicago.

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            history means nothing in Chicago because 2009-2012 are completely different than 2013/2014 in terms of level of actual talent on offense, coherent offensive strategy, quality line play so far, etc.
            Let’s just see how this plays out for a while and we can revisit in a few games.

          • burntorangenavyblue

            Hmm….your entire argument is invalid…why?

            Because Cutler has won a post-season game, against Seattle in 2010 to get the Bears to the NFC championship game.

            Unfortunately, your opinion isn’t making you “right” about Cutler. Some things just can’t be coached, I understand that. However, can’t blame him for the 4 OC’s and incompetent GM/HC for not providing him the proper tools. You’d feel the same exact way and your mind might be a little f’ed up with decision making when you get hit and sacked as many times as he did during the Angelo/Lovie regime.

      • BillW

        Couching – that’s getting a cooler of beer and snacks ready and then settling in to watch the game on the couch – right?

        • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

          “Couching” is when you think you have your favorite team all figured out like being able to discern when your teams quarterback has somehow decided to just not run the plays called by the Head Coach and playcaller because one of the passes he threw out of 49 was fucking terrible.

          • CanadaBear

            51 passes, 17 runs.

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            that doesn’t mean anything to me though.
            Forte had 8 catches for 87 yards (10.9 per play)
            Forte had 17 rushes for 82 yards (4.8 per play)
            He was used properly. Run pass ratio is less important when the same weapon is used. IMO

      • SC Dave

        Might benching work better than couching?

        • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

          Yes, we should bench Jay Cutler.

    • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

      it’s a myth that he just changes the plays to passes. Most plays are sent in with multiple options. Also, you don’t know which ones he changed or checked into during the game. What if both TD passes were changed at the line because of what the D was giving them?
      C’mon.

      • BillW

        And to add my 2 cents; from what little I really know but hear or read, Cutler actually does an excellent job when he changes the play. Again – what do I really know? But for instance I read he audibled out of the flea flicker in the first series into a long pass (completed) to Alshon.

        The second INT was on the called play (Trestman several times said “it was a boot”) which as some else pointed out Holmes missed the call and run blocked instead of running a clear. Cutler was left with a blown up play and tried to make chicken salad out of something else.

        That is the only valid criticism of him – why after so many years does he still do that? And it’s beginning to look like the answer is it’s simply part of the entire package. He’s going do that because of the very part of him that contributes to the good things too.

        Yeah – I wish he could have all the good traits and none of the bad. But I’ve started to think that’s dumb to wish that – it’s like your wife or GF asking why you can’t have all your good traits without any faults – as if they are somehow unconnected.

        I’m in a Thursday before game day kind of mood – as described well in another post in this thread.

      • CanadaBear

        I’m not saying he changes every running play to a pass. You know a lot of plays get changed at the line. I’m guessing Cutler changes to passing plays when there are 8 in the box (or more). Not saying it’s not the wise and prudent thing to do. Just saying it makes for a really unbalanced attack.

        • BillW

          But that’s what you want to do – get that 8th guy playing back so the running holes open later in the game. I do think the Bears were questioned as to why with the score close they didn’t run more.

          Sometimes it ALMOST seems that the team expects to win big and so when they the game is close they figure “one point more” isn’t enough.

        • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

          I don’t know Canada, I hear you but there are specific criteria for the plays that are called in and in my opinion an unbalanced attack is when Forte doesn’t get “touches”. I don’t care if it’s a 4.7 yard run or a 8 yard dump off. As long as he touches it we have a good chance to win games.

    • Barb UMihai Mar

      That’s on the coach in part. If he believes run is needed he can call run plays. You have to give Spikes his due.
      He altered a lot of run options by blitzing or faking doing so.

  • Shady

    Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t this the second post this week pointing out negative attributes of the Bears performance followed by a complaint about the media being too negative?

  • beninnorcal

    Alot of what I’m reading here is encouraging and the Niners are missing some key players.
    What’s not being discussed is that the Dallas game was in Dallas and I think the X-factor this week will be how jacked SF is going to be opening their new house.
    Of course that would make it all the sweeter if the Bears did pull an upset.
    Either way, I’ll be there rooting for them Bears.

    • Big Mike

      Now that we are getting into mid-season form as fans, I want to remind everyone of the cycle of emotions and reactions as a fan

      First 24 hours after game – 10x over reaction in either direction
      1-2 days later – chorus of wise fans (and/or emotionally uncommitted fans)” saying calm down
      3 days later – building up of next opponent to ’85 Bear status
      4-5 days later – tearing down of said opponent and irrational believe in the beloved

      6 days later – Game Day planning (where to watch, what to eat, who to invite)

      Game day – pre-game – trying to find something else to focus on
      First half – pure enjoyment/optimism
      2nd half – Nirvana/Desperation

      • GPLDAN

        We need electric shock treatment and then maybe Chief can suffocate us with a pillow.

        • CanadaBear

          Mmmmm, Juicyfruit!

        • Trac

          Then along comes nurse ratchet and the cycle goes on.

        • huntinbare

          we just need McMurphy to deliver his one of a kind pre-game speeches.

    • Sactowns#1

      I think it’s gonna be real interesting. It will probably be around 90 degrees at game time and that stadium is sun baked. My friends that went to the first preseason game said it was misserable and you could tell the players were just dragging. I think conditionaing and ability to deal with the heat will be a big factor.

      • GPLDAN

        The game is at night.

        • BillW

          Late afternoon / early evening west coast time

          • Sactowns#1

            It’s slated to be close to 100 degrees Sunday in Sac. It’ll still be plenty warm come 5pm in Santa Clara.

  • AlbertInTucson

    Last Bears road win over the 49ers: 1985

  • AlbertInTucson

    The glimmer of hope here is that the Bears’s offense might be able to stay competitive in a shootout.
    I don’t think they can afford to fall behind early and scoring the game’s first TD would be extremely prudent.

    If the 9ers put up 7 first and the Bears answer with a 3 and out, things could get ugly in a hurry.

    As always, I HOPE otherwise, but I fully expect UGLY.

  • Trac

    Scenario 1: Good team, bad luck?
    Scenario 2: Bad team, no luck?
    Scenario 3: Good team, bad start?

    • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

      I know which one you think it is Trac. I thought we talked about you going all crazy ass negative despondent last year.
      One moment it’s all high fives and optimism and the next you’re trying to get me to drink grape kool aid that smells like antifreeze.

      • MB30SD

        have to agree… bit thick and heavy after one game guys. Jesus, have some faith.

        (see what I did there… hee hee)

        • Trac

          I shall name thee Sir Nutcrusher. Hahaha

          • MB30SD

            I like the ring of that.

      • Trac

        Come come now my good man.

  • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

    DaBearsBlog
    People don’t know why NFL has a domestic abuse problem? Could it be because its packed with over-pumped, hero-worshipped Neanderthals?
    ____________________________
    Uhh, there’s a huge domestic abuse problem in the middle east and I doubt it’s because the middle east is packed with over pumped, hero worshipped neandrethals.
    There is a huge domestic problem in poor communities and in minority communities but I doubt it’s because, once again, they are over pumped, hero worshipped Neanderthals.
    Come to think of it, there’s a huge domestic abuse problem everywhere and you know what? The constant is the presence of emotionally damaged men who grew up in shitty situations and then just perpetrate the violence on people in their lives.
    Not your best tweet Jeff.

    • Peanut FTW

      I think Jeff is simply getting at the fact that when you take the biggest and angriest kids on the playground, pay them millions and millions of dollars to be more athletic and aggressive than all the other kids on the playground; it shouldn’t come as an absolute stunner that some of them are violent off the playground. I can’t even read it in a way that I get out of it, what are you suggesting he is saying.

      • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

        I know a lot of broke dudes that lay brick, drywall, etc, that drink whiskey by the pint, never miss a softball game and beat their wives, kids and others at a moment’s notice because they are broken inside.

        • GPLDAN

          I think they just call that the South Side.

        • Peanut FTW

          The fact that there are people outside the NFL that abuse women has absolutely nothing to do with the point of Jeff’s tweet. Of course there are, what is your point? His point, is that it should not be shocking that a game that promotes violence on the field tends to have issues with it’s athletes being violent off the field. IN THE NFL, JFC.

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            My point is that it was a stupid fucking tweet.

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            your assumption of what he meant and the number of reported abuses in the general public don’t support the tweet and thus, the tweet is fucking dumb.

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            all that matters is that Alshon, Brandon and Morgan are hurt god damnit. Get your fucking priorities straight.

  • MB30SD

    Non-football post of the day.

    I tolds yous guys… South Africa is a different world man. I knew he wasn’t getting put away for murder: http://www.cnn.com/2014/09/11/world/africa/oscar-pistorius-verdict/index.html?hpt=hp_t3

    And we all thought he had no leg to stand on

    We thought the shoe was on the other foot

    We thought this was a shot in the dark

    We thought the defense might fall short….

    ok, I’ll stop. What a shame, she was incredibly beautiful and a really nice person by all accounts. RIP Reeva

    https://www.google.com/search?q=reeva+steenkamp&espv=2&biw=1366&bih=653&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=nugRVIeIHqa5iwKlyoHoAg&ved=0CAYQ_AUoAQ

  • BillW

    I have to wonder –
    The loss to Buffalo, perceived to be much inferior – was after all just one game.
    So is a win against SF, perceived to be much superior – going to be treated as just one game?

    It needs to work both ways in my opinion.

    • Peanut FTW

      For the media it would all depend on the flash. If the Bears eek out a win due to a bad call, an ill timed turnover by SF, or missed FGs. Then they will still be doom and gloom, they can’t get lucky every week, 7 win team BS. If the Bears thrash the 9ers, then it will be measured optimism for the Bears but a definitive 9ers suck worse than anyone thought type of deal. So regardless of the outcome, the Bears won’t improve much in the eyes of the media.

    • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

      It doesn’t work both way luckily. Losing to Buffalo resulted in writers jumping off of cliffs, people condemning the quarterback, his contract, etc.
      In Bears world, if this game is a victory, we the fans are allowed to proclaim anything we want. I will personally proclaim super bowl.
      Writers will temper enthusiasm and make excuses because any future articles have to mesh with past condemnations.

      • BillW

        Even if they beat SF on a fluke play or bad call it means they were close enough for that to matter – which is better than most consider them to be.

        An I expect a lot of overreaction on the board the other way – see, they are going to just fine, it’s coming together etc. Instead of saying – glad they won but it’s only one game.

        If they lose, then I won’t be negative because I don’t think that’s any information in my assessment. The Jets game will provide that.

        If they win, then I was wrong. There – I said it.

        I really want to be wrong.

        But I’ll be overreacting in the other direction, and yet no one will call me out on that.

        Which in a weird way seems to prove some point, but I can’t figure out what it is.

        • SC Dave

          I hate it when that happens

  • my mustache has a 12″ wingspan.

    • MB30SD

      show us!

        • MB30SD

          Hahahahahaha… that is fucking frightening! Holy shit!

        • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

          are you Mr. Money Mustache?

          • depends. are you paying?

          • MB30SD

            eeeewwwwwww

        • SC Dave

          That is hilarious.

  • MB30SD

    btw, if any of you guys want a (somewhat) healthy and really tasty snack, might I recommend “Dang” toasted coconut chips. They are reallllly delishuz, just found ’em yesterday and the kids and I already polished off the bag… of mostly air and some coconut chips.

    http://www.dangfoods.com/

  • MB30SD

    I found this very interesting. Maybe because I’m a huge fan of Bob and Reggae in general, but it’s an interesting story nonetheless. Some serious athletes in that family.

    http://www.si.com/college-football/video/2014/09/11/heart-of-marley-bob-rohan-nico-descendants

    • Cormonster

      Those boys can lay some wood. Very impressive for only being 5’8. Good story.

      Are you a Toots and the Maytals fan? I seen them in Jamaica a few years ago. I went to Negril to see Gov’t Mule play 4 nights on the beach, then decided to stay for a couple more nights and go see Toots and Gov’t Mule play a show together. The second half of the show I seen was really good. I slept in the sand for the end of Gov’t Mule and most of the first set of Toots. The rum punches finally caught up with me after a week (and stupidly not eating all day). I did a couple morning dives, had some rum punches , snorkeled for about 4 hours, then hit the rum punches again. I ate after that, but it was too late. The rum hit me like a ton of bricks during the show (and little sleep for a week).

      Kind of a funny story. The first night of the trip, I was walking back to my room at an all-inclusive resort about three in the morning and seen a guy lying face first in a big pool of blood. He must have passed out or something walking back to his room. I sat him up, got him conscious, but didn’t want to leave him alone to get towels from my room and clean him up. Luckily I seen a couple walking back to their room and flagged them over. They were obviously reluctant at first, but agreed to help. They watched him while I ran and got some towels and water. We cleaned up his face and stopped the bleeding. He had a big gash over his eye and obviously needed stitches. I tried to get his name and room number, but he treated me like the fuzz. He was way out of it. The couple started on the long trek to the main office to get help while I stayed with him. Finally I convinced him to tell me his name and room number by saying he was better off dealing with me than having to go deal with the rigamarole of going to a hospital. Got him to his room and told his roommate to take care of him, sprinted to the front desk to catch up with the couple, and got them to send a private nurse to his room to patch him up. The next morning, after diving, we headed to my friends’ room and were hanging out on the patio. Turns out their neighbors were the couple that helped the night before. We had a good laugh, although the wife was a bit disgusted about the situation, and a couple minutes later the New Yorker we helped the night before comes by, looking just fine. We all laughed about that and told him what happened. Fast forward 6 days. While I was taking a “nap” at the Toots show, he’s the one who came over and woke me up. He said something like, “hey man, your missing the show. Get up. Now we’re even.”

      Didn’t plan on writing that much when I started, but it was a crazy memory. Anyways, here’s a song from that show.

      • MB30SD

        awesome

  • MB30SD
  • GPLDAN

    Oh look, new Call of Duty added a Waffle Power-Up

    http://tinyurl.com/oswyoch

    • Trac

      hahaha

  • GPLDAN

    Oh sorry, it’s not Panera

    http://www.dnainfo.com/chicago/20140729/lakeview/chicagos-first-bitcoin-atm-debuts-lakeview

    That dude looks like such a skeevy bastard, there would be no fucking way I would buy a bitcoin off that thing.

  • Viva

    Bears 38
    49ers 20

    I am a believer in this team.

    • MB30SD

      me too viva. they get till game 5 or 6 before I lable them

      Oorah!

    • Peanut FTW

      I will believe all season, but this game hinges on if Marshall and Jeffery can go. If they both miss the SF game, I just don’t see us having the firepower to keep up.

      • MB30SD

        Dude, there’s no BM or AJ in T-E-A-M!

        …well, there is an “A” and an “M”, but you know, not right next to each other. Oh, what… really? Shit. I got nuthin mainj

        • johnnywad

          Or a BJ in the AM for team Johnnywad.

          • MB30SD

            smoke ’em if you gots ’em!

    • bearsfantillend

      i will take it.

    • AlbertInTucson

      I admire your optimism.

    • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

      I am calling for a Willie Young or Jared Allen sack fumble for a big time momentum changer. Everyone including me is focused on not having our big guns at WR (or any guns) but I say go down swinging. Fuller blitzing, Bostic blitzing, test those shitty backup corners for San Fran, work Forte and Bennett all day and put Santonio in a position to take some dude downtown for 6.

      • AlbertInTucson

        Yes. The Bear defense must produce multiple turnovers to have a shot in Santa Clara/

    • Pass the bathsalt, viva!

  • MB30SD
  • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

    Marshall, Jeffery, Morgan all questionable for Sunday.
    How do you lose your whole fucking starting WR corps in the first fucking game? Fucking cursed.

    • Big Mike

      The same way they lost 4 DTs last year. Multiple injuries at the same position will wreck a team. My bet is Marshall goes, but Alshon does not.

      • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

        We will see tomorrow. That would fucking suck.

      • GPLDAN

        I bet the opposite.

        Jeffery had a strained hammy. Rest and a little magic needle will take care of that.

        BM had a more serious ankle injury. He was really hurt.

        • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

          i’ll take Morgan, Alshon, Holmes, Bennett and Forte if it means Marshall comes back in week 3 like a beast.

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            what if it is Holmes, Bellamy, Williams, Bennett, Forte

          • SC Dave

            Then man up on the fucking line and run the ball.

          • Big Mike

            Good, not elite. But yeah.

        • Big Mike

          Either way, having both of those guys is what makes our offense elite. Without both, it’s simply good. Top CB covers #1 with help over the top, forces TE and WR#2 to be a playmaker. Not a bad option with Martellus and Forte. But not as dynamic as when they are both there. Could force Cutler to be more disciplined.

          • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

            hee hee, 9ers don’t have any top CB’s anymore. They are both hurt as is their nickel.

          • BillW

            I seem now to remember an uptick in early injuries last year across the league and the speculation was perhaps the limited contact or whatever changed in offseason prep may have been a contributor.

    • MB30SD

      If you were going to hold them out one game (hopefully), which would it be.

      Might be this one for me. We expected to get blow up no matter who plays. SF. in SF. in their new stadium. Grand opening… we were never given a chance in hell anyway.

      • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

        I guess this one but being down 0-2 would not be cool.

        • MB30SD

          with you my mainj, but rather now than later. If I’ve learned one thing over the last 5 years of being here (and this into the Bears), is that it’s much more important how we finish than start. I’d rather have shit happen now and finish on a streak than the other way around… because that’s what we usually do.

      • BillW

        Bright side – this is a good chance for Cutler to continue developing some chemistry with the other WRs. We could be surprised – Holmes might have a big day.

        Happened a LONG time ago with a receiver named Rickey Watts. Starters hurt, he had (I think) a 200 yard day.

        (Yes MB30 – that really was me saying that.)

        • BillW

          Slightly off – 147 yds on 6 catches against the Rams in 1979; his first receptions for the team (he returned kicks).

          And I had forgotten that his middle name is Ricardo (not kidding).

        • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

          No quarter will be given to Jay for anything less than perfection no matter who he is throwing to. If it was Flacco they would lead off the broadcast with a fucking disclaimer about the WR injuries.

          • Trac

            I haven’t whooped on Cutty at tall. My gripe is with Tresty not finding a way to control the tempo of the game despite our mistakes on the field and the fact that losing the home opener to BILLS of all teams. What a nut crusher.

        • AlbertInTucson

          Yes, but Watts was one of the first guys Ditka jettisoned.

    • BillW

      I heard Fales is hurt too. How does your 3rd string QB get hurt (I know he practices and runs the scout team but how does he get hurt?

      Or maybe he got carpel tunnel using the tablet computer on the sideline Sunday

      40% of the line and 100% of the wide receivers hurt.

      Expanding roster sizes won’t help because it’s not like there are dozens of decent players out there waiting for a chance.

      The only thing I don’t like about football – as I’ve said – is the role injuries play. The drop off is way too great from starter to 2nd string and from 2nd string to the next.

    • Trac

      I know. I thought Emery was a serious strength and conditioning guy. Bad luck fo sho!

      • Donnnnn’t Caaaaarrrrrre!

        the only reason why Marshall is still playing this year is because he’s Marshall. That would have been an MCL/Meniscus tear and an ankle for any other guy.

        • Trac

          Keep plugging away Yonny. Lord knows, if you go south on the season it ain’t gonna be pretty around here. That’s why I like the banter here, there’s always enough lifeboats for everyone with all the optimism.

  • Bear Down in Tampa

    Maybe Congress should be more concerned with transparency from the Oval Office than the NFL league office… http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/nfl/2014/09/10/roger-goodell-congress-letter-john-conyers-ray-rice/15394317/

    I hate when they butt in. I use sports to forget about Congress.

  • Let’s hope Marshall and Jeffery can play. I love the addition of gambling, keep it going.

    • AlbertInTucson

      I say sit him and let that hammy settle down or they risk losing him for a longer stretch.

      • MB30SD

        bigtime this

      • bearsfantillend

        nope shoot em all up with painkillers, tranquilizers, anti-inflammatories, horse steroids, and anything else to get them on the field. hell get em on a caffeine buzz too – 8 red bulls.

      • AlbertInTucson

        I’d rather he miss the 49ers than the Packers.

  • AlbertInTucson

    Blogfather tweet:”People don’t know why NFL has a domestic abuse problem? Could it be because its packed with over-pumped, hero-worshipped Neanderthals?”

    Domestic abuse is rampant.

    Is there evidence that it’s a bigger issue in the NFL than in the rest of society?

    • Trac

      Roids? Spoiled brat syndrome? Either way, the wicked fall by their own hand.

      • GPLDAN

        I think they masturbate with their own hand as well.

        • Trac

          Indeed.

        • DaMurph

          Sometimes another hand!

          • MB30SD

            lie on it for a while first, then…. the stranger!

    • Paul Stuart

      I actually quite liked the “over-pumped, hero-worshipped Neanderthals” phrasing. But your question is definitely the bigger question Albert.

  • MB30SD
    • Trac

      Just got back from Napa, really reminded me of the old country. Had a great time.

      • MB30SD

        good. doesn’t come close to touching stellenbosch, Paarl, or franschhoek, but it’s def nice.

        • Trac

          Rolling hills, chest high gold brush. One day I’ll have to take my son back for a visit.

          • MB30SD

            I’m going for 2 weeks in jan I think.2 nights in paris, 2 in barcelona, and maybe 2 in San Sebastian on the way in.

            Kinda pumped.

          • Trac

            Must be nice. Hopefully I can start doing that soon.

          • MB30SD

            must be nice… sheeeeit. I have a 4 and 5.5 year old. I haven’t taken a real vacation since ’06!

            I’ve been back to SA almost twice a year, but going home ain’t no vacation causa my moms.

          • Trac

            You’re a good son. As my family is getting older my role as a brother and son is changing too. My trip to Napa was to help my Sister who lost her husband to pancreatic cancer 4 yrs ago. She’s struggling financially and didn’t have anyone to fix her car and move her out of a storage unit she couldn’t afford in Santa Rosa. I took my son with to help with the heavy lifting. Murph met him but prolly wouldn’t recognize him since the last time he saw him. The boy is 15 now and has grown 3 inches in the last 6 months. He’s 6’2 and is a beast. Picked up a 400 lb cabinet like it was a tinder box. Made me proud.

            Oh and a 5×10 storage unit? 108 bucks a month.

          • MB30SD

            nice. get that boy a helmet!!!

            Yep, life is spensive. You should try living 4 miles from the ocean… 2 years ago it was 100 steps

          • Trac

            We sat next to each other on the plane. That’ll never happen again. Isle seats for the both of us next time. Lol.

          • DaMurph

            Storage unit prices are crazy!

          • Trac

            Great to hear from you Murph. You may have commented on the loss but if so I must have missed them. What’s your take?

          • huntinbare

            This is the stuff legends are made of; I honor your commitment to love and kindness. Exposing your son to it is priceless. There is always something good going down in this world; thanks for bringing in the light. Makes me feel good about the future.

          • Trac

            This sounds self congratulatory but I mean this will all sincerity. Thank you for that. There has been alot of pain. I’m finding out how to overcome it.

  • MB30SD

    peter king… sigh. Just talk about fb you tool. I hope we upset just to make you look clueless (not rare)

    http://www.si.com/mmqb/video/2014/09/11/window-weekend-week-2

  • I think my skepticism this week has little to do w Xs/Os . It has to do with grit. I don’t have any faith this team can win in a hostile environment in the bright lights. When was the last time that’s happened?
    Usually, other teams have to self destruct for us to win in those games. I doubt the 9ers will.
    If we do pull off a miracle, it will go s long way toward establishing a winning attitude.

    • Trac

      If the Bears have grit, this is the perfect season to find out because they have a brutal schedule. The exploratory committee is still in session!

  • MB30SD
    • Trac

      There’s really only one way the NFL can play this out. The public distancing and flogging of Roger dodger is about to commence.

      • MB30SD

        cain’t wait. Guy’s destroyed our game, and now he’s about to get what’s comin’.

        Hate to sound like a frigin vulture, but honestly, what he’s done to defenses in the NFL is criminal. The penalties I’ve been seeing called are beyond absurd. I get wanting to make the game more exciting, but killing defense and the run altogether is inexcusable… it’s starting to look like a different game. And not for the better.

        • BillW

          I suspect he’s gone but I don’t see the game changing back to where it was Except maybe kickoffs going back and pats staying the same Today’s fan like the offense As Bears fans we are biased to defense. Maybe with Seattle being strong there will be a renewed appreciation of it

    • huntinbare

      The wagons are being circled; and the gatling guns are being loaded with plenty of language. The media foot soldiers are receiving their orders; and they will be leading the charge. The “Independent Judiciary” has been infiltrated with some “NFL Insiders”; whose pockets have been lined with the gold that was stolen from the “sunday fan stagecoach”. A secretary from the pool will take the fall for failing to alert the “HIgh Sheriff” of the damniing video; never to be heard from again. All the while the gatling gun will continue to spray the planet with its non stop barrage; as the “HIgh Sheriff” makes his way to the stadium boxes of the ‘NFL Kingdom ‘ through the backdoor. While the women folk from every town picket the scene; surrounded by the “Local Military Swat Police” with rifles trained on the innocent victims.

      • huntinbare

        Oh yeah I forgot the rifles will have the NFL logo on them and the MRAP’s will be decked out with team colors and logos……except for Breast Cancer Awareness week when every soldier, from hats to boots to gloves will be in PINK. Rifles and tear gas grenades will be in PINK CAMO

  • Trac

    I’d like to go back to a conversation I had with the Frisco fan that sat next to me on the way to Sacramento.

    Based on his comments(Small sample pool here), other teams don’t fear or respect us. The only love we get is for our WR’s. That’s a problem. A big one. The guy spoke highly of Cuttys skill set but he had absolutely no respect for Cuttys decision making. That’s another problem. This guy was a pretty hard core fan and had made the trip to Dallas just to go to the game.

    I love your passion Johnny but until Cutty proves he’ll hurt a defense time and time again in crunch time, teams will feel totally comfortable in taking a bend don’t break approach against our offense. That is a problem. The only one that can change this is Cutty.

    • BillW

      I can see the fans feeling that but not opposing defenses They say same old Jay but you know they don’t count on it

      Still I wish he would strike fear in opposing fans like other qbs

    • Big Mike

      This is the dilemma that is Cutler. I’ve said it here a dozen times. He either joins the top group of QBs this year, or he’s “just a guy”. He has not shown that he can dissect a defense, because at some point in a game/season he will implode. Defenses simply need to outlast him.

      Our defense has no leadership. It is not angry. It does not make plays. That’s the reputation any way.

      I’m hopeful that we see an attitude on defense at some point this season. But I don’t know where it comes from. It’s not Briggs, its not Tillman, Bostic, McClellin, Williams, Houston? No, No, No, No. Maybe it’s Jared Allen, Who knows. But the performance against Buffalo, while not bad was emotionless.

  • Cormonster

    NFL decision making may be messed up at times, but it’s not nearly as fucked up as the NCAA regarding college football.

    http://www.ncaa.com/news/football/article/2014-09-08/ncaa-restores-penn-state-football-postseason-scholarships

    During the hubbub over Ray Rice, the NCAA made a decision to allow Penn State to be bowl eligible this year. Penn State hired former Senator and peace maker George Mitchell to ensure a clean program. Boom! It’s all fixed.

    At the end of the day, Penn State ended up losing half as many scholarships as USC after the Reggie Bush fiasco.. The USC offense was Reggie Bush taking gifts from “friends of the program”. The Penn State offense was allowing, overlooking, and covering up systemic child rape for over a decade to protect a former great defensive coordinator and child rapist.

    Now how messed up is that? What kind of message does that send? I personally hate reading about things other than the sport, but it’s hard to overlook. I think the NCAA is way more corrupt than the NFL.

    • burntorangenavyblue

      Alice would be proud of this clusterfuck of a rabbit hole all of this is

    • Big Mike

      The NCAA is a joke. Penn State should have had football stopped completely. The guy giving the gifts to Reggie Bush should have been punished. The coach who ran the program should have been punished.

  • Shady

    Did Phil Simms just say the QB gets sacked more than any other position? smh

  • burntorangenavyblue

    Wtf, the Thursday Night Football half-time guys are using hand-held microphones? CBS still being old fashioned

    • BillW

      I get the safety issue but those 2 personal fouls against Pittsburgh were both marginal in my opinion. At the least I wish all major penalties were reviewable

  • Trac

    So Mosely is leading the Ravens D with 7 tackles in the game. Hmmm.

    • He also caused and recovered a fumble

      • Trac

        When a team is soft at ILB and you have the chance to draft the top ILB in the draft, you may end up saying “I couldda had a V-8” if you don’t draft him.

        Vereen will prolly no longer be a Bear before Mosley represents his team in the Pro Bowl. Think about that.

        I’m not saying Vereen was not a good pick.

        That is all.

        • Barb UMihai Mar

          His name is Kyle Fuller and you always take the best CB instead of the best ILB. Plus the Bears were as thin at CB as they were at ILB and invested a 2rd rounder at LB position a year ago.

          • Trac

            Fair enough.

          • Barb UMihai Mar

            See ? Last night showed what’s what… CB was a glaring need and the player drafted at that position is the true deal. Emery can be criticized for some things, but this year’s draft isn’t one of them. The opposite. PS: this is not a judgement based on last night’s result or performance. I always saw it this way.,

  • huntinbare

    A couple of opinions on Mr. Cutler,,,First from an article at ESPN ; where Mitchell says Tresman is the best coach ever…for a QB. I like what he says about stilling the mind and its possible influence on Jay’s temperament. This is what I believe Jay is missing. Mr. T needs to bring in a meditation teacher and get Jay to increase his ability to Still The Mind….I believe it will make all the difference in his world. Maybe I will send a book to soldiers field on the subject ?

    “Jay’s a little bit like Matt[hew] Stafford,” Mitchell explained to ESPN NFL Nation reporter Mike Rothstein. “Big arm, is much more temperamental. I’m really curious to see what Marc can do with him if Jay will actually let him.”

    Cutler passed for 349 yards and two touchdowns in the opener, but the performance was marred by the turnovers. Cutler took accountability for the INTs, and offered assurances he’ll make better decisions with the football as the season progresses.

    Mitchell, who once started 57 games for the Lions, recently joined the cast of NBC’s The Biggest Loser, and was asked what Trestman does to coax the most from his quarterbacks. During his tenure with the Lions, Mitchell passed for 12,647 yards and 79 touchdowns and played in two postseason contests.

    “Marc really understood how to keep your mind calm. Everything happens so fast and the decisions you have to make … we just spent a lot of time preparing to keep your mind calm,” Mitchell explained. “So you knew on this play, you just know this is exactly what I do. On this play, this is exactly what I do. And he was just excellent at helping you with having a calm mind when you played. Marc was the best coach I ever had, actually. I just really connected to him. He got quarterbacks. He understood the position. He understood all that went into it. He was great at developing and teaching and communicating offenses. He looked so cerebral. But he has this fiery intensity with how he goes about things. It really, really resonated and we connected quite well.”

  • huntinbare

    A split decision on whether Mr. Jay is feeling the effects of a calming presence ( Mr. T), being added to his world. Jeff D. sounds like he is filled with doubt Jon G.is sensing a change is coming on. I lean towards him changing also…but I know how hard it can be to transform your mental state. Corralling the mind is the heroes journey; talk about taming a beast. But if he can get beyond the constant chatter the benefits should reveal themselves in every aspect of his career. I will know he is making progress when he can sit in a presser and enjoy his time in those shark tanks; with a wry smile for the inquiring talking heads.

    Fact or Fiction: The “new Jay Cutler” will still emerge this season and prove that a gaffe like the Kyle Williams pick was an exception.

    Jeff Dickerson, ESPNChicago.com Bears reporter: Fiction. Who is this “new” Jay Cutler people are talking about? Cutler is the same exact guy he was five-plus seasons ago when the Bears acquired him from Denver. What’s changed is the talent around him. General manager Phil Emery and the rest of the staff did a fabulous job surrounding Cutler with boat loads of playmakers, a sturdy offensive line, and a head coach who specializes in offense. And they paid him on top of it! How can Cutler not succeed? Look, Cutler is going to have games this season (likely against the bad teams) where he fills out the stat sheet and puts up big numbers. But there will also be times in critical moments (Buffalo) when he makes a terrible decision and hurts the team. It’s who he is. He’s not changing. But there is no need to panic. The Bears can still win games with Cutler at quarterback. That’s a proven fact. But can Cutler win the games that really matter against the elite NFL teams? That’s the question fans need to ask themselves. The organization believes the answer is yes otherwise they wouldn’t have handcuffed themselves to the QB for the next three years. Guess we’ll see if the Bears bet on the right horse.

    Jon Greenberg, ESPNChicago.com columnist: Fact. I don’t know about “new” Jay Cutler. “Better” Jay Cutler is probably more apt. I do think he’s better than in previous years, and he’ll have his best season as a Bear this year. I also think he’s going to make mistakes. That’s in his nature, for one, and two, this is a very difficult game played against superior athletes with supernatural instincts. There’s no excuse for that “fat guy” interception and that will probably resonate with Cutler, at least for this week.

  • huntinbare

    Does signing Chris Williams to the practice squad mean there are long term issues with receiver injuries expected?

  • Shady

    Week 1 results don’t matter? Apparently Vegas didn’t get the memo.

    The Minnesota Vikings were 100-1 to win the Super Bowl going into the season, after thier performance against St. Louis they’re now 30-1.

    The Bears were 20-1 to win the Super Bowl heading into the season, and after that stunning showing at home against the Bills they’re now 50-1.

    • Trac

      Yup.

  • Barb UMihai Mar

    The Bears need to score 30 points and win the turnover battle by 2.
    They also must keep their safeties closer than 20 yards on 2nd and 3rd long downs. That would be progress.
    I’d play nickel and blitz on almost every play. That of course depends on having lengthy drives on offense.

    PS: I’d take the ball if they win the coin toss even if it’s the perfect time and place to defer.

  • Paul Stuart

    I wanna see the defense get instinctive and swarm the ball…once they have the schemes sussed of course. Good instincts for where the ball/ball carrier is gonna be in a couple of seconds is priceless. Not sure I care as much about athleticism if you have sharp instincts in play. As for the offense…forte and cutler need to be good good buddies this year. The WR’s are unlikely to get up to full fitness any time soon unfortunately. I see them working around that though, with some nicer touches on execution and route awareness we can surprise the secondary even without the starters this week. Bennet could really help out with a lot of touches. Hopefully Jeffery and BM can get their footing back for the jump balls at some point, but you shouldn’t rely on it just yet. But who knows…this is why we watch…

© Da' Bears Blog